Suzanne H. (SuzanneAtty) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
101 Cataclysms : For the Love of Cats
101 Cataclysms : For the Love of Cats
Author: Rachael Hale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/3/2011


I love the pictures. The book is large and the pictures completely fill the page. The brief line with each picture merely states the cats' names and breeds. Great book!


50 Uses for Your Cat
50 Uses for Your Cat
Author: Jay Grose, Paul Seaburn, Francesca Peppiatt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/27/2011


Cute, silly, loveable kitty photos with captions. Good for those moments when you're feeling a little low and would like to smile.


Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 5/23/2017


I did not like this book. It's a platform for characters, who are self-involved to the point of self over anyone else. The ending illuminates the ultimate self-involvement and came as a relief, because it meant the book was over.


The Battle of the Villa Fiorita
The Battle of the Villa Fiorita
Author: Rumer Godden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/20/2019


Lovely book written about times past. Married woman meets the love of her life and leaves her husband. Her two children run away to find her and bring her home.


The Beauty of Addis Ababa
The Beauty of Addis Ababa
Author: Graham Hancock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/17/2012


This book is targeted at tourism and the photos are gorgeous with absolutely no hint of the dirt and poverty that lurks just out of view of the camera lens. Even knowing that, I thoroughly enjoyed all the photos of places I've been and of the Hilton Hotel, where we stay.


The Bermuda Cookbook
The Bermuda Cookbook
Author: Cecile C Snaith-Simmons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/30/2017


I was born in Bermuda and wanted several traditional recipes. This book gave me everything I wanted and more.


A Bittersweet Season: Caring for Our Aging Parents--and Ourselves
A Bittersweet Season: Caring for Our Aging Parents--and Ourselves
Author: Jane Gross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/19/2012


Wow! This book was absolutely on point. It was great to hear another person muddling along with me. She helped clarify distinctions between assisted living, nursing home, etc. For everyone with an aging parent.


Can You Find It? : Search and Discover More Than 150 Details in 19 Works of Art
Review Date: 2/14/2018


so fun to look at works of art so closely to find details often overlooked


Changing Bodies, Changing Lives : A Book for Teens on Sex  Relationships
Review Date: 10/31/2013


I gave this book to my fourteen year old and she reads it! That in itself has got to be a ringing endorsement.


Charlie St. Cloud
Charlie St. Cloud
Author: Ben Sherwood
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 10/31/2013


Piece of fluff book and nicely done. Nothing taxing on the mind.


Cleopatra: A Biography
Cleopatra: A Biography
Author: Stacy Schiff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 5/1/2017


This book is so stuffed with historical fact, I slowed down to read and digest so many facts. My information from Cleopatra came from movies starring Elizabeth Taylor. Who knew Cleopatra wasn't even a beauty??! Incredible book. Well worth the read.


Cutting for Stone
Cutting for Stone
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 498
Review Date: 6/29/2012


Having been to both Addis Abbaba, Ethiopia and Cook County, Illinois, I really enjoyed references to each! What a great story! Layers upon layers. - Suzanne


A Darkness More Than Night (Harry Bosch, Bk 7)
A Darkness More Than Night (Harry Bosch, Bk 7)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 10/31/2013


Can Michael Connelly even write a bad book. I love Harry Bosch.


A Fatal Grace (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 2)
A Fatal Grace (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 2)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 9/11/2019


I love the Chief Inspector Gamache series. Each book brings more growth in character development


The Food Bible
The Food Bible
Author: Judith Wills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/31/2013


I love the simplicity. It's easily understandable and I can actually follow and use it.


The Genesis Code
The Genesis Code
Author: John Case
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/27/2012


Good thriller. I especially enjoyed the martyr/Christ references.


The Girls of August
The Girls of August
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/31/2016


This is definitely a good girlfriend, beach book.


Heavenly Humor for the Dog Lover's Soul
Heavenly Humor for the Dog Lover's Soul
Author: Barbour Publishing Inc.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/27/2016


Little vignettes of doggie foibles that show how silly humans are under God's grace.


The Historian
The Historian
Author: Elizabeth Kostova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 10/31/2013


Hated this book. Kept waiting for nothing to happen and the search never ended. Didn't buy the underlying concept.


How to Be Good
How to Be Good
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 8/17/2015


This book had a lot of funny moments, but wasn't my favorite Nick Hornby selection.


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: