Book Reviews of Spies Who Never Were

Spies Who Never Were
Author: Colonel Vernon Hinchley
ISBN: 123693
Publication Date: 1965
Pages: 211

0 stars, based on 0 rating
Publisher: George G. Harrap & Co. LTD
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Write a Review

Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Spies Who Never Were on + 711 more book reviews
From the dust jacket: "In this new work the author of SPY MYSTERIES UNVEILED first explains how Intelligence, Resistance work, and Espionage differ, and then gives some examples of how men and women have been wrongly accused of spying.
The main body of the book examines a series of 'spies who never were'. Col. Hinchley's method is first to give the popular account of the activities of these men and women, and then, step by step, to bring factual information to disprove the accepted story. His subjects include Captain Dreyfus, the Frenchman accused of espionage; Trebitsch Lincoln, the Hungarian Jew who became a British M.P.; Mrs. Dorothy O'Grady, the woman who pretended to be a spy; Burgess minus Maclean; Dr. Bruno Pontecorvo; the mysterious Lady Doctor of World War I; Marcel Petiot, the French mass-murderer; Dr. Roderigo Lopez, the first Queen Elizabeth's doctor; and the baffling case of Alger Hiss."