Teresa H. (WarEagle78) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 338 - Page:
At Home in Covington (Ladies of Covington, Bk 5)
At Home in Covington (Ladies of Covington, Bk 5)
Author: Joan Medlicott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Another entry into the lives of the ladies of Covington. The author continues to remind the reader that live doesn't end at 40, or 50 or even 60 or beyond. The three friends and housemates work through love, jealousy, friendships and day to day life in this readable and enjoyable series.


Baby Proof
Baby Proof
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 980
Review Date: 6/20/2007
Helpful Score: 10


Ben and Claudia quickly knew they were soulmates - they could talk for hours, enjoyed each other's jokes and company, and, oh yes, neither one ever wanted children. A match made in heaven until one mind is changed about that baby thing...

Really a very nice study of love, of sacrifice, and of family. I'd recommend it to anyone, even if they typically do not care for chick lit.


The Bachelorette Party
The Bachelorette Party
Author: Karen McCullah Lutz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 10/23/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This wasn't exactly what I expected, but I enjoyed it. I guess lots of us enjoy the humanizing of an apparently perfect person, in this case much like wtching a train wreck..,


Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 12/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Another delightful read from Macomber centering around the knit shop on Blossom Street. By now the characters are all good friends. The two story lines in this novel focus on Alix and the wedding that has taken on a life of its own, and a new character with an intriguing storyline. It's not deep or even particularly thought-provoking, it's more like having a cup of tea with a friend. Warm and comforting, and things always work out for the best in the end.


Bad Heir Day
Bad Heir Day
Author: Wendy Holden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 12/8/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Well, despite having looked forward to reading this, I was disappointed. Anna was just too dumb for words and Cassandra just too distasteful. Zak needed discipline worse than any child I've run across in fiction-land recently, and seeing him not get it was frustrating. I finished it, but can't rate it very high at all.


The Ballroom On Magnolia Street
The Ballroom On Magnolia Street
Author: Sharon Owens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/28/2007


Set in Ireland and woven from the lives of those connected with a ballroom/dance hall in Belfast. Owens does a lovely job with characterizations. I'm enjoying her work and hope she continues!


Basic Instinct
Basic Instinct
Author: Richard Osborne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/13/2007


A pretty good thriller about a psychotic killer and the detective that pursues her. Written from the screenplay rather than vice versa.


Beach Road
Beach Road
Author: James Patterson, Peter de Jonge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 487
Review Date: 7/23/2006


Short, almost too easy to read. Book lulled me into thinking it was less than it was, but the ending did surprise me.


Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 5/30/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A facinating study of a family of four, each trying to find the piece of themselves not provided by their lives, their family relationships, or their religion. With Zmrzlina, I'm not sure eccentric is the term I'd use to describe them. Incredibly needy, perhaps. Untethered.

The heroine, Eliza, is a particularly engaging girl; the mother, conspicuous by her absence in the early story lines, achingly mad. The father Saul, who turned years ago from a background of hallucinagenic seeking, nevertheless tries for a God-invoked nirvana. And the brother Aaron becomes increasingly disengaged from the family as Saul turns from him to heap time, pride, love and expectations on Eliza.

A very worthwhile book, expecially for a first work.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 873
Review Date: 4/10/2007
Helpful Score: 11


Unusual and facinating study of fear, accommodation and communication. There is nothing ordinary about Bel Canto.

The story opens at a diplomatic event in a third world country - a birthday party for the head of a Japanese electronics giant, featuring a world-renowned soprano and attended by a Who's Who of local politicians and international financiers and businessmen. When terrorists take the gathering hostage but can't find the president of the country (who is home watching his favorite soap opera), they are nonplussed.

The weeks-long hostage situation forms the basis for Patchett's story, and it's worth the time.


A Bend in the Road
A Bend in the Road
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1122
Review Date: 9/4/2006


A love story that centers around a tragic hit and run that kills a young woman. Sparks, as usual, had me caring deeply for all of his characters and plucked on my heartstrings at the end.


The Best Places to Kiss in the Northwest: A Romantic Travel Guide, 8th Edition
Review Date: 12/4/2007


Found some lovely inns for our 2007 vacation in Washington State - the title is very appropriate. Plan to keep this in my library for further use.


Beyond Reach (Grant County, Bk 6)
Beyond Reach (Grant County, Bk 6)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 12/29/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Lena gets herself in trouble again, while Sara is devastated by a malpractice suit. Another taut thriller by Slaughter, with drugs and family and love and dependency weaving into a painful tapestry that threatens to ruin them all. I read it in a day, because I couldn't get close to putting it down.


Black Horses for the King
Black Horses for the King
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/10/2006


Interesting story of horsemanship in the time of King Arthur. I got it for my son but when he wasn't interested I read it myself and enjoyed it.


Black Ice
Black Ice
Author: Matt Dickinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/4/2007


A thriller set in Antarctica. Against her better judgement but by moral imperative, the leader of a research station abandons her work to rescue two adventurers stranded on the ice. Finding them and getting them home is only the start of the troubles. Their addition to the finely tuned team and the resulting problems make for a facinating pageturner.


Blindsighted (Grant County, Bk 1)
Blindsighted (Grant County, Bk 1)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 10/23/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This is my first book by Slaughter, and it is definitely more graphic and bloody than I usually attempt. I like and sympathize with the characters however, and will go on to read more in the Grant County series.


Blood is the Sky (Alex McKnight, Bk 5)
Blood is the Sky (Alex McKnight, Bk 5)
Author: Steve Hamilton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 5/29/2006


Thriller based in upper peninsula Michigan and northern Canada. Some of the characterizations were okay, suspense pretty good.


Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1542
Review Date: 12/7/2006


A lovely story of a widow from Michigan moving to Tennessee with her two young sons to take the reins of a garden center. The story follows a few months of her acclimation - complete with ghosts, a new love, and a wonderful household of women. I enjoyed Blue Dahlia very much.


Blue Smoke
Blue Smoke
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 674
Review Date: 1/9/2007


Hard to believe Nora Roberts can cover so many topics, so well. Her heroine this time is a young girl who watches the family restaurant burn, and becomes an arson inspector. Like all Roberts heroines, she is brave and strong, and eventually finds everything she is looking for.


The Body Politic
The Body Politic
Author: Victor Gold, Lynne V. Cheney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/22/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A wild political ride. What happens when the Vice President dies? A state funeral? Appointment of a new Veep? Or, well, maybe, if it's politically expedient, well, maybe, what if we just cover it up for a DAY or TWO, or, or ...

One blunder leads to another in this clever political novel.


21 to 40 of 338 - Page: