Facebook

Beth L. (berlioz3) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Almost Perfect  (Perfect, Bk 1)
Almost Perfect (Perfect, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Ortolon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 2/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


1st in the "Perfect" Trilogy. A cute book, LOL funny in spots. However, I did think she worked too hard for the last round of "romantic conflict" and I found that rather annoying.


Brothers
Brothers
Author: William Goldman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/24/2006


Sequel to Marathon Man.


Carolina Isle (Edenton, Bk 2)
Carolina Isle (Edenton, Bk 2)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 3/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This really is a nice read, although not one of Jude Deveraux's best. The ending seems hurried and a little weird. I am still glad I read it, though, because I thought other parts of it were great.


The Cat Who Moved a Mountain (Cat Who...Bk 13)
The Cat Who Moved a Mountain (Cat Who...Bk 13)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 3/14/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Like all the Cat Who books, this one adds a little to the background of the characters. It wasn't my favorite of the storylines, but it's still a nice read.


Dark Warrior Untamed (Talions, Bk 3)
Dark Warrior Untamed (Talions, Bk 3)
Author: Alexis Morgan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 11/23/2010


I love Alexis Morgan. I read all of the books available in the Paladin series first, then moved on to this series, Talions. This was my favorite in this series so far. I completely enjoyed Grey and Piper's story, A.M. always draws me in and makes me care about her characters. I was reluctant to try this author at first as I don't usually like anything that even hints of paranormal, but she's now one of my favorite authors!


Homeward Winds the River
Homeward Winds the River
Author: Barbara Ferry Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Book 2 in the Delta Blood series. Wonderful books, I have read them several times.


The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles 30th Anniversary Edition (Julie Andrews Collection)
Review Date: 3/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book! I stumbled on it at the used bookstore and thought it seemed fun. I love it and all my kids have either read it, or had it read to them.


The Pemberley Chronicles (Pemberley Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Pemberley Chronicles (Pemberley Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Rebecca Ann Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 10/25/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I also had a really hard time with this book. I did finish it, but it was a challenge. At first it's interesting to see where charachters, old and new, are headed. But it really doesn't take long to realize that you don't care anymore because it's just *dull* going. I normally love Austen continuations, but this one was a major disappointment.


Pemberley: Or Pride and Prejudice Continued
Pemberley: Or Pride and Prejudice Continued
Author: Emma Tennant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I normally love this type of book, as I'm a huge fan of P & P, but this one was a real disappointment. The alteration of some characters was too much to make it seem like a "continuation", and I found the whole storyline to be weak.


A Rose in Winter
A Rose in Winter
Author: Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/23/2006
Helpful Score: 2


My absolute favorite romance novel ever. It's in my permanant collection and I re-read it every year or two.


The Royal Mess (Alaskan Royals, Bk 3)
The Royal Mess (Alaskan Royals, Bk 3)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 1/30/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I really enjoyed the first book in this trilogy but not the 2nd, so I it took me a long time to pick this one up. I'm so sorry I waited! It's true there isn't much depth, but it's a fun, quick read and a nice ending to the series.


Seducing Mr. Darcy
Seducing Mr. Darcy
Author: Gwyn Cready
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 2/10/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I got this book because I am an Austen fan and P&P is one of my fav. books. I read a lot of "related" books. I'm not exactly sure what I expected from this one, but I was pleasantly surprised. Usually any type of "time" changes drive me batty, but I found this easy to follow and it didn't bother me. I enjoyed Flip's character and was drawn into her story. It wasn't a 5 star read, IMO, but I did enjoy it and would recommend it. It's definitely over-sexed compared to most of the Austenesque books I've read, but the description leads one to expect that.


Shore Lights (Shelter Cove, Bk 1)
Shore Lights (Shelter Cove, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Bretton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


First of two about Maddy Brainbridge and Aidan O'Malley. (Chances Are is the sequel) Setting is Paradise Point, NJ. I like this author and this was another nice, easy, enjoyable read.


Someone Like You
Someone Like You
Author: Barbara Bretton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 2/24/2006


From the back cover:
.....explores the emotional journey of two sisters and the healing truth of an unforgettable family legacy...
"We need you. Come home....."

I really enjoyed this book. This author is fast becoming one of my favorites.


Turquoise  the Indian
Turquoise the Indian
Author: Edna M. Bennett
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 3/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


....Mrs. Bennet tells us where turquoise is mined, and where it was mined in earlier days; she tells the methods of the lapidary; she locates the signifigcance of the gem in the rituals and the folk myths of the Indians.....


An Unmentionable Murder (Manor House, Bk 9)
An Unmentionable Murder (Manor House, Bk 9)
Author: Kate Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 9/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this series, but didn't feel this was a very good "last hurrah". The storyline of this book was ok, but there was an "unfinished" feel to several recurring issues from the series. It just wasn't a very good ending note.


Who Killed Palomino Molero?
Who Killed Palomino Molero?
Author: Mario Vargas Llosa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/22/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This wonderful detective novel is set in Peru in the 1950s. Near an Air Force base in the northern desert, a young airman is found murdered. Lieutenant Silva and Officer Lituma investigate. Lacking a squad car, they have to cajole a local cabbie into taking them to the scene of the crime. Their superiors are indifferent; the commanding officer of the air base stands in their way; but Silva and Lituma are determined to uncover the truth.

Who Killed Palomino Molero, an entertaining and brilliantly plotted mystery, takes up one of Vargas Llosas characteristic themes: the despair at how hard it is to be an honest man in a corrupt society.


The Wolf Next Door (Westfield Wolves, Bk 3)
The Wolf Next Door (Westfield Wolves, Bk 3)
Author: Lydia Dare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/7/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I agree with the other reviewers...the first two books are terrific and this one just doesn't meet up. I still liked Will, and he's what kept me reading, but Prisca IS a spoiled brat (by her own admission, actually) and that makes it a difficult read. I kept getting the feeling that the author was trying too hard with this book and it's busier and more complicated than it needs to be.


1 to 18 of 18