oolalatte - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Blood Canticle (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 10)
Blood Canticle (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 10)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 6/1/2010


I haven't read Anne Rice since high school so when I saw this at a book sale, I picked it up. Reading this, I was wondering why I liked her so much back then. Although she has creative ideas, I felt like the writing just wasn't very sophisticated, for lack of a better description. I feel like she tries too hard to be hip and cool with the language and it just doesn't work. Lestat is quite conceited, what every great vampire should be, I guess, and she does this wonderfully. I also liked that the Mayfair witches and Taltos come together with the Vampires. Reading this, I was wondering if it was one of the last books, and it turns out it is the last book in the Vampire Chronicles. Knowing this now, the ending was quite a let down. I guess I was expecting more.


Dreaming in Hindi: Coming Awake in Another Language
Dreaming in Hindi: Coming Awake in Another Language
Author: Katherine Russell Rich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/29/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I really wanted to like this book but there was too much information about language that I personally did not have any interest in which took away from the rest of the story. I give her credit in that this was a different travel memoir than most because it discussed all this language stuff but I kind of like the typical travel memoir describing a person's experience in a new place. I just did not get enough of that in this book and wanted more stories and descriptions of India. She did have some great stories but I would have preferred if they were in more depth rather than going off on a tangent about language. If you are interested in the nuances of language, you would probably enjoy this book. I did enjoy the historical and political information in the book, especially about the Muslim-Hinduism relationship. I visited this region of India and was not at all aware of the tensions between these groups, so this was an eye-opener for me.


Driving Mr. Albert : A Trip Across America with Einstein's Brain
Driving Mr. Albert : A Trip Across America with Einstein's Brain
Author: Michael Paterniti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 2/10/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I was excited to read this book as the premise was interesting. A guy drives Einstein's pathologist across the country to deliver Einstein's brain to his daughter. Started off great, with interesting facts about Einstein and an interesting story about how the author met Thomas Harvey. But then it kind of fizzled and the stories and people they meet on their drive just are not enough to make the story exciting and keep me interested. It's really more about Michael Paterniti's journey to find himself and what he wants out of life.


It's a Meaningful Life
It's a Meaningful Life
Author: Bo Lozoff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/1/2010


What a wonderful book! Life IS meaningful and we all can take part in making it a much better world if we chose to do so. This book is set up in question-answer chapters with a 'putting it into practice' at the end of each chapter. Bo Lozoff puts forth questions that I imagine many struggle with, (I definitely do) and answers them in simple to understand words and concepts. I like his incorporation of various religions and belief systems and not focusing completely on one belief system. He provides us with useful ways to put into practice what he discusses in each chapter, including helpful tips for meditation and its importance. A must read for those of us that want to live a more simpler, kinder and meaningful life. It is a book that I will refer back to often.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 3/24/2009


Haunting story that stays with you for a very long time. I'm still not sure how I feel about it...although the main character tries to find redemption, I'm not so sure he ever does.


Manchild in the Promised Land
Manchild in the Promised Land
Author: Claude Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Wow...what an eye opening book. I knew that life in Harlem was tough but I think what shocked me the most was the age of Claude at the beginning of the story and the things he was doing at such a young age. Everyone should read this book to get a better understanding of the black man's struggle in this country.


My Life in France
My Life in France
Author: Alex Prud'homme, Julia Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 6/1/2010


What a great read! I love Julia Child's attitude and sense of humor. An adventure of food in France, what could be better? An inspirational book that shows us that if you put your mind to it, anything is possible at any stage in our lives.


Notes from a Small Island
Notes from a Small Island
Author: Bill Bryson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 6/1/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Hmmmmm....I usually like Bill Bryson's books but for whatever reason, Notes from a Small Island just wasn't a great read. He's usually witty and I love his sarcasm but I felt like this was the never ending book. It just seemed like the same observations and comments chapter after chapter. But maybe that's the point he's trying to make (which I think he does state at the end)...that's it all the same in England...small town is small town. He would have done better had he taken some time to get to know the locals instead of just walking around by himself all over England. Maybe then we could have seen the little something that makes each town or city different from the next one. Not my fave but will definitely continue to read his books...am especially curious about the ones in the states since he's from the US.


Purple Hibiscus
Purple Hibiscus
Author: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A sad story about how religion/missionary work can cause more damage than good. A young Nigerian girl, Kambli, struggles with her place in life and her Catholic converted father, who is more interested in the strict rules of the religion that what is truly important in life, like family and tradition.


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3406
Review Date: 3/24/2009


Excellent read! Wonderful story full of history.


Stuart: A Life Backwards
Stuart: A Life Backwards
Author: Alexander Masters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/1/2010


An interesting read that gives you a peak into the life and mentality of a homeless man and his struggles to get through the day and off the streets. I feel that people advocating for the homeless and working to help in this area should read this book to get insights about the homeless mentality so they can better incorporate that into the programs they develop. But then again, maybe they know this but just can't figure out how to make such changes. Although I often found the author a little annoying with all his complaining, I guess that is how most people view the homeless and so it is appropriate for the book. I am amazed at how trusting the author is with Stuart and that is great. I'm glad that he gave someone like Stuart a voice.


Tuva or Bust! Richard Feynman's Last Journey
Tuva or Bust! Richard Feynman's Last Journey
Author: Ralph Leighton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


All the things we could learn if only we ask! A book that shows us that if we want something bad enough, we'll find a way to get it....even if it takes years. Fun read showing how an interest in stamp collection turns to obsession and finally reality. Richard Feynman, a prominent physicist, and his friend Ralph Leighton, decide they want to go to the Siberian country, Tannu-Tuva, after a debate over a stamp from the country questions if it is a real place. The book recounts their search to learn about this country and their obscure journey in an attempt to get there. I had no idea that a country called Tannu-Tuva exists and it was great fun to learn about it and such things as throat singing and to follow the two men in their journey of discovery.


The White Tiger
The White Tiger
Author: Aravind Adiga
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 3/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


What a great read! A voice to the servant class and how one man made it out. When I visited India, I was quite uncomfortable with all the servants around me and had a very difficult time accepting it. The poverty in India is heartbreaking and I imagine that working as a servant is better than living on the street but everyone deserves to be treated as a human being. Even though The White Tiger is a work of fiction, it offers the readers an insight into how millions of people live in India and poses the questions, what would you do and how far would you go to change your place in society?


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 734
Review Date: 6/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't think that I would ever finish Wicked. I loved the idea of this book and was excited to read it. But it just dragged on and on. The ideas are great but it's too descriptive. The last chapter was the best and I loved it but I almost didn't get there. I don't think I'll be reading any more of his books.


1 to 14 of 14