Search - White Noise

White Noise
White Noise
Author: Don DeLillo
The twenty-fifth anniversary edition of one of the most iconic novels of our time-now in a dazzling graphic package — Winner of the National Book Award, White Noise tells the story of Jack Gladney, his fourth wife, Babette, and four ultra­modern offspring as they navigate the rocky passages of family life to the background babb...  more »
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $17.00
Buy New (Paperback): $13.29 (save 21%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $9.39+1 PBS book credit (save 44%)
ISBN-13: 9780143105985
ISBN-10: 0143105981
Publication Date: 12/29/2009
Pages: 336
Edition: Deluxe
Rating:
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 9

2.9 stars, based on 9 ratings
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
Members Wishing: 0
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed White Noise on + 66 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Very well written metaphorical exposition on our obsession with death and trying to escape it. Black humor with meaining.
reviewed White Noise on + 9 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Original, thought-provoking and meticulously worded for maximum effect at all times. A must-read for fans of Chuck Palahniuk and Douglas Coupland, both of whom seem to have been influenced by DeLillo's examinations of the effect of consumerism and technology on the individual in modern society.
reviewed White Noise on + 38 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This novel is supposed to be an edgy postmodern commentary on materialism, intellectualism, death, perception v reality, etc. However, these ideas were more radical in the 60s. This book was written in the 80s which means DeLillo was at least 20 years behind the curve in his own time and that it was done better by others.

Besides the anti-climactic ending, I enjoyed most of the book even when the dialogue became repetitive and preachy. All of the characters had an annoying habit of answering a question with a question and never actually answered anything. It quickly became obnoxious and made the "controversy" feel forced. Here is a typical exchange:

First character asks, "Is it raining right now?"
Second character answers, "What is rain? Perhaps you perceive rain differently than I do. And when is 'now'? 'Now' at this moment or 'now' when you asked me a few seconds ago? Time is an illusion."

I could have done without reading this one. Perhaps DeLillo does a better job in one of his other works.
reviewed White Noise on + 110 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Truly insightful book on modern day life. Gave me the chills
reviewed White Noise on + 18 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This is an interesting look at modern, present day life in the US.
Read All 15 Book Reviews of "White Noise"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed White Noise on + 289 more book reviews
Published in 1985, Don DeLillo's White Noise is a prescient commentary on the America that came to be. Jack Gladney is a non-German speaking professor of Hitler studies at a liberal arts school located in College on the Hill. He lives with his fourth wife Babette and their children from various marriages. There is a constant satirical commentary on mass consumer culture which is quite well done. The couple's fears of death are exaggerated as their town faces an "airborne toxic event." Quite funny in an absurd way and thought-provoking at turns, I find myself wondering if this book was really written in the pre-internet era. I can easily see why it won the National Book Award and a spot on the list of 1001 books you must read before you die.

Book Wiki

Original Publication Date (YYYY-MM-DD)
Important Events

Genres: