Search - A Friend of the Earth

A Friend of the Earth
A Friend of the Earth
Author: T. C. Boyle
Funny and touching, antic and affecting . . . while Boyle's humor is as black as ever, he demonstrates that satire can coexist with psychological realism, comedy with compassion." (Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times) — In the tradition of The Tortilla Curtain, T.C. Boyle blends idealism and satire in a story that addresses the uni...  more »
The Market's bargain prices are even better for Paperbackswap club members!
Retail Price: $16.00
Buy New (Paperback): $12.79 (save 20%) or
Become a PBS member and pay $8.89+1 PBS book credit (save 44%)
ISBN-13: 9780141002057
ISBN-10: 0141002050
Publication Date: 9/1/2001
Pages: 368
Rating:
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 32

3.4 stars, based on 32 ratings
Publisher: Penguin (Non-Classics)
Book Type: Paperback
Members Wishing: 0
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed A Friend of the Earth on
Helpful Score: 2
this book certainly gave me a lot to think about, and kept me engaged!
reviewed A Friend of the Earth on + 11 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Interesting futuristic fiction, with many flashbacks. The stuff about the effects of global warming in the future parts are quite un-nerving.
Read All 3 Book Reviews of "A Friend of the Earth"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed A Friend of the Earth on + 3 more book reviews
This is one of my favorite books. The characters are flawed and endearing in all the right places. The precautionary narrative is presented with classic Boyle humor which makes the distasteful portrait of future consequences to our current disregard for the natural world quite palatable.


Genres: