Discussion Forums - Mystery & Thrillers

Topic: Will Trent / Grant County / Georgia: What's the correct order?

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Will Trent / Grant County / Georgia: What's the correct order?
Date Posted: 9/23/2012 4:46 PM ET
Member Since: 1/15/2009
Posts: 88
Back To Top

Can anyone explain to me the order I should read Karin Slaughter's Will Trent series?

I started with Triptych (Will Trent, book 1), followed by Fractured (Will Trent book 2). Easy enough so far. But then. . .

Fict Fact tells me that Undone is #3, with a novella called "Snatched" (available only as an e-book) as 2.5. But, both Undone and Broken, listed as number's 7 and 8 respectively of the "Grant County" series, include Will Trent. Broken is listed twice: book 8 of "Grant County", and as book 1 of the "Georgia" series. Fallen, listed as book 2 in the "Georgia" series by FictFact, but as book #3 in the "Georgia" series by PBS, is also most definetly a Will Trent book, though not listed in "Will Trent" or "Grant County."

Now there's the new book, Criminal, which PBS lists as Will Trent book 7, but in which I have a sneaking suspicion that Sara Linton of "Grant County" fame will also be prominantly involved. PBS makes no mention of Will Trent books 4, 5 and 6. FictFact lists Criminal as Georgia book 4. So the Will Trent series and Grant County series seem to be morphing into the "Georgia" series, I think, but I have no idea in which order I should read them.

I'm so confused. 

Date Posted: 9/23/2012 6:00 PM ET
Member Since: 10/22/2009
Posts: 1,452
Back To Top


Here's a link to Karin Slaughter's books along with published dates according to fantastic fiction:


I just started reading Karin Slaughter--having only read Blindsighted--the first book in the Sara Linton/Grant County series.  I'm definitely going to continue though with Karin Slaughter though!  I've read in a few places that the best order to read these books in is by published dates, since as you found out there is some intermingiling between the two series.


Last Edited on: 9/23/12 6:01 PM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 9/24/2012 2:56 AM ET
Member Since: 1/15/2009
Posts: 88
Back To Top
Thanks, Laura! I suppose it's best if I start at the beginning, too. That's a cool site, thanks for the link.
Date Posted: 9/24/2012 8:54 AM ET
Member Since: 2/24/2008
Posts: 48
Back To Top

I'm so glad that you asked this question.  I am up to book 4 with Sara Linton.  I have enjoyed all of them so far and began gathering her other books.  I was also confused about the Will Trent connection and how to weave those books in.  I'm going to check out the site.  Thanks for all the great info here!

Date Posted: 9/29/2012 9:33 PM ET
Member Since: 8/25/2007
Posts: 167
Back To Top
I also started with Triptych and read the "Atlanta" series first and am now circling back to pick up the Grant County series. I think I like Will Trent better though.
Date Posted: 10/1/2012 8:33 AM ET
Member Since: 11/14/2005
Posts: 1,442
Back To Top

I've read the entire Grant County series and it's one of my favorites.  Have also read many Will Trent books, and love when there are cross-overs with the GC characters.  I know you are going to be reading the books in order, but I wanted to write this in case you accidentally read one out of order and if you're like me and HATE spoilers.

Read the book "Beyond Reach" (Grant County, book 6) BEFORE you read the book "Broken" (Grant County book 7), because Broken contains big spoilers for Beyond Reach.   The recent Will Trent book "Criminal" also gives away spoilers for Beyond Reach.


Date Posted: 10/1/2012 1:29 PM ET
Member Since: 1/25/2007
Posts: 180
Back To Top

I agree it's best to read in order by published date. I loved these books!

Date Posted: 10/2/2012 1:55 PM ET
Member Since: 10/6/2007
Posts: 3,143
Back To Top

Simply IGNORE all those different series titles and READ THEM IN THE ORDER THEY WERE PUBLISHED!!!!  Thankfully I did not read any "Will Trent" books prior to reading "Beyond Reach" a "Grant County" book, BUT it would have been such a MISTAKE.  So everyone just starting these books by Karin Slaughter ---- READ THEM IN ORDER OF THE PUBLISHING DATE AND SIMPLY FORGET ABOUT THE DIFFERENT SERIES NAMES!!!! 

I was so put out by trying to do the Will Trent series separate from Grant County, I wrote Karin Slaughter an e-mail.  She responded and said I was correct --- series name or no --- read them in publishing date order.  Okay, why the heck do they have different names??????

Date Posted: 10/3/2012 12:10 PM ET
Member Since: 1/15/2009
Posts: 88
Back To Top
Thanks for the replies everyone. Unfortunately I read the Trent books first. I'm going back to the beginning, but some spoilers I've already read. Oh well. I'm going to research more next time I start a new series.