Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Search - Before We Were Yours - Signed / Autographed Copy

Before We Were Yours - Signed / Autographed Copy
Before We Were Yours Signed / Autographed Copy
Author: Lisa Wingate
SIGNED BY THE AUTHOR, LISA WINGATE! Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River...  more »
ISBN-13: 9781524797300
ISBN-10: 1524797308
Publication Date: 6/1/2016
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4

4 stars, based on 4 ratings
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Book Type: Hardcover
Members Wishing: 31
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review
data-ad-format="auto">
Read All 1 Book Reviews of "Before We Were Yours Signed Autographed Copy"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Before We Were Yours - Signed / Autographed Copy on + 114 more book reviews
 This is a very readable book.  The story holds you and the writing is good.

It is based on the Tennessee Children's Home (TCH) Adoption scandal when Georgia Tann sold children that had been given up and kidnapped to adoptive families.  While waiting for sale the children were kept in deplorable conditions that included neglect, hunger, verbal, physical, and sexual abuse.  Many of these children were not orphans.  Friendly judges gave these children into the custody of the home.  The adoptions were often not legal.  Biological parents had not signed away custody, were not even aware what had happened to their children.  Many of the parents who adopted from TCH were not screened and not fit.

Georgia Tann is the reason that, to this day, most adoptions are closed-with no contact between old and new families.  The adults that the TCH children became had no way to trace their real families, nor did their grieving parents have a way to find them.

The given reason for this chaos, was that children in rich families have better prospects.  Tann apparently really believed that she was helping children by moving them from poverty to wealth, regardless of the character of the adoptive parents.  This remember, was the 1920s and 30s, before Hitler ruined eugenics.  Many people were open in their belief that there were superior and inferior people.  Surely a child would have a better chance being reared and influenced by a superior person.

This story tells of a family of children whose parents are tricked into signing adoption papers while their mother is in hard labor with the youngest.  The children are removed from their custody and taken to a branch of the TCH.  Always the oldest ones are trying to get home to their parents, but when they do things are not what they expect.

This story alternates with the story of a grand-daughter, a woman of class and privilege who is putting together this family history.  She is horrified and intrigued as she goes along.

Eventually the story has a mostly happy ending.

I have read as much as I could get on the TCH scandal and Georgia Tann.  I felt that the book has a little bit of PC revisionism that I didn't like.  First, the book did mention that Tann saw children as blank slates, but not that her stated motive was to do her part to destroy the lower classes by giving their children to upper class parents.  This is a very important point to the meaning of the story.

Another thing that annoyed me is that in real life a lot of the molestation was done by Tann and her friends.  However, in the book, the one male character had to be the molester because in the PC culture women do not sexually abuse people (they must be victims not aggressors) and lesbians (which Tann was at least as pertained to her abuse of children) must never be portrayed as villains.

The story is worth reading in spite of this twisting, but it would have been even better had Wingate chosen to portray reality as it is (a theme in the end of the book).


Want fewer ads?