Discussion Forums - Book Bazaar Book Bazaar

Topic: Unpostable: Going to Ground, Simple Life on a Georgia Pond

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Unpostable: Going to Ground, Simple Life on a Georgia Pond
Date Posted: 3/2/2012 2:26 PM ET
Member Since: 5/16/2007
Posts: 886
Back To Top

There are 0 copies of this book in the system. This book has some writing & highlighting on a few pages but book is totally readable. Free with any order from my shelf.

Going to Ground Simple Life on a Georgia Pond
Author: Amy Blackmarr
Unfulfilled by city life, Amy Blackmarr, then in her mid-thirties, sold her thriving paralegal business and returned to her Georgia roots. She passed five years in her grandfather's remote "old scarecrow of a fishing cabin" beside a South Georgia pond, where she immersed herself in her surroundings and in her writing. With warmth, charm, and humor, Blackmarr mixes vignettes from her past with reflections on the present, describing the surprising generosity of strangers; life without hot water; her two dogs, one a "lush" and the other a cave builder; the occasional visit from an alligator; her days as a two-stepping cowgirl; pheasant hunting with her third ex-husband; and the life and death of her grandmother. In the tradition of Kathleen Norris's The Cloister Walk and Annie Dillard's Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, Going to Ground is Blackmarr's ode to romance, to the beauty of nature, to the joys and fears of solitary life, and to one woman's discovery of herself.