Book Reviews of The Unlikely Ones

The Unlikely Ones
The Unlikely Ones
Author: Mary Brown
ISBN-13: 9780070082960
ISBN-10: 0070082960
Publication Date: 10/1986
Pages: 425
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11

4.1 stars, based on 11 ratings
Publisher: Mcgraw-Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

8 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed The Unlikely Ones on + 1756 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
I had to read this book because I had bought an omnibus of books 2-4 in this series and wanted to read them in order. I didn't know what to expect, because I'd never heard of this author except for the one book I'd already owned, so I was a little (okay, more than a little) surprised that by the 2nd chapter we learned of a man who had a "close" relationship with a unicorn. I had to wonder what I was getting myself into. But by the next chapter, I did a couple of snorting laughs due to a few of the thoughts that ran through another key characters head regarding women and sex.

Needless to say, this is a fantasy story that does have some crude humor and adult content. But it's a pretty good story with lots of adventure and friendship. Granted, there were a couple of incidents that felt a bit Tolkien (such as one with a large spider) and a few other bits where it seemed that the author either had limited knowledge of (and didn't care) or didn't research true animal behavior. Although, if you choose to ignore these little hiccups, it's no biggie, but it did bring it down a notch for me.

Overall, I do definitely recommend this book, as it was a delightful read.
reviewed The Unlikely Ones on + 74 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
This is a nice fantasy novel which will appeal most strongly to girls age 11 to 13 or so. The main character is a young girl who is kidnapped and imprisoned by a witch. The book is the story of the girl's quest, along with her friends, to find a dragon and return to him that which was stolen by the witch. Her friends include a cat, toad, fish, raven, unicorn, and a knight who was cursed by the same witch. There are a few sexual situations, but nothing graphic. All but the most protective of parents can give the book to their child without concern.

The book is sweet, and although it does not establish Mary Brown as "major novelist" as the blurb claims, it does have appeal.

I'd recommend it strongly for a girl (less so for a boy, it is very much a girl's story) who enjoys Redwall type of stories.
reviewed The Unlikely Ones on + 1756 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
I had to read this book because I had bought an omnibus of books 2-4 in this series and wanted to read them in order. I didn't know what to expect, because I'd never heard of this author except for the one book I'd already owned, so I was a little (okay, more than a little) surprised that by the 2nd chapter we learned of a man who had a "close" relationship with a unicorn. I had to wonder what I was getting myself into. But by the next chapter, I did a couple of snorting laughs due to a few of the thoughts that ran through another key characters head regarding women and sex.

Needless to say, this is a fantasy story that does have some crude humor and adult content. But it's a pretty good story with lots of adventure and friendship. Granted, there were a couple of incidents that felt a bit Tolkien (such as one with a large spider) and a few other bits where it seemed that the author either had limited knowledge of (and didn't care) or didn't research true animal behavior. Although, if you choose to ignore these little hiccups, it's no biggie, but it did bring it down a notch for me.

Overall, I do definitely recommend this book, as it was a delightful read.
reviewed The Unlikely Ones on + 84 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
"An unlikely group of heroes on a quest that will change their lives forever. An unforgettable tale in the tradition of Tolkien and T.H. White. With this book, Mary Brown establishes herself as a major novelist. 'The Unlikely Ones' is the stuff that legends are made of... an ectraordinary, deeply imaginative, magical tale that the thousands who loved 'Watership Down' and ' Lord of the Rings" will read, reread, and long remember." states the editor of "The Unlikely Ones".
reviewed The Unlikely Ones on + 16 more book reviews
Interesting book, very strange characters, but that is the point. Easy reading and entertaining.
reviewed The Unlikely Ones on + 11 more book reviews
From Amazon.com (Theresa Ichino) ...

Mary Brown spins an enchanting tale of magic and courage. Seven victims of a vicious witch undertake a quest, seeking release from the curses she has cast upon them. Five are her former slaves and the most unlikely candidates for a heroic adventure. The human girl-child has no other name than 'Thing'; her four companions are a crow, a toad, a kitten, and a fish. All are crippled by magic pebbles they cannot remove. Thing is hunched with pain, Corby the crow has one useless wing, Puddy the toad is afflicted with blinding headaches, Moglet cannot use one paw, and Pisky's mouth is nearly sealed by the pebble that prevents him from getting enough to eat. Worst of all, they have no memories of who they are or of their former lives. However, unknown to the witch, the pebbles create a magical bond linking the five; stronger as a group than alone, they tackle enormous obstacles together.

During their flight from the witch, they encounter a knight with a broken sword and rusted armour, and a wounded unicorn. Due to the witch's curse, the knight's sword and armour cannot be mended. Most tragic of all is the unicorn, whose attempt to defend his prince against the witch resulted in the loss of his horn, a physical wound that will not heal, just as his sorrow is inconsolable. Together the seven seek the dragon, owner of the pebbles, which are actually fabulous jewels. Only he can remove them. The ancient mage they consult believes the dragon can also mend the knight's sword, and assures the little group that a drop of dragon's blood, freely given, will heal the unicorn.

The seven face many challenges and dangers, changing and growing along the way. Brown not only creates fascinating characters, she brings to life a richly detailed mediaeval world glimmering with magic. The Unlikely Ones is a wonderful read, entertaining and moving. Brown's expertise is impressive: plot, characters, setting are beautifully developed and hold the reader until the end. I was delighted to find several other books by the same writer. Pigs Don't Fly, Master of Many Treasures, and Dragonne's Eg are all tied to The Unlikely Ones and well worth seeking out.
reviewed The Unlikely Ones on + 1756 more book reviews
I had to read this book because I had bought an omnibus of books 2-4 in this series and wanted to read them in order. I didn't know what to expect, because I'd never heard of this author except for the one book I'd already owned, so I was a little (okay, more than a little) surprised that by the 2nd chapter we learned of a man who had a "close" relationship with a unicorn. I had to wonder what I was getting myself into. But by the next chapter, I did a couple of snorting laughs due to a few of the thoughts that ran through another key characters head regarding women and sex.

Needless to say, this is a fantasy story that does have some crude humor and adult content. But it's a pretty good story with lots of adventure and friendship. Granted, there were a couple of incidents that felt a bit Tolkien (such as one with a large spider) and a few other bits where it seemed that the author either had limited knowledge of (and didn't care) or didn't research true animal behavior. Although, if you choose to ignore these little hiccups, it's no biggie, but it did bring it down a notch for me.

Overall, I do definitely recommend this book, as it was a delightful read.
reviewed The Unlikely Ones on + 1756 more book reviews
I had to read this book because I had bought an omnibus of books 2-4 in this series and wanted to read them in order. I didn't know what to expect, because I'd never heard of this author except for the one book I'd already owned, so I was a little (okay, more than a little) surprised that by the 2nd chapter we learned of a man who had a "close" relationship with a unicorn. I had to wonder what I was getting myself into. But by the next chapter, I did a couple of snorting laughs due to a few of the thoughts that ran through another key characters head regarding women and sex.

Needless to say, this is a fantasy story that does have some crude humor and adult content. But it's a pretty good story with lots of adventure and friendship. Granted, there were a couple of incidents that felt a bit Tolkien (such as one with a large spider) and a few other bits where it seemed that the author either had limited knowledge of (and didn't care) or didn't research true animal behavior. Although, if you choose to ignore these little hiccups, it's no biggie, but it did bring it down a notch for me.

Overall, I do definitely recommend this book, as it was a delightful read.