Skip to main content
PBS logo
Want fewer ads?

Book Reviews of Heaven Knows

Heaven Knows
Heaven Knows
Author: Elaine Coffman
ISBN-13: 9780449148617
ISBN-10: 0449148610
Publication Date: 3/2/1994
Pages: 404
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.

3.9 stars, based on 41 ratings
Publisher: Ivy Books
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

8 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Heaven Knows on + 419 more book reviews
A wonderful book,was one of my keepers. Ist edition. Have had on my shelf to reread again, I did and it stil was a great read.
reviewed Heaven Knows on + 152 more book reviews
One of the best books I have read in a long time. Her characters are so real.
reviewed Heaven Knows on + 68 more book reviews
With her big dreams and flair for the flamboyant, Lizzie Robinson is a feisty child, besotted by the lazy charm of the most eligible bachelor on Nantucket. She has loved him forever. To Tavis MacKinnon, Lizzie is nothing more than a delightfully outrageous imp; whenever they meet she does something foolish.
speedyreader avatar reviewed Heaven Knows on + 106 more book reviews
A girls dream becomes a womens challenge...
I really liked this book!
reviewed Heaven Knows on + 331 more book reviews
An Ok read!!
reviewed Heaven Knows on + 112 more book reviews
The 5th book in the MacKinnon family saga has all the elements we look for in a historical romance!
reviewed Heaven Knows on + 153 more book reviews
This book is well-written, has a plot with no holes, and has twists and turns, but unfortunately for me, it also has two of the things I dislike in a story-line.
1 - the book is sooo full of suffering until the final happily ever after and 2 - the hero ends up with the girl, but there is no way he deserves her.

If this doesn't bother you, you may enjoy it, but the story just wasn't my cup of tea.
jjares avatar reviewed Heaven Knows on + 2507 more book reviews
This is such a complex plot that it kept me reading until I finished it. First, let me say that I don't enjoy (as much) novels that keep the main characters apart for long periods of time. The first separation was almost eight years and the second was two-and-a-half years.

Tavis Mackinnon has been the focus of Elizabeth Robinson thoughts since she was eleven (and Tavis was twenty-one). She loves Tavis with all of her young soul. Eventually, the couple marries, even though Tavis does not believe in love. This book did not spend much time reminding the reader of the early (devastating) years of the Mackinnon sons. It is completely possible that Tavis did not understand love because he did not see it in his life.

This novel has many twists and turns. The author warns in the early chapters that the Brewster women have a hard time with love. Lizzie is a case that proves the point. Tavis is a happy-go-lucky guy who never intends to marry. However, as he becomes more involved with Lizzie, he sees that he is out of his depth with a woman of her complexity.

I enjoyed this story even though at times I thought it was all-over-the-map with emotions.

MacKinnon Brothers Series
1. Angel in Marble (1991)
2. For All the Right Reasons (1991)
3. Somewhere Along the Way (1992)
4. So This Is Love (1993)
**5. Heaven Knows (1994)
6. When Love Comes Along (1995)
7. If You Love Me (1997)
Want fewer ads?