Robin W. (Dalmador95) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
Annie on My Mind
Annie on My Mind
Author: Nancy Garden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 4/24/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of those rare books that I won't give up. It was extraordinarily meaningful to me at an important time in my life. If you're an adult (or a savvy teen) you'll know where the story is going before it gets there, but it doesn't matter. You'll still be drawn in. Just like real life.


Aquamarine
Aquamarine
Author: Carol Anshaw
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/3/2009


This is one of my favorite books. Everyone has some experience in life that you think life would have been entirely different if only . . . .


The Bone Doll's Twin (Tamir Trilogy, Book 1)
The Bone Doll's Twin (Tamir Trilogy, Book 1)
Author: Lynn Flewelling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 2/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of my favorite books in this genre. It adds a couple of new spins to the hidden prince plot and the relationship with brother is compelling even as it is complicating.


The Cardinal Rule (Strongbox Chronicles, Bk 1) (Silhouette Bombshell, No 71)
Review Date: 6/27/2010


The author also writes the Walker Paper series under the name C.E. Murphy. Really different in style, but fun.


Fast Women
Fast Women
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 2/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't expect a lot out of this book, but it was a good read. Funny and the characters acted like real people. You know where the plot is going, but I enjoyed the ride.


A Fistful of Sky (LaZelle, Bk 1)
A Fistful of Sky (LaZelle, Bk 1)
Author: Nina Kiriki Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 2/16/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This is a literally magical book. It was one of the best recreations of what it is like to different as a teenager and then as Gypsum comes in to her powers and her adulthood those crucial lessons of responsbility will take you back to the point where you started to realize that you are responsible for who you will be. Loved it.


Gods in Alabama
Gods in Alabama
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't expect much from this book, but it's very good. The games Burr and Lena play are funny and revealing and I really didn't guess the twist. It's a sweet story about the secrets people keep and how much more we really are loved then we understand.


Grim Tuesday (Keys to the Kingdom, Bk 2)
Grim Tuesday (Keys to the Kingdom, Bk 2)
Author: Garth Nix
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 2/16/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This is a great series for kids, imaginative, interesting, with room to grow. I'm an adult who likes YA and I am enjoying this series a lot. Arthur is a real kid, smart, caring and determined.


Heads You Lose
Heads You Lose
Author: Lisa Lutz, David Hayward
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/28/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I love Lisa Lutz and the Spellman Files. Love. I'd read a couple of not-good reviews of this collaboration, but it worked for me. I thought the running joke of the uneasy collaboration was funny and the mystery itself engaging. I'd love to see the same book with the other chapters written by any of the authors Lisa names throughout the book. The plot construction is a pleasure to watch, especially as they do tie things up in the end.


Mama Day
Mama Day
Author: Gloria Naylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 10/1/2008


This is a really fantastic book. It will make you believe in magic. It is contemporary magic realism, in that the world of the book is absolutely the real world and yet, you believe the magic. It's a love story/folk tale that reminds us why we tell folk tales and that fairy tales in their original form are mostly tragic. And yet, you are uplifted.


On the Prowl: Alpha and Omega / Inhuman / Buying Trouble / Mona Lisa Betwining
Review Date: 3/15/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I didn't mind that the Briggs and Wilks stories were teasers for upcoming novels (I'd read the reviews and knew this was the case). In fact, I've put the novels they are teasers for on my reminder list. And I would read something by Karen Chance if it dealt with the Fey and dragon character introduced here. I didn't like the Sunny story, too stiff (if that's not too much a pun) for me.


Poison Study (Study / Chronicles of Ixia, Bk 1)
Poison Study (Study / Chronicles of Ixia, Bk 1)
Author: Maria V. Snyder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 3/6/2008


This is a lot of fun. It has an interesting premise and couple of good twists. You see the romance coming, but that's okay.


Schism (Triad, Bk 1) (Skolian Empire, Bk 10)
Schism (Triad, Bk 1) (Skolian Empire, Bk 10)
Author: Catherine Asaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book, but be warned it is really half of a longer story. The book ends with only minor resolution of what's been going on. That being said, I liked the characters, the interactions between Soz and her brothers is often very real. The author crams in a lot of back story without slowing the book down.


Shy Girl
Shy Girl
Author: Elizabeth Stark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/16/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this novel of the powerful effect some people in our lives have on us and the fact that that power is not diminshed by seeing all of who they are with their flaws and faults. Some people are not meant to be our lovers, but they touch us in ways that go beyond the logical.


A Sorcerer's Treason (Isavalta, Bk 1)
A Sorcerer's Treason (Isavalta, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah Zettel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/13/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The magical system in this book made sense and was plausible. She uses known folklore in a unique and engaging way. There are no true villians in the book, you come to understand why they act as they do, but the main character is strongly sympthatic. I really enjoyed this book.


The Spellman Files (Izzy Spellman Bk 1)
The Spellman Files (Izzy Spellman Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Lutz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 5/8/2010


I love this book and the whole series. The books are laugh out loud funny, Izzy is smart and flawed and can't get out of her own way. These are fun capers that are also about someone who has found something that she's good at that may not be good for her. Just plain fun.


Spilling Clarence
Spilling Clarence
Author: Anne Ursu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of my all time favorite books. It has a funny, touching, haunting story about memory, the stories we tell ourselves and what it means to love.


A Stir of Bones
A Stir of Bones
Author: Nina Kiriki Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/1/2008


I've loved everything I've read by this author. Fistful of Sky is one of my favorite books for the conviction of its magic. This one, though less complicated emotionally, is compelling.


Summer of Rescue
Summer of Rescue
Author: Barbara Nelson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/7/2007


Clare Nichols, a 40-year-old wife and mother spends a summer contemplating an affair with a younger man while dealing with her 15-year-old daughter's sexuality and coming to terms with the years ago death of her son.

It has some strong and evocative writing.


A Thousand Acres
A Thousand Acres
Author: Jane Smiley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 4/23/2008


This is a fantastic book. If you are familiar with King Lear it adds an extra layer of resonance, but the book doesn't depend on those shared plot elements. I really felt for the characters and was surprised and moved by their actions.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: