Melissa B. (mblisa) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 61 - Page:
6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 590
Review Date: 3/10/2008


I enjoy this series by Debbie Macomber. The storyline continues... a must read ( especially after reading the previous 5 of this series.)


Always the Baker, Never the Bride (Emma Rae Creations, Bk 1)
Always the Baker, Never the Bride (Emma Rae Creations, Bk 1)
Author: Sandra D. Bricker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 6/16/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is a wonderful romantic novel, featuring Emma Rae Travis ( who is a diabetic and wonderful Cake Artist )

Thru a series of events..she is offered a new job at "The Tanglewood Inn", and finds new friends, new adventures and lots more cake making in her future! =)

One of my favorite lines in the book is:
Jackson, you've got to steal away their pastry chef for "The Tanglewood," Madeline stated. "These are amazing".


Amazing Gracie
Amazing Gracie
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 3/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book that I have read by Sherryl Woods, and I really enjoyed it! Gracie is looking for a more relaxed way of life and finds it in a small town called Seagull Point, Virginia. She meets Kevin and their romance blooms. This is a story about families, devotion and enjoying life.


Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 515
Review Date: 10/6/2009


I enjoyed this book because of the interesting characters and nice storylines ( including the women making prayer shawls )..I dont want to give any spoilers..
Im a big fan of Debbie Macomber, and I was not disappointed in this book, I enjoyed the whole series!


Be My Valentine
Be My Valentine
Author: Sheila Rabe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/6/2007


I really enjoyed this book! This story was about a mothers love life, and her daughters love life. They help each other and give each other advice. The daughter ( Shelby ) meets someone else while she is dating her "current" boyfriend and realizes that the new guy ( David ) is her knight in shining armor.


Between Friends
Between Friends
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 5/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. Its written with the letters and postcards, and journal entries from 2 friends. I couldnt hardly put it down!


Blind-Date Bride (Love Inspired) (Larger Print)
Blind-Date Bride (Love Inspired) (Larger Print)
Author: Jillian Hart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/3/2010


I really enjoyed this story! Its not really what I thought it would be~ in a good way!
The main characters meet in a blind date situation..( they were not meant to meet each other ) I liked the way that they blend together..


Blossom Street Brides (Blossom Street, Bk 10) (Large Print)
Blossom Street Brides (Blossom Street, Bk 10) (Large Print)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/15/2014


I enjoyed this book! I'm a fan of the Blossom Street series, and I think this story is a great edition to the series. The story of Rooster and Lauren is really sweet. It shows that "opposites can attract" sometimes.


Blowing on Dandelions (Love Blossoms in Oregon, Bk 1)
Blowing on Dandelions (Love Blossoms in Oregon, Bk 1)
Author: Miralee Ferrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/9/2013


While Katherine is doing her best in raising her two girls in a Boardinghouse alone, she struggles with her relationship with her own Mother.
I liked how Katherine welcomed all of the Guests that came to her Boardinghouse, even when one woman was "difficult"...
When Micah ( a near by neighbor ) and his son need a place to stay, Katherine welcomes them to her Boardinghouse without regard to the extra work or expense involved with their stay. While she gets to know Micah, she begins to realize that her feelings might be more than "just friends".. With engaging characters and a fast moving storyline, this story was hard to put down!

I enjoyed the section in the back of the book called "Afterwords", which includes some notes from the Author on why she chose to write this book, some questions about the book, and also a "Sneak Peek" at the second book in this series called "Wishing on Buttercups".

Disclaimer - I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.


Bluegrass Blessings (Kentucky Corners, Bk 3) (Love Inspired, No 502)
Bluegrass Blessings (Kentucky Corners, Bk 3) (Love Inspired, No 502)
Author: Allie Pleiter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/28/2009


Im new to this author, I really enjoyed this book. The characters blend together, and the female lead is a strong character which I like. She has to head home to help her ailing mother, and struggles with her relationship with her Mother. I like the "true to life" storyline in this book.


Call Me Mrs. Miracle (Mrs. Miracle, Bk 2)
Call Me Mrs. Miracle (Mrs. Miracle, Bk 2)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 8/2/2012


Wonderful Christmas story!

Holly is taking care of her nephew Gabe, while his Dad is serving time overseas. She has never had children of her own, and she really enjoys spending time with Gabe.

Gabe discovers a toy robot in Finleys Department Store that he would love to have for Christmas, and Holly saves to make sure that his Christmas wish will be waiting for him on Christmas morning.
Meanwhile, Holly meets the Department stores owners Son,... Jake, and enjoys spending time with him.

Mrs. Miracle is a new employee in the Toy Department at Finleys Department Store, and she enjoys helping the children and their parents find just the right gifts.
Mrs. Miracle also enjoys helping out Holly and Jake in their relationship...


The Chocolate Bridal Bash (Chocoholic, Bk 6)
The Chocolate Bridal Bash (Chocoholic, Bk 6)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 1/27/2009


This was the first book that I read by this author.
I really enjoyed it. Its a light mystery, and if you like chocolate, you will enjoy
the mentions of different kinds of goodies from the shop in this book.


The Chocolate Cat Caper (Chocoholic, Bk 1)
The Chocolate Cat Caper (Chocoholic, Bk 1)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 11/15/2011


Great cozy!
I liked the way that the Chocolate store and mentions of different kinds of truffles, etc were intertwined within this mystery.
I thought the chocolate trivia notes were interesting also!

The ending had me guessing until the last few pages.
I will read more of this series.


The Christmas Quilt (Quilts of Love, Bk 11)
The Christmas Quilt (Quilts of Love, Bk 11)
Author: Vannetta Chapman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/30/2013


This is a wonderful book to read during the Holiday season! Its filled with warm characters and traditional values. Annie starts to make a crib quilt for her sister-in-law and wants to finish it before the babies arrive. Leah is expecting twins before Christmas and Annie is also pregnant.
Leah and her Husband Adam are going thru some difficult times in their relationship, and while Leah and Annie work on the quilt, it helps Leah understand her relationship with Adam better, while learning to put her trust in God for their relationship.

Leah and Annie look forward to their time working on the quilt together, as they tell stories while they are working and learn more about each other.

I love quilts, and really enjoyed the parts of the book describing the quilt and how it is put together, - the descriptions of the different fabrics and colors is really interesting.


Cooking Up Murder (Cooking Class, Bk 1)
Cooking Up Murder (Cooking Class, Bk 1)
Author: Miranda Bliss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 3/13/2010


I have really enjoyed this cozy mystery series!

Eve and Annie start a cooking class, and stumble onto a murder. The way they figure out who done it is written very well with cute comments along the way. ~ with a little bit of Romance thrown in.

If you like cute cozy mysteries, you gotta check this one out!


The Courtship of Carol Summars
The Courtship of Carol Summars
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/6/2016


I really enjoyed this book.
I liked the way that the main characters sons were involved with this story.
And, the way that Carol's history with her ex-husband is discussed is in a sensitive way.

This is one of my favorite Debbie Macomber books!


Dead Men Don't Get the Munchies (Cooking Class, Bk 3)
Dead Men Don't Get the Munchies (Cooking Class, Bk 3)
Author: Miranda Bliss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 4/21/2009


This is the first book that I have read by Miranda Bliss, I enjoyed it very much! 2 friends get caught up in a mystery..and one friend tries to "save" the other~ This book is mostly set in a restaurant where one of the characters, ( a sexy guy ) is the cook.
I plan to read the other books in this series.


Do or Diner (Comfort Food, Bk 1)
Do or Diner (Comfort Food, Bk 1)
Author: Christine Wenger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/19/2013


As Trixie is getting settled into her "new" home, that her Aunt gives her, she is also becoming acquainted with the "Silver Bullet Diner" that has been in her family for a long time.
Trixie has alot of recipes that were handed down thru the family, and she is anxious to try them out at the Diner. But, she also needs to help solve the murder, and to help clear her name off of the murder suspect list!

Great book in this new series!


Dreaming on Daisies (Love Blossoms in Oregon, Bk 3)
Dreaming on Daisies (Love Blossoms in Oregon, Bk 3)
Author: Miralee Ferrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/15/2014


I really enjoyed getting to know Leah and Steven in this book. Leah is a strong woman, and I admire her qualities. She is not afraid of hard work, or to let her feelings known. She is always ready to help others in the community.
As Leah gets to know Steven, she realizes that he is a fair and honest man. He wants to help her, and for that she is grateful.
She wants her Father's ranch to be a success, and helps her Father in every way that she can, so they can achieve their Goals.

With wonderful characters and a very touching story line, this book was hard to put down! Historical romance is one of my favorite genres, I really recommend this series to all Historical romance readers!


Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island, Bk 3)
Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1111
Review Date: 8/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I read all 3 books in this series..I really enjoyed all 3 of them.
I couldnt put them down..very interesting way that the stories were written!


1 to 20 of 61 - Page: