Michelle S. (saphyreskyes) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
An Adult Child's Guide to What's Normal
An Adult Child's Guide to What's Normal
Author: John C. Friel Ph.D., Linda D. Friel M.A.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/26/2011


The text is a bit dry, but that is to be expected from a book of this nature. The information seems current and is easy to understand.


Answer Me
Answer Me
Author: Susanna Tamaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/19/2009


It takes more concetration than most, not sure why...maybe it has to do with the way it has been translated. But it interesting and I did finish it. Of course, I am not keen on the "typical" anyway, so this was up my alley.


Bad Girl Creek : A Novel
Bad Girl Creek : A Novel
Author: Jo-Ann Mapson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/11/2011


From Publishers Weekly
The bestselling author of such hits as Hank & Chloe and Blue Rodeo launches a trilogy with this sentimental novel of communal life and reinvented family, centering on four women who come together, tending to each other and healing old wounds. Phoebe DeThomas has lived carefully all her life. Thirty-eight years old and in a wheelchair because of a bad heart, she's always felt dwarfed by her flamboyant aunt Sadie and her successful brother James. Now Sadie has died, bequeathing her a flower farm on California's Central Coast. In order to make a go of it, Phoebe takes in three women as boarder/farmhands. Each of the three is "homeless," having recently undergone traumatic life changes: Ness, a black cowgirl with a horse and a secret fear that she has AIDS, has lost her job; Nance, a down-on-her-luck Southern belle, has broken up with her boyfriend; and Beryl, a former kindergarten aide with a prison record, has been evicted from her apartment. All have families that are less than perfect and, living under the same roof, they soon become like blood relatives as they share their secrets and learn to trust again. Mapson combines poignancy with the good-natured banter of girlfriends in her tale of women in transition, waiting to be reborn. Short on conflict but long on comfort and characterization, this is neither the author's best nor her deepest work. Still, there are enough of the quiet charms that fans have come to expect for them to tune into the second installment when it is released.


Boy Proof
Boy Proof
Author: Cecil Castellucci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/1/2010


A "coming of age" story unlike any other. Some insight into the "strange" kids in school...or maybe (like me), into one's self!


Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul
Captivating : Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman's Soul
Author: John Eldredge, Stasi Eldredge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 1/31/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This book reaches into every woman's heart and speaks to the little girl that lives there. A glimpse of how God might really look at his daughters, it sheds a new light on a woman's personal relationship with her Creator. It changed my life from the inside.


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1952
Review Date: 10/22/2008


The abuse couldnt be much more horrifying, or the outcome much more heroic. Yeah for Dave! This is such an encouraging book. If he can overcome this...


Cracks in My Foundation: Bags, Trips, Make-up Tips, Charity, Glory, and the Darker Side of the Story
Review Date: 10/22/2008


One of the only authors who can make me laugh out loud. This is not her best work, but still great.


The Dance of Anger: A Woman's Guide to Changing the Patterns of Intimate Relationships
Review Date: 5/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book should be required reading for every high school American! It is informative and insightful. The study digs deep into the underbelly of anger and gives practical suggestions on how to properly express oneself in order to avoid resorting to an outburst. It teaches where one's own responsibility lies in communication and interaction with those around us, and clearly outlines the boundaries we can set for ourselves. Very helpful and easy to understand.


Dancing In The Dark
Dancing In The Dark
Author: Maureen Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Millie has a busy life and a career, so she is not too happy when her mother volunteers her to clean out her spinster aunt's apartment. But this turns out to be an adventure and a lesson in family history. A very interesting and unusual story line and an amusing and riveting journey into the past.


Five-Finger Discount : A Crooked Family History
Five-Finger Discount : A Crooked Family History
Author: Helene Stapinski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Not as much a story of a family as it is a story of Jersey City. Lots of political history and kind of a dry in spots. Not what I was expecting, but still interesting and enjoyable.


Gal: A True Life
Gal: A True Life
Author: Ruthie Mae Bolton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/19/2009


Why hasnt Oprah made this into a movie yet??? I will be first in line at the theatre! You go Gal!!


Games People Play
Games People Play
Author: Eric Berne MD
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/30/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Basic truths about psychological lies we tell ourselves and others. We all do it. The key is to become aware that we do it and to make a point to endeavor to catch ourselves at it and hold our selves accountable for making the best choices we can possibly make.
As you read this book, there will likely not be any great revelations; it may even seem obvious on some levels and very simplistic...but it may have you squirming in discomfort as you recognize yourself. Well, that is what happened to me- whether you are the game player or the one that gets sucked into the game...this book will help you learn how to stop the madness.


Gap Creek: The Story Of A Marriage
Gap Creek: The Story Of A Marriage
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 432
Review Date: 10/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Is there a sequel yet??? I lOVED this story and wanted to know more more more about the characters and their neighbors.


The Giant's House
The Giant's House
Author: Elizabeth McCracken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 1/30/2013
Helpful Score: 2


This book seemed promising, with an interesting story line and a very unique set of characters. However, while I do prefer a more eloquent, descriptive narrative, this book's particular style just left me always searching...almost like waiting for a punch line that never comes. There did not seem to be, for me, an ebb and flow that makes reading so enjoyable. Nothing hidden, waiting to be discovered...nothing unsaid, hanging in the air like electric current...no cat in any bag, threatening to be let out at any moment.


A Girl, in Parts: A Novel
A Girl, in Parts: A Novel
Author: Jasmine Paul
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Such a wonderful read that I forced myself to put it down, so that I could make it last. I didnt want it to end.


Good Grief
Good Grief
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 10/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Another story of an overcomer, this one having lost her husband at a young age and, with him, all of her hopes and dreams. How does one go on with life after such tragedy? Can one dare to try for triumph? Or is mediocrity the highest possible goal?
This book will have you laughing through your tears.


Grow in Grace
Grow in Grace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/10/2014


Deep and complex ideas in simple terms. Applicable and relevant. Ancient truths in timeless language.


Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Halley's Bible Handbook with the New International Version
Author: Henry H. Halley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/23/2015


This is a great source for Bible Study and one I plan to keep and use for years ahead. It is informative and yet still encourages one to think and experience the Bible for one's self.


Home Safe
Home Safe
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 10/19/2009


Wow. Such a touching story in so many ways. Elizabeth Berg carries so many stories inside her- I am starting to wonder about the truth of past lives! This was such a great read...one of those rare books that I didn't want to put down, but forced myself to do so in order to prolong the pleasure. I will carry this one with me for a long time and wonder often about the all the lovely characters that I met there and how they are doing now. beautiful. PS... Of course I do not know the author, but I feel that there may be a lot of her in this book. Somehow, that makes me love the story all the more.


How to Get Along with Difficult People
How to Get Along with Difficult People
Author: Florence Littauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/10/2014


I easily recognized each "difficult person". But here is something that I realized within a paragraph...I am someone's "difficult person". We are all someone's "difficult person"!
This book helped me deal with others but surprised me with new insights into myself from a unique perspective. It doesn't get much better than that!


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: