Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Weird!

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Subject: Weird!
Date Posted: 11/8/2010 8:22 AM ET
Member Since: 8/10/2005
Posts: 4,599
Back To Top

My DH just put Skype on this computer so he can talk to his sister in England. He's had it on his laptop which is kind of old and slow and he got tired of it so put it on mine. Funny thing--a bunch of the ISBNS on my books listed here come up as phone numbers in Australia...there are little icons around the ISBNs that say, "Call this number in Australia using Skype." Ohhhkay...going to dial up Terry Pratchett's Small Gods and see what they're up to down there. LOL

Anyone else noticed this?

Cheryl

Date Posted: 11/8/2010 8:41 AM ET
Member Since: 2/15/2005
Posts: 1,181
Back To Top

I've seen that a lot.  I've always wanted to dial one and see what happens.  Of course with my luck I'd wake someone up who wouldn't be all that happy with me.  ;)

Date Posted: 11/9/2010 1:03 AM ET
Member Since: 10/23/2010
Posts: 244
Back To Top

Yes, mine does that too, lol. 

Subject: DH
Date Posted: 11/14/2010 10:44 AM ET
Member Since: 1/11/2008
Posts: 5
Back To Top

Your Designated Hitter installed Skype?  Oh yeah, Minnesota, that's in the American League.

Cathy A. (Cathy) - ,
Date Posted: 11/14/2010 10:57 AM ET
Member Since: 12/27/2005
Posts: 4,124
Back To Top

Do you ever call Skype numbers from your browser? If not, then just disable or uninstall the Skype browser add-in.

Date Posted: 11/15/2010 5:15 PM ET
Member Since: 8/10/2005
Posts: 4,599
Back To Top

HA HA  Dave!

Cathy, I have no idea how he uses Skype, so I'm not going to mess with his settings. It doesn't bother me in any way, I just thought it was kind of odd!

Cheryl

Date Posted: 11/16/2010 12:50 PM ET
Member Since: 9/19/2006
Posts: 3,348
Back To Top

Slight t/j...

I have been thinking about getting skype to talk to my best friend in Beligum. Are there any cost for skype to skype calls? What is it like? We have wireless internet/U-verse At&t at 12mg. Are there any start up costs or do you just download it for free? What if the other person has dial-up and not high speed internet? Does it make a difference? Thanks for any info.

Pam

Date Posted: 11/16/2010 5:46 PM ET
Member Since: 8/10/2005
Posts: 4,599
Back To Top

I've never used it myself, Pamela, but I think it's totally free. I can't imagine my husband using it otherwise. LOL

Cheryl

Date Posted: 11/17/2010 3:18 AM ET
Member Since: 8/26/2006
Posts: 9,327
Back To Top

It's free computer to computer.  I believe there's still a charge computer to telephone, but I may be wrong there.

Date Posted: 11/17/2010 1:46 PM ET
Member Since: 1/17/2009
Posts: 9,727
Back To Top

There is a plug-in for whichever browser you are using that does that highlighing ... it was probably installed along with Skype.

I use Skype, but I had to go find that plug in and get rid of it because I found it really annoying. Skype does not need the browser plug-in at all ... so it will not harm anything to go and remove it.