Search - Annie John

Annie John
Annie John
Author: Jamaica Kincaid
Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie’s voice—urg...  more »
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $13.00
Buy New (Paperback): $11.19 (save 13%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $7.29+1 PBS book credit (save 43%)
ISBN-13: 9780374525101
ISBN-10: 0374525102
Publication Date: 6/30/1997
Pages: 148
Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 22

3.5 stars, based on 22 ratings
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio Cassette
Members Wishing: 1
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Annie John on + 22 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
This is a well-written coming of age book about a young girl set in the 1940's-1950's would be my guess. An excellent read.
reviewed Annie John on + 5 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Annie John although a book I had to read for highschool- meaning usually something academic and boring- was a great read.. short but packed with meaning and insights on life in the era in the book. I highly recommend this as a book to read both casually or academicly as it compliments such texts as Malcolm X, The Color Purple etc but in a new refreshing way.
Read All 12 Book Reviews of "Annie John"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Annie John on + 419 more book reviews
A charming coming of age of a young girl in Antigua. Annie is charming and witty, yet also very audacious and stubborn.


Genres: