Search - The Widow

The Widow
The Widow
Author: Fiona Barton
For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, an electrifying thriller that will take you into the dark spaces that exist between a husband and a wife. — When the police started asking questions, Jean Taylor turned into a different woman. One who enabled her and her husband to carry on, when more bad things began to happen... —   — But that woma...  more »
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $26.00
Buy New (Hardcover): $8.89 (save 65%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $4.99+1 PBS book credit (save 80%)
ISBN-13: 9781101990261
ISBN-10: 1101990260
Publication Date: 3/1/2016
Pages: 368
Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 26

3.3 stars, based on 26 ratings
Publisher: NAL
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback, Audio CD
Members Wishing: 112
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed The Widow on + 430 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
I kept waiting for the " electrifying psychological thriller" this book claimed to be. I'm still waiting to be "thrilled". Didn't happen.

It was a psychological mystery about a whiny wife married to a domineering husband, who led her life only to please him. That is until a little girl disappears and she discovers her husband is a child cyber porn addict, suspected of the kidnapping.

The book alternates with past and present, and is told in various voices during the investigation of the crime.

This book, especially the ending was dark and disturbing and I was left with a bad taste.
Read All 11 Book Reviews of "The Widow"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The Widow on + 1131 more book reviews
Although the story was not as suspenseful as the overwrought blurbs lead me to believe, I still enjoyed this book. It was in fact more character study than thriller, a book in which the understated (and yes, sometimes flat) narration lends an even more disturbing quality to events. Jean, the widow of the title, comes under the closest scrutiny, as the reader follows her spiral from naive 17 year old to a widow who knows more, perhaps, than she's telling. Supporting characters--journalist Kate, distraught mother Dawn, and especially DI Sparkes--are all nicely done.

A problem for me here, and in many books of this type that I've read lately, was the confusing and ever-shifting timeline. Back and forth, here and there--what's wrong with just telling a straightforward linear story for once?

But as a whole, I liked this novel's deceptive simplicity, and would read more from Barton


Genres: