Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Search - Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1)

Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1)
Carved in Bone - Body Farm, Bk 1
Author: Jefferson Bass
Renowned anthropologist Dr. Bill Brockton has spent his career surrounded by death at the Body Farm. Now he's being called upon to help solve a baffling puzzle in a remote mountain community. The mummified corpse of a young woman dead for thirty years has been discovered in a cave, the body bizarrely preserved and transformed by the environm...  more »
Info icon
ISBN-13: 9780060759827
ISBN-10: 0060759828
Publication Date: 12/26/2006
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 248

4 stars, based on 248 ratings
Publisher: Harper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1) on + 33 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 9
Great book. If you like Patricia Cornwell you will love this. I will definitely be looking for all books in this series. This was fast paced and kept me guessing. The characters were fun to get to know. If you are interested in forensic anthropology, this is a book to read. There is also some humor. I found myself laughing out loud sometimes. I highly recommend this book.
AvoidinReality avatar reviewed Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1) on
Helpful Score: 8
My new favorite forensic fiction writer is the team of Jefferson Bass! I like the plotline of this novel and although the ending was not a completely surprise, the action leading to it was enough to keep my interest. Jefferson Bass is able to weave lots of background information into the story without overpowering it. They are also able to use enough technical jargon to lend realism to the story without losing the reader. I also liked the offhand mention of both real and fictional medical examiners (if you skip paragraphs, you'll miss it)!
GeniusJen avatar reviewed Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1) on + 7145 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
This was a great book! If you enjoyed Patricia Cornwell when she used to write really good forensic mysteries (basically, her first three or four books), then you'll love the BODY FARM series of books by Jefferson Bass. This is a must-read for fans of CSI, BONES, and similar shows/books.
reviewed Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1) on + 12 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 5
Yes - I am hooked on CSI. But only the original Las Vegas one and I must admit I preferred the beginning stories to the recent - the ones where they would graphically show the damage caused by the bullet or knife, etc. So of ocurse I had to read this one...I am a Kay Scarpetta fan also. Very interesting story line - and very interesting authors - Jefferson Bass is a team, one of whom (Dr. Bill Blass) actually founded the Body Farm at the University of Tennesee's Anthorpology Research Facility. So this was almost a must read!
reviewed Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1) on + 2 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
Very interesting factual account of the University of Tennessee's Anthropology Research Facility (the Body Farm of Patricia Cornwell's novel) described in a fictional setting. Also, gives a captivating account of life in the isolated and clannish backwoods of the Tennessee mountains.
Read All 42 Book Reviews of "Carved in Bone Body Farm Bk 1"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

G-Mom avatar reviewed Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1) on + 10 more book reviews
a very good read, and forensics was very accurate. I ordered the next two in this series.
bbqgal avatar reviewed Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1) on + 2 more book reviews
I really liked this book, glad I started out reading this one first as I found out there other books to follow. I enjoyed the writers style of writing and the medical terminology used.
This book kept me on the edge till the very end, I didn't expect to find the person I thought was the killer wasn't.
reviewed Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1) on
couldnt put it down


Genres:

Want fewer ads?