Book List - Winter TBR

Club Book Lists  My Book Lists  Watched Lists  
Winter TBR
List created by Heather D. (icantswim) - on Dec 3, 2019
List Votes: 1 Books: 29 Contributors: 1 Watchers: 0 List Type: Closed
1

Heather D. (icantswim) -
The Testaments: A Novel by Margaret Atwood
In this brilliant sequel to The Handmaid's Tale, acclaimed author Margaret Atwood answers the question that has tantalized readers for decades: What happens to Offred? When the van door slammed on Offred's future at the end of The Handmaid's Tale, readers had no way of telling what lay ahead...  more


2

Heather D. (icantswim) -
The Dutch House by Ann Patchett
Danny Conroy grows up in the Dutch House, a lavish folly in small-town Pennsylvania taken on by his property developer father. Though his father is distant and his mother is absent, Danny has his beloved sister Maeve: Maeve, with her wall of black hair, her delicacy, her brilliance. Life is...  more


3

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Cross Her Heart by Sarah Pinborough
Lisa is living a lie and everyone is about to find out. Lisa lives for her daughter Ava, her job and her best friend Marilyn. But when a handsome client shows an interest in her, Lisa starts daydreaming about sharing her life with him, too. Maybe she’s ready now. Maybe she can trust...  more


4

Heather D. (icantswim) -
The Leavers: A Novel by Lisa Ko
?The Leavers is courageous, sensitive, and perfectly of this moment.? ?Barbara Kingsolver An emotionally harrowing debut novel that explores assimilation and loss, immigration and homeland, independence and connection.   One morning, Deming Guo?s mother, an undocumented Chinese immigrant...  more


5

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Behold the Dreamers: A Novel by Imbolo Mbue
For fans of Americanah and The Lowland comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, and sly wit, Imbolo Mbue has written a compulsively readable story about marriage, class, race, and the trapdoors in...  more


6

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Waiting by Ha Jin
"Waiting" is the story of Lin Kong, a man living in two worlds, struggling with the conflicting claims of two utterly different women as he moves through the political minefields of a society designed to regulate his every move and stifle the promptings of his innermost heart. For...  more


7

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
What if you could live again and again, until you got it right? On a cold and snowy night in 1910, Ursula Todd is born to an English banker and his wife. She dies before she can draw her first breath. On that same cold and snowy night, Ursula Todd is born, lets out a lusty wail, and embarks upon...  more


8

Heather D. (icantswim) -
The Clockmaker's Daughter: A Novel by Kate Morton
A rich, spellbinding new novel from the author of The Lake House--the story of a love affair and a mysterious murder that cast their shadows across generations, set in England from the 1860s until the present day. My real name, no one remembers. The truth about that summer, no one else knows. ...  more


9

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty
Nine people gather at a remote health resort. Some are here to lose weight, some are here to get a reboot on life, some are here for reasons they can’t even admit to themselves. Amidst all of the luxury and pampering, the mindfulness and meditation, they know these ten days might involve...  more


10

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Whiskey & Ribbons: A Novel by Leesa Cross-Smith
Set in contemporary Louisville, Leesa Cross-Smith?s mesmerizing first novel surrounding the death of a police officer is a requiem for marriage, friendship and family, from an author Roxane Gay has called ?a consummate storyteller.? Evi?a classically-trained ballerina?was nine months pregnant...  more


11

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
For fans of Neil Gaiman and Leigh Bardugo comes the New York Times bestseller about a mythic lost city and its dark past from National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor. The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around--and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared...  more


12

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien
Winner of the 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize and the Governor General's Literary Award for Fiction, shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, and longlisted for the 2017 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, this extraordinary novel tells the story of three musicians in China before, during...  more


13

Heather D. (icantswim) -
What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours by Helen Oyeyemi
An NPR Best Book of 2016 PEN Open Book Award Finalist A Washington Post Notable Fiction Pick A PBS NewsHour Best Book of 2016 A Slate Best Book of the Year One of Esquire Magazine?s Best Books of 2016 One of Oprah.com?s 10 Favorite Books of 2016 "Transcendent." ?The New York Times Book...  more


14

Heather D. (icantswim) -
A Gentleman in Moscow: A Novel by Amor Towles
From the New York Times bestselling author of Rules of Civility?a transporting novel about a man who is ordered to spend the rest of his life inside a luxury hotel   With his breakout debut novel, Rules of Civility, Amor Towles established himself as a master of absorbing, sophisticated...  more


15

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Vicious by V. E. Schwab
A masterful tale of ambition, jealousy, desire, and superpowers. Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death...  more


16

Heather D. (icantswim) -
The Girl From Blind River by Gale Massey
A gritty tale of how far we’ll go to protect the ones we love for fans of Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone and Emma Cline’s The Girls from Gale Massey, a talented new name in crime fiction. Everyone says the Elders family are nothing but cheats, thieves, and convicts --...  more


17

Heather D. (icantswim) -
A Woman Is No Man: A Novel by Etaf Rum
?Sometimes heroism is loud and dramatic. Other times, it is daring to listen to that quiet voice within and having the courage to follow it. In this story, we see inside the lives of three generations of Palestinian women living in America, struggling and suffering to hear that voice. Etaf Rum...  more


18

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff
Every story has two sides. Every relationship has two perspectives. And sometimes, it turns out, the key to a great marriage is not its truths but its secrets. At age twenty-two, Lotto and Mathilde are tall, glamorous, madly in love and destined for greatness. A decade later, their marriage...  more


19

Heather D. (icantswim) -
A Deadly Wandering: A Tale of Tragedy and Redemption in the Age of Attention by Matt ...
From Pulitzer Prize?winning journalist Matt Richtel, a brilliant, narrative-driven exploration of technology?s vast influence on the human mind and society, dramatically-told through the lens of a tragic ?texting-while-driving? car crash that claimed the lives of two rocket scientists in 2006.In...  more


20

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Charming Billy by Alice McDermott
In a small bar somewhere in the Bronx, a funeral party has gathered to honor Billy Lynch. Through the night, his friends and family will weave together the tale of a husband, lover, dreamer, and storyteller, but also that of a hopeless drunk whose immense charm was but a veil over a lifetime of...  more


21

Heather D. (icantswim) -
The Invisible Bridge by Julie Orringer
Paris, 1937. Andras Lévi, a Hungarian-Jewish architecture student, arrives from Budapest with a scholarship, a single suitcase, and a mysterious letter he has promised to deliver to C. Morgenstern on the rue de Sauvigne. As he falls into a complicated relationship with the letter's...  more


22

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Less: A Novel by Andrew Sean Greer
"I could not love LESS more."--Ron Charles, Washington Post "Andrew Sean Greer's Less is excellent company. It's no less than bedazzling, bewitching and be-wonderful."--Christopher Buckley, New York Times Book Review NATIONAL BESTSELLER! Who says you can't run away from your problems? You are...  more


23

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney
“In my reckless and undiscouraged youth,” Lillian Boxfish writes, “I worked in a walnut-paneled office thirteen floors above West Thirty-Fifth Street…” She took 1930s New York by storm, working her way up writing copy for R.H. Macy’s to become the highest...  more


24

Heather D. (icantswim) -
The Girl in the Photograph (aka Fiercombe Manor) by Kate Riordan
In the summer of 1933, Alice Eveleigh has arrived at Fiercombe Manor in disgrace. The beautiful house becomes her sanctuary, a place to hide her shame from society in the care of the housekeeper, Mrs Jelphs. But the manor also becomes a place of suspicion, one of secrecy. Something isn't...  more


25

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Swimming Lessons : and Other Stories from Firozsha Baag (Vintage International) by Ro...
Firozsha Baag is an apartment building in Bombay. Its ceilings need plastering and some of the toilets leak appallingly, but its residents are far from desperate, though sometimes contentious and unforgiving. In these witty, poignant stories, Mistry charts the intersecting lives of Firozsha...  more


26

Heather D. (icantswim) -
Ink and Bone: The Great Library by Rachel Caine
In an exhilarating new series, New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine rewrites history, creating a dangerous world where the Great Library of Alexandria has survived the test of time.?   Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing...  more


27

Heather D. (icantswim) -
A Darkness Absolute (Rockton, Bk 2) by Kelley Armstrong
When experienced homicide detective Casey Duncan first moved to the secret town of Rockton, she expected a safe haven for people like her, people running from their past misdeeds and past lives. She knew living in Rockton meant living off-the-grid completely: no cell phones, no Internet, no...  more


28

Heather D. (icantswim) -
The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides
"That rarest of beasts: the perfect thriller. This extraordinary novel set my blood fizzing?I quite literally couldn?t put it down. I told myself I'd just dip in; eleven hours later?it's now 5:47 a.m.?I've finished it, absolutely dazzled." ?A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of...  more


29

Heather D. (icantswim) -
The Memory Police: A Novel by Yoko Ogawa
A deft and dark Orwellian novel about the terrors of state surveillance, from the acclaimed author of The Housekeeper and the Professor. On an unnamed island off an unnamed coast, things are disappearing. First, animals and flowers. Then objects?ribbons, bells, photographs. Then, body parts....  more


List Comments

Type your comment about this list into the box below, then click the Save button(Must be logged in)
Note: There is a 255-character limit for each comment: