Book Reviews of Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3)

Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3)
Isle of Palms - Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
ISBN-13: 9780425195499
ISBN-10: 042519549X
Publication Date: 6/29/2004
Pages: 528
Rating:
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 128

3.6 stars, based on 128 ratings
Publisher: Berkley Books
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Amazon | Write a Review

35 Book Reviews submitted by our Members...sorted by voted most helpful

reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on
Helpful Score: 4
After visiting the Isle of Palms for vacation, this was a must read! I thoroughly enjoyed the book - sometimes I even felt the ocean breeze while reading it. Not bad considering I live in Ohio!
FabN46 avatar reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 103 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 4
I have now read everything Dorothea Benton Frank has written and every time I read one of her books I thought "THIS one was my absolute FAVORITE!" But the Isle of Palms was the best! Loved the characters, loved the story, and now, after finishing all her books, I find myself wishing I could have grown up in the "Lowcountry." What an awesome book!
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 52 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Fans of Frank's Sullivan's Island and Plantation will not be disappointed in this lowcountry tale.
hobbitlady avatar reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 23 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 2
Wonderful Southern flavor to this book. It beautifully depicts the people, the lifestyle and the climate-physical and mental of the South Eastern people near the coast. Nice romance but not sticky or sentimental.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 94 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Dorothea Benton Frank has another winner! Reading her books is like talking to your very best friend over a glass (or a bottle) of vintage wine.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 96 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
A story of life in the lowcountry of the south. Life of many families liveing on this island over the bridge from Charleston. I started this book yesterday and finished it tonight---couldnt put it down.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 8 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
South Carolina Humor at it's very best
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 94 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
One of my favorite Southern "romance" authors. Benton Frank writes another engaging tale about family and love in the South. Funny and moving.
redhatter avatar reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 577 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
You can lose yourself in this novel and I did. Couldn't put it down.
CozyLover avatar reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 335 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
As good as 'Sullivan's Island', better than 'Plantation'. Dorothea Frank is a great storyteller. I couldn't put this one down!
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 12 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
A great read. Emotions run the gamut - a laugh, a cry, a sigh. Love Dottie Frank.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 23 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
definitely a woman's book-for those that love reading a good novel about southern women
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 30 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Dorothy Benton Frank is a wonderful Southern writer, on the level of Anne Rivers Siddons or Pat Conroy. Her novels of life in the South Carolina Low Country will have you craving sea air and sand, while her characters will feel like old friends. Each book leaves you craving the next one (although they are not continuing stories.)
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 15 more book reviews
The perfect beach read.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 5 more book reviews
A good read by a southern author on life in the low country of South Carolina, a town called Isle of Palms. It is a real place near Charleston, South Carolina. It is funny, witty and the central character is a little self-effacing but of course, "wins" in the end.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 30 more book reviews
Good, fun story.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 26 more book reviews
Not as good as Sullivan's Island, but still a nice story
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 2 more book reviews
Excellent book!
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 367 more book reviews
Anna Lutz Abbot thinks she has her independence, and therefore her happiness, intact. She is a capable woman, a sensible woman, not someone given to risky living.

This all seems to be true enough until her lovely daughter returns from college for the summer a very different person, her wild and wonderful ex-husband arrives, and her flamboyant new best friend takes up with her daddy, turning a hot summer into a steaming one--only to be cranked up another ten degrees by Anna's own fling with Arthur, who is, heaven help us, a Yankee. All the action unfolds under the watchful eyes of Miss Mavis and Miss Angel, her next-door neighbors of a certain age, who have plenty to say about Anna's past, present, and future.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on
Completely up to Dorothea Benton Franks usual standard.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 67 more book reviews
Another wonderful Dorothea Benton Frank novel. Sooo enjoyable.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 3 more book reviews
Love her writing...great read with come to life characters!
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 5 more book reviews
Another "feel good" tale by Dottie Frank! Of all her books, this has to be my favorite!
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 16 more book reviews
Anna Lutz Abbott considers herself independent and happy - until one steamy summer when her lovely daughter returns from college a very different person, her wild and wonderful ex-husband shows up on her doorstep, and her flamboyant new best friend takes up with her daddy. And the already hot temperatures are cranked up another ten degrees by Anna's own fling with Arthur, who is heaven help us, a Yankee.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on
Wonderful book! I stayed up until 3:00 am just in order to finish this book.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 165 more book reviews
Every time I read a book by Dorothea, I want to move to the Lowcountry!
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 39 more book reviews
Very good one.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 50 more book reviews
Very entertaining!
artist-barb avatar reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 8 more book reviews
This may be my favorite Low Country tale yet. But then I think that about each book. As always, Frank tells a delightful story with characters you'd love to meet. In the end I felt I had learned valuable lessons about life, love, and forgiveness. All without being preachy. I want annother book that continues with the lives of these very characters.
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 48 more book reviews
Anna Lutz Abbot considers herself independent and happy until one steamy summer when her lovely daughter returns from college a very different person, her wild and wonderful ex-husband shows up on her doorstep, and her flamboyant new best friend takes up with her daddy. And the already hot temperatures are cranked up another ten degrees by Annas's own fling with Arthur, who is heaven help us, a Uankee. Now Anna must face the fact that she isn't as in control of her life as she'd thought. And she must find a way to deal with all the truth, not just the comfortable truth. Because some secrets are jsut plain dangerous...
catnip38 avatar reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 156 more book reviews
Anna Lutz Abbot considers herself independent and happy - until one steamy summer when her lovely daughter returns from college a very different person, her wild and wonderful ex-husband shows up on her doorstep, and her flamboyant new best friend takes up with her daddy. The already hot temperatures are already cranked up another ten degrees with Anna's own fling with Arthur, who is, heaven help us, a Yankee. Now, Anna must face the fact that she isn't in control of her life as she'd thought and she must find a way to deal with all the truth, not just the comfortable truth. Because some secrets are just plain dangerous....
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 57 more book reviews
Anna Lutz Abbot considers herself independent and happy--until one steamy summer when her lovely daughter returns from college a very different person, her wild and wonderful ex-husband shows up on her doorstep, and her flamboyant new best friend takes up with her daddy. And the already hot temperatures are cranked up another ten degrees by Anna's own fling with Arthur, who is, heaven help us, a Yankee. Now, Anna must face the fact that she isn't as in control of her life as she'd thought. And she must find a way to deal with all the truth, not just the comfortable truth. Because some secrets are just plain dangerous...
cdayzee avatar reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 113 more book reviews
Oh, I loved this book! I'd recommend it!
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 42 more book reviews
Another good one :)
reviewed Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3) on + 13 more book reviews
didnt read.Book says light and gratifying as a sand dollar just washed up on the beach. Finding inter peace, learning to forgive, and cherishing friends who become family.