Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Search - Up from Orchard Street

Up from Orchard Street
Up from Orchard Street
Author: Eleanor Widmer
In the tradition of Like Water for Chocolate and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, this exhilarating novel centered around a memorable immigrant family brings to vibrant life the soul and spirit of New York’s legendary Lower East Side. — Up from Orchard Street... — ...where three generations of Roths live together in a crowded t...  more »
ISBN-13: 9780553804003
ISBN-10: 0553804006
Publication Date: 7/26/2005
Pages: 400
Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4

3.9 stars, based on 4 ratings
Publisher: Bantam
Book Type: Hardcover
Members Wishing: 0
Reviews: Member | Amazon | Write a Review

Top Member Book Reviews

reviewed Up from Orchard Street on + 6 more book reviews
Helpful Score: 1
This book follows a family from the early 30's living in an old tenement building on the lower east side in New York city. You see the characters and experiences from the view of the young daughter who is very bright and perceptive for her age. The family is Jewish (although not practicing), but since the Bubbe (grandmother) is from Europe, there's lots of yiddish, but most of it is translated in the text of the book and if not, you get the general gist.

The book was enjoyable and truly gave the feel of what it was like living there. The Bubbe is a cook, so the descriptions of the food almost make you feel like you can actually smell the brisket cooking! It's a quick read, a good story, but I wouldn't say it's the best book I've ever read.... certainly good in between reading while waiting for the next book to read!
Read All 2 Book Reviews of "Up from Orchard Street"


Genres:

Want fewer ads?