Search - Wind of Promise (Colorado Wind, Bk 3)

Wind of Promise (Colorado Wind, Bk 3)
Wind of Promise - Colorado Wind, Bk 3
Author: Dorothy Garlock
Fiery-haired Vanessa was determined to cross the prairies, ford the mighty rivers, and climb the Rockies to reach Colorado. Her hands held the reins of the mule team with wiry strength but her resolve weakened when a tall stranger, lean of body, wide of shoulder, and wild as the western wind, took her in his arms. Vanessa knew Kain DeBolt's ...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780445203686
ISBN-10: 0445203684
Publication Date: 3/1/1987
Pages: 384
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.

4.1 stars, based on 34 ratings
Publisher: Warner Books
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review
Read All 3 Book Reviews of "Wind of Promise Colorado Wind Bk 3"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Wind of Promise (Colorado Wind, Bk 3) on + 1422 more book reviews
Absolutely beautiful! This book really ties up the various strings from books 1 and 2 of the COLORADO WIND series. I was SO disappointed when this book ended. The 2 villains of the series are still sneaky and underhanded; Adam Clayhill and Della (sister to Kain DeBolt), thunder across the pages, wreaking havoc wherever they turn.

This story is about Kain DeBolt, a wealthy drifter who learns in the early pages that his fortune has all but disappeared in the Wall Street Crash. Hes surprised when he realizes that hes not torn up about the huge losses. But Kain has more important things to think about hes dying of cancer.

Through a chance meeting in Dodge City, Kansas, Kain watches a small woman, Vanessa Cavanaugh, attack a man with a shovel. He is beating on her cousin, Henry Hill. Henry is handsome, large and not intelligent; he needs direction from others. These two, along with Henrys mother and Vanessas aunt, Ellie, are traveling to Colorado to start over and hoping to find relatives.

Thus begins an interesting tale of growth and change. Kain teaches Henry to be more self-reliant and to defend himself. Ellie learns a staggering truth about the man she married 20 years before; while Vanessa learns that her impetuosity can have devastating effects for herself and others.

The secondary characters are well-defined and interesting. The book moves at a very good pace and there are wrinkles and turns all over the place.

It is wonderful to meet again the main characters from the previous 2 books: Cooper Parnell and Lorna, Sylvia Parnell and her new husband, Logan Horn with Rosalee and Griff with Bonnie. The men (Logan, Cooper and Henry Hill) were all sons of Adam Clayhill; it was interesting to see how these men had adjusted to the injury done to them (and their mothers) years before.

Colorado Wind
Restless Wind (1986)
Wayward Wind (1986)
Wind of Promise (1987)

Book Wiki

Colorado Wind  3 of 3