Skip to main content
PBS logo

Discussion Forums - Questions about PaperBackSwap Questions about PaperBackSwap

Topic: Feeling Guilty

Club rule - Please, if you cannot be courteous and respectful, do not post in this forum.
  Unlock Forum posting with Annual Membership.
Generic Profile avatar
Subject: Feeling Guilty
Date Posted: 9/28/2007 2:40 PM ET

Hi,

I'm new to paperbackswap.  I sent off two books yesterday and then was browsing the site, only to read the definitions of book condition.  One of the books I sent looks terrific BUT there is some dirt soil (about 1 in.) on the bottom corner of the pages.  I sent it before I read the definitions.  I've bought books like this before so I didn't think it would be a problem.

I have been feeling guilty since I read the definitions and am wondering if I should PM the person receiving the book.  I was thinking that if I didn't, the receiver might not even think there's an issue.  If I did, would I be creating more of a deal than need be? 

Thanks!

CozSnShine avatar
Standard Member medalMember of the Month medalFriend of PBS-Double Diamond medalPBS Cruise Attendee medalPBS Blog Contributor medal
Date Posted: 9/28/2007 2:57 PM ET

IF I were you, I'd PM and tell her exactly what you posted here.   Just tell her that if she thinks it's a problem when she gets the book to give you a PM and you'll return her credit.

mahbaar avatar
Member of the Month medal
Date Posted: 9/28/2007 3:10 PM ET

I ditto what Cozette said. Honesty is the best policy here, and should prevent hard feelings. Just allow the person to decide whether the book meets the criteria and decide whether to ask for the credit back.

Remember, the person who is receiving your book was also a new member once! :) I'm sure things will work out fine.

And don't fret if it's marked "Received with a problem". You'll have to have a track record/history of sending out books that don't meet guidelines before you'll have a problem with the powers that be.