Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Search - The First Wives Club

The First Wives Club
The First Wives Club
Author: Olivia Goldsmith
In the tradition of Jackie Collins, Olivia Goldsmith gives us this sexy, savvy, wickedly funny novel about three first wives who band together to take their due from the men who used them, abused them, then dumped them. — Elise, Brenda, and Annie were all first wives inhabiting the headier spheres of New York society. Then in their forties, with ...  more »
Info icon
ISBN-13: 9780671002480
ISBN-10: 0671002481
Publication Date: 9/1/1996
Pages: 528
Rating:
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 87

3.7 stars, based on 87 ratings
Publisher: Pocket
Book Type: Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover, Audio CD
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

SanJoseCa avatar reviewed The First Wives Club on + 328 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
A story of 3 women who plot the perfect revenge for their ex-husbands, and "discover themselves and love along the way!" A little "raunchy," but very funny. The perfect airplane and beach book!
Patouie avatar reviewed The First Wives Club on + 132 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Fun revenge. The female characters are differentiated, the male characters a little flat, but the book is a kick.
reviewed The First Wives Club on + 41 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Payback time for three wives who were discarded for trophy wives.
a really funny novel with a conclusion that you can believe.
reviewed The First Wives Club on + 13 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Elise, Brenda, and Annie were all first wives. A movie star and heiress, Elise had connections that paved the way for her lawyer husband. Brenda's "family" business launched her husband's home-entertainment empire. And Annie sustained her spouse on his rise in the advertising world. But when their husbands were at the pinnacle of success, they abandoned their mates for trophy wives - younger, blonder, sleeker models.

Lunching at Le Cirque one day, Annie, Brenda, and Elise decide it's time to get even. How they conspire to give each man his due-in full view of tout New York society-makes for the smartest, sexiest, most wickedly funny blockbuster in years.
reviewed The First Wives Club on + 24 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
NOT EXACT WITH THE MOVIE. THIS BOOK HAS A MORE SERIOUS FEEL.
Read All 38 Book Reviews of "The First Wives Club"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed The First Wives Club on + 113 more book reviews
Three women were the "first wives" who's husbands left for younger women. They conspire together to give each man his due - getting even in full view on New York society. Very funny and sexy.
reviewed The First Wives Club on + 11 more book reviews
The characters are extremely well developed and the parts from the wive's points of view are interesting. But a lot of parts tend to drag and are boring.
reviewed The First Wives Club on
Loved it. Reminded me of the movie...both were good
reviewed The First Wives Club on + 4 more book reviews
If you enjoyed Fifty Shades of Grey you would enjoy this book. However, this book follows many different characters and the struggles they have within their marriages and divorce. It points out that friendship will get you through the rough times along with humor. I enjoyed reading this book and found it to be entertaining especially since I divorced my first husband and then found and married a good man the second time.
reviewed The First Wives Club on + 6 more book reviews
Funny and fun! An enjoyable book to read and plot to follow.
Claudielou avatar reviewed The First Wives Club on + 77 more book reviews
What a fun book!
reviewed The First Wives Club on + 50 more book reviews
Excellent!
reviewed The First Wives Club on + 115 more book reviews
Great book, better than the movie (but I always feel that way!)
reviewed The First Wives Club on + 3 more book reviews
I started reading this book but stopped in the middle. I just could take all the cursing in it. there were to many F-words for me. When they weren't cursing it was sorta funny though.
reviewed The First Wives Club on + 10 more book reviews
Elise, Brenda, and Annie were all first wives but when their husbands abandon them for younger "trophy" wives, they decide to get even. Funny book! Great read!


Genres:

Want fewer ads?