Search - Tigana

Tigana
Tigana
Author: Guy Gavriel Kay
With a new introduction by the acclaimed bestselling author, this is the spectacular deluxe tenth-anniversary edition of a fantasy classic--the sweeping tale of sorcery, magic, politics, war, love, betrayal, and survival... — "A richly sensuous fantasy world, full of evocative history, religions, folklore, local customs, and a magical rites...a b...  more »
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $22.00
Buy New (Paperback): $15.89 (save 27%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $11.99+1 PBS book credit (save 45%)
ISBN-13: 9780451457769
ISBN-10: 0451457765
Publication Date: 12/1/1999
Pages: 676
Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 61

4.3 stars, based on 61 ratings
Publisher: Roc
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Tigana on + 25 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
Hard to get through until the last hundred pages. The plot moves glacially, the narrative gets mired down by reflection and flashbacks, and some scenes and characters were superfluous. I had trouble understanding Dianora -- there just wasn't enough to convince me that a woman could come to love the man who destroyed her family and home. I didn't hate any of the characters, but I never connected to any of them or their struggles.

However, it's masterful world building, so believable and consistent that it feels more like history than fantasy. This is a guy who really knows what's he's talking about. There's a lot of interesting world building out there, but not all of, in the end, manages to create a believable world that you feel you could actually live in. Kay achieves that, mostly because he gets his ideas from real history. I am definately going to read more of his work, because even if Tigana did little for me, I like what he's doing here. Which is why I've given the book such a high rating -- it was worth it, in the end, I was glad I pushed through the turgid parts.

And that last page was a cruel surprise. So cruel it was AWESOME. Bravo.
reviewed Tigana on + 6 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
A captivating fantasy with vivid characters.
reviewed Tigana on + 91 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
A moving and thought provoking story about whether or not it is possible to eliminate a country and its history without consequences.
reviewed Tigana on + 17 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
This is the one book I can say really was Tolkien-esque. Not in the content or the plot, but in the way it was written. What a great book! The author really continues in the tradition of George Macdonald, Tolkien and Stephen Donaldson. Great read.
reviewed Tigana on + 8 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
I love Guy Kay, and this is my favorite of his books. Truly magnificent.
Read All 8 Book Reviews of "Tigana"

Book Wiki

Common Title

Genres: