Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Trouble Making Links (Ususally Good w/Links)

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Trouble Making Links (Ususally Good w/Links)
Date Posted: 10/31/2013 3:46 PM ET
Member Since: 8/23/2009
Posts: 4,581
Back To Top

Hun is anyone else having trouble doing links?

Ok it looks like PBS has updated the little link button.  Now you can make anchors, links, and something about emails.  When I open it and choose URL it goes back to looking like it did before though.  However then when I type in the url and hit ok it doesn't close the link dialogue box and make the link.  I then have to refresh the page because not even hitting cancle or the x button will get the dang thing to close.  Is it becuase they are just rolling it out, or is it not compatible with IE?  Am I the only one person having this problem?

I have a Gateway PC with the new windows 8.1 upgrade installed, and I normally use Internet Explorer if that helps!

I've been a member for years and learned to do links early on.  Its not a problem that I'm creating unless there is some new change I don't know about!  : )

Any help would be appriciated, Thanks!

Date Posted: 10/31/2013 7:20 PM ET
Member Since: 8/26/2006
Posts: 9,322
Back To Top

I'm not seeing what you are seeing --anchors, email, etc.  My method for making a link is first to type in the message box the words I want to show as the link.  I type them -- it doesn't seem to work for me to copy and paste them.  I then hit the enter (or return) to start the next unlinked line -- even if I'm not going to type anything more.  I copy the URL to my clipboard from whatever I'm linking to.

I then highlight the words I've typed, click on the chain, and paste in the URL.  I'm using Firefox, but it used to be that with IE, you can to take out the http:// part of the URL address.

So type the words here and hit enter (or type more words that won't be linked).  Highlight, click chain, paste URL. Click the green OK button.

Date Posted: 10/31/2013 7:40 PM ET
Member Since: 5/4/2009
Posts: 382
Back To Top

Patty, when you hit the chain, the pop up box has a drop down list and you can change it to anchor or email, but the default is URL.

Google

I just did a link in IE (library computer, using IE 9) and I didn't have trouble making a link.

Date Posted: 10/31/2013 9:53 PM ET
Member Since: 1/30/2010
Posts: 8,359
Back To Top

It has changed for me.  The chain now says "unlink" and the flag says "link".

Date Posted: 11/1/2013 12:51 AM ET
Member Since: 8/23/2009
Posts: 4,581
Back To Top

Patty I normally just type in the text and then put the isbn in the pbs search to get the url of my exact book.  I copy the url hit the little chain links and past it in the url.  Of course I've got the text I wanted to link hilighted so as soon as I hit the green go button its linked.   It seems the same as what you say you do.  And like I said I've been doing it for years on here.  Today though PBS changed things around.

Sasssy Thank you so much that is what they did.  The chains is now unlink and the flag makes the links.  I don't remember that flag being there when I asked the question though so they must have been working on it.  I'm testing it out.

Testing: Bedeviled (Queen of the Otherworld, Bk 1)

On another note what happened to the spell check?  It seemes to have gone missing and I have and undo and a redo button that I don't remember having before.  They must still be making changes.



Last Edited on: 11/1/13 12:52 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Date Posted: 11/1/2013 6:06 AM ET
Member Since: 12/21/2007
Posts: 1,642
Back To Top


Last Edited on: 11/1/13 6:06 AM ET - Total times edited: 1
Len S. (lens) - , - PaperBackSwap Team
Date Posted: 11/1/2013 9:35 AM ET
Member Since: 12/21/2006
Posts: 797
Back To Top

If you are seeing the flag icon as the Link symbol (and possibly the next three buttons being "wrong"), you just need to clear your browser's cache and reload the page to fix it. We are working to make the editor more compatible with new browsers.

Thanks for your patience as we work to improve things.

Date Posted: 11/1/2013 3:00 PM ET
Member Since: 1/30/2010
Posts: 8,359
Back To Top

Thanks!



Last Edited on: 11/1/13 3:05 PM ET - Total times edited: 1