Search - Tempting Evil (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 3)

Tempting Evil (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 3)
Tempting Evil - Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 3
Author: Keri Arthur
In a world of sorcery and seduction, the nights bring out the beautiful, the damned, and the desired. Here, Riley Jenson is on her own -- half werewolf, half vampire, working for an organization created to police the supernatural races. Trusting her superiors and lovers barely more than she trusts her worst enemies, Riley plays by her own set of...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780553588477
ISBN-10: 0553588478
Publication Date: 2/27/2007
Pages: 371
Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 542

4.1 stars, based on 542 ratings
Publisher: Dell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
Other Versions: Hardcover
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Tempting Evil (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 134 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 3
I'm going to review the first four books of this series as a "set" since they contain a world story arc that carries through them and most readers will prefer to have all four on hand before starting the series. This is the third book in the Riley Jenson Guardian series, which are paranormal romances set in Melbourne, Australia. Arthur does an excellent job of balancing the paranormal and the romance elements of the story and, while the moon cycle sexual responses of the werewolves echo a bit of LKH's "ardeur", Arthur pulls it off much more smoothly. The paranormal elements are well thought out with a few nice twists to standard mythos. Characters are well drawn, though a bit unbelievably perfect at times. Each book does have a standalone plot with a satisfying conclusion, but as I mentioned, there is a "world arc" that carries through all four books.
reviewed Tempting Evil (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 10 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Book 3 in the series. Fans of Laurel K.Hamilton & Jim Butcher will love this series. I would suggest reading the other two before this one.
reviewed Tempting Evil (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 503 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
Frustrating. Okay I liked this series b/c Riley is a strong female character who enjoys guilt-free sex. But after three books - every book is the same. The characters don't develop. ***Spoilers in this review.***** Opening fight scene followed by sex scene followed by reaffirmation that she's into Quinn but he's a jackass, intrigue mixed with fighting and sex, some emotional "resolution" with Quinn then story leaves at a "cliff hanger" with the entire story arch not completely resolved. At the end of the first two books, Quinn was ready to work on their relationship. At the start of each following book, we learn that Quinn has again blown her off. So the "resolution" at the end of this book is sure to be just another way to leave us "satisfied" in the final chapter. But I'm not satisfied because we know now, by formula, how the next book will start.

There is a pretty hot love scene in the book, though, which may make the whole thing worth the read. I just keep wishing that Riley's love life would move forward. It reminds me a lot of the Anita Blake books. There is a lot of fighting, a lot of sex, but the characters remain largely untouched by any of it, emotionally. Of course I managed to read 19 LKH books before I felt as frustrated as I feel with this one.

One review mentioned that the first four books in this series are a "set" completing a story arc. I will probably read the fourth book just to have resolution. Maybe the next book will be better and tempt me to keep going.
Read All 36 Book Reviews of "Tempting Evil Riley Jenson Guardian Bk 3"

Please Log in to Rate these Book Reviews

reviewed Tempting Evil (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 11 more book reviews
Getting in and out of dangerous situations with Riley is truly addictive reading as well as following the sexy exploits of her and her many hot men. Really hard to put down!
reviewed Tempting Evil (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 3) on + 2 more book reviews
Love this series.
reviewed Tempting Evil (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 3) on
if u like supernatural series about vampires and stuff u will love this series, if u love series like anita blake vampire hunter and the sookie stackhouse seriess u will love this series also

Book Wiki

Common Title
Original Publication Date (YYYY-MM-DD)
People/Characters
Riley Jenson (Primary Character)
Rhoan Jenson (Major Character)
Quinn O'Conor (Major Character)
Kade (Minor Character)
Real Places

Genres: