Kathryn F. (KathrynAF) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 484
Review Date: 10/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Great story! I couldn't put it down.


Between a Heart and a Rock Place: A Memoir
Between a Heart and a Rock Place: A Memoir
Author: Pat Benatar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/12/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Coming from Lindenhurst and going to the same high school, actually Pat is a year younger then me, I found this book right on the money with our childhoods and growing up in that time. For me, it brought back many wonderful memories. Her life and struggle to get to where she is today is truly inspiring especially knowing some of the obstacles that women faced. You've come a long way baby and I truly admire her for all she's accomplished. A great, down to earth read that tells you like it is.


Embraced By Darkness (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 5)
Embraced By Darkness (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 5)
Author: Keri Arthur
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 462
Review Date: 9/20/2009


By far the best one so yet, but I have 2 more to go. Riley is maturing nicely and this was a great read.


Flowercraft
Flowercraft
Author: Jenny Raworth, S. Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a craft book that shows you how to put together all different kinds of flower arrangements; from wreaths, bowls, baskets, wall decorations, pillow, frames, plaques and many more. It shows you with fresh, dried, pressed or waxed flowers. Flower Craft is packed with original ideas for making the most of flowers from your garden or the florist. It has full-color photos and detailed instructions. A great book.


Indulgence in Death (In Death, Bk 31)
Indulgence in Death (In Death, Bk 31)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 6/8/2011


Loved it. This installment of Lt Eve Dallas is worth the read.


Just One Look (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Just One Look (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Carolyn McCormick (Narrator), Harlan Coben
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/19/2014


Kept me on the edge of my seat with all the twists and turns in this book. Since I listen to it in the car, I found myself driving slow and taking the long way home to get it finished. If you like a good mystery, this is it.


Leap of Faith : Memoirs of an Unexpected Life
Leap of Faith : Memoirs of an Unexpected Life
Author: Queen Noor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 10/26/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I found the book very interesting. The Queen's life has been remarkable. I was particularly pleased with the depth provided, into the life of King Hussein - as a person, a world leader, and often frustrated peace initiator. This book would be a great read for anyone with the open mind to begin exploring the middle east as explained by middle easterners. It is an eye opener.


Live from New York: An Uncensored History of Saturday Night Live
Review Date: 10/26/2008
Helpful Score: 2


If you want to know the ins and outs of Saturday Night Live, this is the book to read. It is a real eye opener.


A Long Way from Home : Growing Up in the American Heartland
A Long Way from Home : Growing Up in the American Heartland
Author: Tom Brokaw, Tom Brokaw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/26/2008


It is a book of memories and reflections of Tom Brokaw growing up in America's heartland. A very interesting and fast read.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2003
Review Date: 10/26/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I know that critics are singing praise for this book that it is destined to become a classic but I found it disturbing (as to the topic of rape and murder)and very interesting (with the way the story was written) at the same time. It is a fast read and the book stays with you a long time. This book is not at all what I expected.


New York to Dallas (In Death, Bk 33)
New York to Dallas (In Death, Bk 33)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 4/22/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Great new story to add to the series. Keeps you on the edge of your seat.


Promises in Death (In Death, Bk 28)
Promises in Death (In Death, Bk 28)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 10/26/2009


One of the best stories I read of the series. Love the way Dallas has grown and the twist of the story. A great read.


Running Blind (Jack Reacher, Bk 4) (aka The Visitor)
Running Blind (Jack Reacher, Bk 4) (aka The Visitor)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 4/26/2012


Keeps you on the edge of your seat with all the twists and turns.


Star Island (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Star Island (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Carl Hiaasen, Stephen Hoye (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/29/2016


Loved this book. Hooked me from the beginning. Great sense of humor and wonderful story teller.


Tourist Season (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Tourist Season (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Carl Hiaasen, George Wilson (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/28/2015


Enjoyed the book very much. I especially liked the history of Florida. Didn't want to put it down.


Tripwire (Jack Reacher, Bk 3)
Tripwire (Jack Reacher, Bk 3)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 4/10/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Great story! Kept me on the edge of my seat all the way through. Lee Child definitely knows how to hold his audience captive.


White Sister (Shane Scully, Bk 6) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 7/14/2015


While I have always thought that Stephen Cannell's "Shane Scully" novels were easily beyond plausibility, I have always enjoyed them just the same. White Sister, however, was a chore to get through. First off, let me say that I don't mind if a novel is a "little" unrealistic. I don't care if the hero has a gun that never runs out of bullets or the killer doesn't die no matter how many times he is shot, stabbed, and bludgeoned. What really irks me is when characters in a novel behave in ways that don't make any sense and this book clearly has tons of it.


World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
Author: Max Brooks
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/16/2014


This is my first time listening to a book. I LOVED IT!!! I listened to it in the car and actually looked forward to driving to and from work. I specifically liked the change in orator for each section of the book. Kept it very interesting. Have ordered more audio books.


1 to 18 of 18