Book Reviews of Seven Gothic Tales

Seven Gothic Tales
Seven Gothic Tales
Author: Isak Dinesen
ISBN-13: 9780394742915
ISBN-10: 0394742915
Publication Date: 10/12/1985
Pages: 420
Rating:
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6

3.7 stars, based on 6 ratings
Publisher: Vintage
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

2 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Seven Gothic Tales on + 813 more book reviews
Gothic? Well hardly! But then my idea of gothic is more in the vein of Horace Walpole, Ann Radcliffe and Matthew Lewis: replete with dank, dreary castles, endless passages, preternatural events, and malevolent villains. Despite a glowing introduction by Dorothy Canfield, I found these tales boring and pointless.
reviewed Seven Gothic Tales on + 15 more book reviews
Not my cut of tea, I expected Iask Dinesen to be a bit like Anne Rice given he title of "gothic Tales". Therefore, I only skimmed this book. The back cover says things like " a book of extaordinary fantasy that yet takes us intimately into a vivid variety of human lives" ~ The Saturday Review of Literature. And "Austerely objective in their execution, true to her credo of the storyteller's story, her tales are also extremely personal in their opint of view, in their great style." ~ The New York Times.