Book Reviews of Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2)

Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2)
Visions of Heat - Psy-Changelings, Bk 2
Author: Nalini Singh
PBS Market Price: $8.09 or $4.19+1 credit
ISBN-13: 9780425215753
ISBN-10: 042521575X
Publication Date: 3/6/2007
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 327

4.1 stars, based on 327 ratings
Publisher: Berkley
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

12 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 159 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Nalini Singh is a wonderful writer and her Psy-Changelings series is top-notch. This is the second book in the series, following "Slave to Sensation". Christine Feehan says that this is a must-read for all of her fans and I agree. Faith NightStar is a Psy who can foretell the future on a world that has gone overboard in silencing it's psys, training all emotion out of them. Vaughn is a changeling (Jaguar shape-shifter) who falls for Faith, discovers they are mate-bonded and tries to help her break loose from her protective imprisonment and dependence on the Psy-net. Singh builds her characters well and makes them very real. I can't wait to read the third book. I will definitely read the whole series.
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 672 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
The world of the Psys - an emotional-less society who live in constant touch with the mental stimulation of the Net - when one is not suited to the niche one has been assigned...

The world of the Changelings - a world of sensation, able to embrace both human and animals Changelings embrace emotion and touch...

The world of Humans - a world pressured from both of the other races, filled with people trying to get along...

Order is important with this series, each of the h/h are continuing characters in the later books - especially true of the first one because the hero is Alpha of the pack. After you've read the first you could probably skip around if you had to.


Psy/Changeling Series

1. Slave to Sensation (September 2006)
2. Visions of Heat
Free short Story: The Cannibal Princess available from the author's website
3. Caressed By Ice (September 2007)
4. âBeat of Temptationâ in An Enchanted Season (October 2007)*
5. Mine to Possess (February 2008)
6. Hostage to Pleasure (September 2008)
7. âStroke of Enticementâ in The Magical Christmas Cat (October 2008) *
8. Branded by Fire (July 2009)
9. Blaze of Memory (November 2009)
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 33 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
I couldn't really get into this one. I wasn't enthralled by it or invested in the characters. The story just wasn't that special. It wasn't one of those books you can't put down. In fact it was more like I had to make myself pick it back up just to say I finished it.
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 17 more book reviews
The second book in Nalini Singh series of paranormal romance books about changelings, psys, and humans is even better than the 1st! I am looking forward to reading the third! I took a sneak preview of it on her web site and I can't wait until I am able to read it! I like this series very much!
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 57 more book reviews
Love, love, love Visions of Heat. Enjoyed book two even more than book one, can't wait to read book 3 of the Psy-Changeling series.
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 239 more book reviews
Great sequel in the series.
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 503 more book reviews
If I'd written this review 40 pages before the end, I would have given it 4 stars. However the last 40 pages were just such a waste of time and paper I have to give Nalini Singh a half star debit.

As with Slave to Sensation, Visions of Heat is about a Psy who finds a deep connection with a Changeling. You can read this book without reading the previous but I think Singh leaves out some material about the depth and importance of the mate bond among Changelings that you read in book 1. She assumes you've read her other books, which is good because we don't spend a lot of time rehashing things. But if you came into this story cold, I am not sure you would have completely been convinced why their relationship is so important to Vaughn (the hero).

Visions has a good romance, the mystery is less exciting but we get acquainted with secondary characters (like Judd, star of next book). Singh does an exceptional job of creating this alternate reality and the PsyNet. It is remarkable how much thought she has given, this isn't just putting pretty words together, she's creating a universe that is unique and interesting.

So far Singh's hero's are all Alpha males, super dominant types, the cranky guys with a hard edge and a soft heart. She writes them well and convinces us that they've found their match. The love scenes are steamy.

3.5 stars
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 4 more book reviews
I really really enjoyed this book. I feel that these are very original. Once I started reading this I could hardly put it down. I will say that if you are considering reading this book i would start with the first one of the series. This book could stand alone, but honestly they are worth the read!
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 765 more book reviews
Great addition to the series!
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 150 more book reviews
Makes one see the data streaming.
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 3 more book reviews
Excellent entry in this series.
reviewed Visions of Heat (Psy-Changelings, Bk 2) on + 30 more book reviews
I read the first book and liked it. This is the second book in the series and it was better than the first. I'm going to start the 3rd book now. Luckily I have it to start reading immediately.