Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Search - The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1)

The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1)
The Faithful Spy - John Wells, Bk 1
Author: Alex Berenson
John Wells is the only American CIA agent ever to penetrate al Qaeda. Since before the attacks in 2001, Wells has been hiding in the mountains of Pakistan, biding his time, building his cover. — Now, on the orders of Omar Khadri -- the malicious mastermind plotting more al Qaeda strikes on America -- Wells is coming home. Neither Khadri nor Jenni...  more »
Info icon
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $9.99
Buy New (Paperback): $9.70 (save 2%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $5.80+1 PBS book credit Help icon(save 41%)
ISBN-13: 9780515144345
ISBN-10: 0515144347
Publication Date: 1/29/2008
Pages: 496
Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 185

3.9 stars, based on 185 ratings
Publisher: Jove
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

esjro avatar reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 739 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 13
The Faithful Spy is a promising start to what will hopefully be a new series. John Wells is a CIA agent under deep cover within al Qaueda. During the years it took him to gain some trust within the terrorist organization, Wells has lost contact with his ex wife, young son, and his handler at the CIA. He blames himself for failing to stop 9/11 and knows that he is losing the trust of the CIA after being out of contact for so long. When Wells is sent back to the USA by al Qaueda for a mission he knows nothing about, he sees it as an opportunity to redeem himself in the eyes of the CIA. He struggles to stop an act of terror, while being pursued by the very government he has sworn to protect.

Fans of Daniel Silva and Vince Flynn will enjoy this book. Like those authors, this book deals with contemporary issues but Berenson does a better job than the others of showing the human side of the enemy. My only complaint is that John Wells himself is not in much of the book. However, this may be because the author is trying to establish the other characters for future books. I will be adding the next installment in this series to my wish list.
reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 3 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 7
Fast passed interesting spy novel. The main character is a CIA operative who has been infiltrated into Al Queda for years. No one is sure if he's a good guy or a bad guy anymore. Part of it takes place overseas and the rest in the U.S. I'm not sure if I'll sleep as well after reading this...but it was exciting!
jonnylongball avatar reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 43 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 6
Fast moving story about a CIA operative deeply embedded in al Qaeda. John Wells has been fighting with al Qaeda in Chechnya and Afghanistan for years. He is the world's most dedicated spy -- and one of the worst husbands and fathers. He wasn't able to raise any warnings before 9/11 but now he has a chance to foil another attack. I look forward to reading more from Alex Berenson -- and reading more about John Wells.
reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 107 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Excellent contemporary spy thriller!
Read All 24 Book Reviews of "The Faithful Spy John Wells Bk 1"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 15 more book reviews
I stumbled upon this series by accident and am glad I did. Being a diehard Vince Flynn fan, every CIA/Black Ops book I read now is judged to what Flynn writes. I can honestly say that Berenson holds his own against Flynn. Like Flynn's books, this is one you don't want to put down.
reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 2 more book reviews
I REALLY enjoyed this book. I accidentally read #4 and 5 in this series and had to come back to the beginning. I think this author is excellent and the storyline is very gripping as it has to do with Al Qaeda and September 11 and the war in Afghanistan. It's like a window into the middle east and what it is like for the soldiers that were over there.
reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 3352 more book reviews
Quite suspenseful - action - violence
DieHard avatar reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on
Most authors have a hard time keeping their own political views out of novels about terrorism and other current issues and Berenson is no different. He is not heavy handed with his politics but injects just enough to be annoying at times. Otherwise a good but standard terrorism thriller.
reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 4 more book reviews
Deep story and not for the faint of heart
gigi avatar reviewed The Faithful Spy (John Wells, Bk 1) on + 355 more book reviews
Interesting take on an international spy that is so entrenched with al Quaeda that his handlers are not sure if he has "turned" or not.


Genres:

Want fewer ads?