Skip to main content
PBS logo

Discussion Forums - Going Green Going Green

Topic: Surprised by Freecycle

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
Page:   Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
meldster avatar
Friend of PBS-Silver medal
Date Posted: 9/29/2009 2:11 AM ET

i've been using freecycle for several months now and luckily, everyone i have agreed to give items to have all shown up.  everyone's been nice too so that's a big plus. i sadly feel like more people are flakes on craigslist than freecycle. in a way, i feel like freecycle people are a bit more understanding that everyone's time is valuable and it's really rude to not show up.

so far, so good!

Darlin-D avatar
Limited Member medal
Date Posted: 10/23/2009 2:48 PM ET

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE do not post your address & say 'the first person here gets it.' First off you're putting your addy out there for all of cyberspace to see & in this day/age it's just too risky. Also, who knows what else they might decide to take? Secondly, you're gonna have a LOT of ticked off people if someone decides to drive across town for your item & finds they've wasted time/gas/effort... you could have 5 people coming after 1 item. That's just not right to make it a race & waste peoples time & money in doing so.  Make arrangements with 1 person at a time.  If you don't have the time to go through the emails & make arrangements then don't bother posting on FreeCycle... just set it at the curb with a 'FREE' sign on it.