Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Search - Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City

Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City
Death in the Air The True Story of a Serial Killer the Great London Smog and the Strangling of a City
Author: Kate Winkler Dawson
A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. — In winter 1952, London automobiles and thousands of coal-burning hearths belched particulate ma...  more »
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $27.00
Buy New (Hardcover): $8.29 (save 69%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $4.39+1 PBS book credit Help icon(save 83%)
ISBN-13: 9780316506861
ISBN-10: 0316506869
Publication Date: 10/17/2017
Pages: 352
Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4

3.9 stars, based on 4 ratings
Publisher: Hachette Books
Book Type: Hardcover
Other Versions: Paperback
Members Wishing: 3
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review
Read All 1 Book Reviews of "Death in the Air The True Story of a Serial Killer the Great London Smog and the Strangling of a City"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

cathyskye avatar reviewed Death in the Air: The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City on + 1945 more book reviews
Parts of Kate Winkler Dawson's Death in the Air reads like the best fiction. People trying to navigate the streets when visibility was down to one yard. Buses and automobiles not being able to move. People dying because they can't get to the hospital, and doctors are swamped with house calls and can't get to their patients in a timely manner. And then there's John Reginald Christie, a quiet little man most people wouldn't look at twice, who was on a killing spree of his own.

Dawson's research is fantastic, both in explaining the physical causes of the deadly smog and in sharing survivors' (often heartbreaking) stories. Of course, there was a government coverup, but once the facts started coming out, it's easy to see how serial killer John Reginald Christie has been overshadowed by this horrendous pollution-- pollution that killed 12,000 people. The only bright side to the smog was the clean air legislation that began to be implemented around the world.

Death in the Air is an often spellbinding narrative about a dark time in history, but it does bog down in the details from time to time. In fact, I think the book would have been stronger if the author had left out Christie altogether. I'd heard about the smog many times, but now I really appreciate knowing exactly what happened. If you're interested in this period of time, give it a read. It's good.


Genres:

Want fewer ads?