Kinyorda S. - Reviews

41 to 60 of 66 - Page:
The Loved Dog: The Playful, Nonaggressive Way to Teach Your Dog Good Behavior
Review Date: 5/24/2012


Bought the book after seeing the author on Oprah. Nothing earth shattering in the book. A couple good tips but mainly common sense dog training recycled.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1405
Review Date: 4/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


There were a lot of moments to love in this book if you are a dog lover but there are almost as many moments when you want to yell at the author for being a bad dog owner. Many of Marley's quirky traits are due the ignorance of the owner. Yes, you will cry but your life will not be changed.


The Marriage Plot
The Marriage Plot
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 10/28/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I was hoping that this book was going to be epic based on all the awards the author has won but it was a big disappointment. The author writes women like a man who has never met one. Some male authors just can't get a woman's voice correct and they shouldn't try. A long rambling read that leads you through the mind of weak, unsatisfied characters and the bad choices that they make


Miracle's Boys
Miracle's Boys
Author: Jacqueline Woodson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/11/2013


A very good book that will appeal to all readers, not just young adults. It is nice to have a book without a tragic ending but it left me hoping for an even sunnier finale after all the tragedy that the characters had been through. Why not go live with the aunt so the oldest brother can go to college and gain the ability to really help his family in the long run? This would also move the boys out of the city where there is nothing but bad memories, violence and the temptation to stray from the straight and narrow. An ambitious story that deserved a more ambitious ending. I know I wasn't the only one holding my breath when they ran into the gang at the basketball court and Woodson kept referencing the gleaming white tennis shoes on the rich boys feet.


My Name Is Red
My Name Is Red
Author: Orhan Pamuk, Erdag M. Goknar (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 6/9/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I couldn't finish this book. It is umbelievable tedious and takes a ridiculous amount of time to get to the story. The style of writing leaves the reader confused and frustrated. Perhaps it ends up being a Pulizter Prize winner but it most certainly does not start that way.


Natural dog training: The canine arts kennel program : teach your dog using his natural instincts
Review Date: 1/7/2012


There is a lot of interesting evolution of dog to wolf information in this book but not a lot of good training tips. It is disappointing that a book that claims to support natural training encourages using shock, prong and choke collars. Disappointing that such a highly touted technique and trainer aren't as good as advertised.


The Never List
The Never List
Author: Koethi Zan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 11/12/2013


A nice quick read. Enough suspense to keep the reader interested until the end. You might suspect one or two of the twists but not all of them. I appreciate the covering of an awful topic without going into too much graphic detail. Too many novels try to gross you out rather than develop the characters. This would make a great movie. Definitely a stay up all night, nail-biter.


New York: The Novel
New York: The Novel
Author: Edward Rutherfurd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/20/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This books starts excellently. A perfect blend of historical facts and fictional characters. As the generations pass, it is more difficult to keep track of who everyone is and from who they came. A family tree updated at the beginning/end of each era would be helpful. If you are going to read this book, I recommend you keeping your own family tree tracking to keep up with what's going on. The book should have stopped in the 60's. After that, not as much depth and less of a historical feel than a sitcom. Plus no resolution for Master's Native American descendants and their connection to his white family. Hi hopes but disappointing in the end.


No Need for Speed : A Beginner's Guide to the Joy of Running
No Need for Speed : A Beginner's Guide to the Joy of Running
Author: John Bingham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 5/23/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great book if you are a new runner. Even if you are a seasoned runner there are great reminders on how to be a physically and mentally healthy runner. Great inspiration for those of us who have been runners for years but who have often felt like "less than" because of our pace.


The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals
The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals
Author: Michael Pollan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 343
Review Date: 4/14/2011
Helpful Score: 2


There is a lot of great information but the author comes off as cocky and sometimes takes way too long to make his point.


The Perfect Fit: Fat-Free Dreams Just Don't Taste the Same
The Perfect Fit: Fat-Free Dreams Just Don't Taste the Same
Author: Louise Kean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/2/2013


It's nice to read some chick lit every once in a while but this one does not deliver. Sketchy plot. No follow through on the "fat girls gets the guy" happy ending. Just a really vague wrap up with a lot of rambling chapters. If you've every struggled with weight, the early chapters are good reminders of why you should value yourself and not let your "friends" make you feel bad about putting yourself first for a change. Other than that, a waste of a week of my life.


The Pursuit of Happyness
The Pursuit of Happyness
Author: Chris Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 4/9/2011


Great book. Glad I didn't read the book before I saw the movie. Much grittier and deeper than the movie but just as enjoyable. It's amazing what this author had to overcome to get to where he is today.


Running for Mortals: A Commonsense Plan For Changing Your Life Through Running
Review Date: 1/27/2014


This is an excellent book. Primarily focused on new runners but there are a lot of great tips in here for seasoned runners who are looking for a little motivation. I always see average runners out a races but sometimes it is nice to be reminded that there are a lot of us who are just out there for our health and the fun of racing without any unnecessary pressure to win or place or run at a certain pace.


Slammerkin
Slammerkin
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 10/14/2011


I didn't know this was historical fiction until the end. I think if I knew that the ending was inevitable I might have looked at the main character's actions differently. Still, it is difficult to enjoy a book with so much suffering with no real purpose realized.


Slow Fat Triathlete: Live Your Athletic Dreams in the Body You Have Now
Review Date: 11/27/2013


A great book with lots of inspiration and training tips. Not just for triathletes. Lots of great facts for anyone who participates in one of the three sports or all three. Confirmation that the size of your jeans isn't what makes you an athlete, it's the dedication and time that you put to the sport.


Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2121
Review Date: 5/4/2013


In true Lisa See fashion, there is a lot of tragedy and suffering in this book. But, as always, See opens our eyes to the struggles of Chinese and Chinese Americans in this country and in China. Very interesting topic though it did drag at some points. I imagine the imagery in the movie version of this book is amazing.


Talk Talk
Talk Talk
Author: T.C. Boyle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/1/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I like the premise of a deaf person being the main character but she is highly unlikeable and the story line is ridiculous. Playing amateur detective without contacting the police and then after all that not even following through in the end. It's dissapointing.


Thereby Hangs a Tail (Chet and Bernie, Bk 2)
Thereby Hangs a Tail (Chet and Bernie, Bk 2)
Author: Spencer Quinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 3/1/2013


Not as good as the first book but still a fast, fun read. Quinn definitely has a formula that he follows but it doesn't make the books any less addictive. Hoping the next one isn't so obvious and that Chet doesn't have to go through a bad experience every time.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5278
Review Date: 4/9/2011


Unnecessary suffering. Horrible ending. some creepiness with the relationship initially when she's 12 and he's 35. Had to force myself to finish it. Very overrated.


The Tortilla Curtain
The Tortilla Curtain
Author: T. C. Boyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 2/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Boyle seems more focused on using an advanced vocabulary than on building interest in a story. Much like previous Boyle books that I have read, it takes close to half the book for you to become interested in the characters. Once he has your interest he take the story lines so over the top that it's not enjoyable to read. The end of the book is relief, only because it's over, not because of the outcome. Dreary, bleak and miserable.


41 to 60 of 66 - Page: