Search - White Noise (Picador Books)

White Noise (Picador Books)
White Noise - Picador Books
Author: Don DeLillo
Jack Gladney, head of Hitler studies at the College-on-the-Hill, is afraid of death, as is his wife Babette and his colleague Murray who runs a seminar on car crashes. The author exposes our common obsession with mortality, and Jack and Babette's biggest fear - who will die first?
ISBN-13: 9781447206590
ISBN-10: 1447206592
Publication Date: 10/10/1986
Pages: 326
Rating:
  ?

0 stars, based on 0 rating
Publisher: Picador
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio Cassette, Audio CD
Members Wishing: 0
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed White Noise (Picador Books) on + 66 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Very well written metaphorical exposition on our obsession with death and trying to escape it. Black humor with meaining.
reviewed White Noise (Picador Books) on + 9 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Original, thought-provoking and meticulously worded for maximum effect at all times. A must-read for fans of Chuck Palahniuk and Douglas Coupland, both of whom seem to have been influenced by DeLillo's examinations of the effect of consumerism and technology on the individual in modern society.
reviewed White Noise (Picador Books) on + 38 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This novel is supposed to be an edgy postmodern commentary on materialism, intellectualism, death, perception v reality, etc. However, these ideas were more radical in the 60s. This book was written in the 80s which means DeLillo was at least 20 years behind the curve in his own time and that it was done better by others.

Besides the anti-climactic ending, I enjoyed most of the book even when the dialogue became repetitive and preachy. All of the characters had an annoying habit of answering a question with a question and never actually answered anything. It quickly became obnoxious and made the "controversy" feel forced. Here is a typical exchange:

First character asks, "Is it raining right now?"
Second character answers, "What is rain? Perhaps you perceive rain differently than I do. And when is 'now'? 'Now' at this moment or 'now' when you asked me a few seconds ago? Time is an illusion."

I could have done without reading this one. Perhaps DeLillo does a better job in one of his other works.
reviewed White Noise (Picador Books) on + 110 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Truly insightful book on modern day life. Gave me the chills
reviewed White Noise (Picador Books) on + 18 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This is an interesting look at modern, present day life in the US.
Read All 15 Book Reviews of "White Noise Picador Books"

Book Wiki

Original Publication Date (YYYY-MM-DD)
Important Events

Genres: