Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Search - Someplace to be Flying (Newford, Bk 5)

Someplace to be Flying (Newford, Bk 5)
Someplace to be Flying - Newford, Bk 5
Author: Charles de Lint
Native American legends meld with modern life in a riveting urban fantasy involving normal human beings and the city of Newford's oldest residents, the "animal people".   Meet Hank the brave gypsy cab driver who knows those slums all too well,  whose life collides in a brutal incident with that of Lily, a photojournalist ...  more »
Info icon
ISBN-13: 9780812551587
ISBN-10: 0812551583
Publication Date: 3/15/1999
Pages: 544
Rating:
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 32

4.2 stars, based on 32 ratings
Publisher: Tor Fantasy
Book Type: Paperback
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review
Read All 3 Book Reviews of "Someplace to be Flying Newford Bk 5"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

tarheelcoin avatar reviewed Someplace to be Flying (Newford, Bk 5) on + 84 more book reviews
This was a wonderful book with some humor, mystery, action, and sadness. I enjoyed it immensely. I'm becoming a big fan of Charles de Lint.
reviewed Someplace to be Flying (Newford, Bk 5) on + 179 more book reviews
"Hank just wanted away from here. He'd sampled some hallucinogens when he was a kid and the feeling he had now was a lot like coming down from an acid high. Everything slightly askew, illogical things that somehow made sense, everything too sharp and clear when you looked at it but fading fast in your peripheral vision, blurred, like it didn't really exist." Fans of Emma Bull and Terri Windling (as both an editor and an author) will enjoy de Lint. He can make you believe "as many as six impossible things before breakfast.
reviewed Someplace to be Flying (Newford, Bk 5) on + 23 more book reviews
"An enthralling blend of old European and Native American mythology, seamlessly worked into a modern setting and situation. De Lint's best so far."
-Kirkus Reviews

Book Wiki

Series
Newford  5 of 10
Original Publication Date (YYYY-MM-DD)

Genres:

Want fewer ads?