Book Review of Seven Gothic Tales (Modern Library)

Seven Gothic Tales (Modern Library)
reviewed on + 813 more book reviews


Gothic? Well hardly! But then my idea of gothic is more in the vein of Horace Walpole, Ann Radcliffe and Matthew Lewis: replete with dank, dreary castles, endless passages, preternatural events, and malevolent villains. Despite a glowing introduction by Dorothy Canfield, I found these tales boring and pointless.