Search - Weapons of Choice (Axis of Time, Bk 1)

Weapons of Choice (Axis of Time, Bk 1)
Weapons of Choice - Axis of Time, Bk 1
Author: John Birmingham
On the eve of America’s greatest victory in the Pacific, — a catastrophic event disrupts the course of World War II, forever changing the rules of combat. . . . The impossible has spawned the unthinkable. A military experiment in the year 2021 has thrust an American-led multinational armada back to 1942, right into the ...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780345457134
ISBN-10: 0345457137
Publication Date: 4/26/2005
Pages: 512
Rating:
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45

3.7 stars, based on 45 ratings
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Weapons of Choice (Axis of Time, Bk 1) on
Helpful Score: 1
Preparations for the pivotal Battle of Midway in 1942 are interrupted when a multinational task force from 2021 are transported in their midst, with near catastrophic results for both forces. The time travelers and the contemporaries must then deal with the implications for both the people involved, and the larger implications for WWII and beyond. The battles are detailed and realistic, the action is fast moving, and the plot is a nice twist on the alternate reality subgenre of SF. What I particularly enjoy about this book is that the sociological ramifications aren't forgotten amongst the shiny tech talk. How do the white men of the navy and government in 1942 react and adjust to the largely multi-ethnic and gender mixed commanding forces of the 2021 task force? How do the time travelers adjust to ways they perceive as almost-barbaric and ignorant, and how does their mere presence begin to change attitudes? The battles and depiction of historical figures are accurate and entertaining, yes, but this is where the real strength of the series is, in my opinion. It in no way slows down the main action, and it very definitely enhances the world the author is building for us. Highly recommended for fans of Turtledove, Stirling, and Flint.
reviewed Weapons of Choice (Axis of Time, Bk 1) on + 11 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
What happens when a Multi-National Navy Fleet from the year 2021 gets sent back to the year 1942? It lands right in the middle of a US NAvy fleet looking for the Japanese fleet. Not only does the author describe action between the different fleets (and subsequently how they work together to fight a common enemy),he also does a great job in depicting the social intercourse between the Navy personnel of tomorrow with the Navy personnel of the future. This is Part 1 of the "Axis of Time Trilogy".
Read All 7 Book Reviews of "Weapons of Choice Axis of Time Bk 1"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Weapons of Choice (Axis of Time, Bk 1) on
Overall it is an interesting read. However, there was a section through the middle of the book that was basically useless drivel. Unnecessary details about various plot lines that are never followed up on and don't add anything to the real story in my opinion. The author goes to extreme lengths to display the characters from the 1940's as shallow bigots and the characters from the future as paragons of multiculturalism. Which is fine to a point but quickly gets tiresome as this theme gets hammered on over and over again. My final analysis is that it is a fairly well written and interesting story that could have been pared down a bit.

Book Wiki

Series

Genres: