Jessica D. (JessicaRabbit) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 110 - Page:
10 Minutes Till Bedtime
10 Minutes Till Bedtime
Author: Peggy Rathmann
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/27/2009


What is it with me and childrens books? I don't know, but as all of the other childrens books I have reviewed I absolutely positively loved this book. So adoreable. Even if you don't have kids... or hey maybe you have a hamster, he'd love it! Because there's hamsters in this book. You'll love it, you're kids, or hamster, will love it everyone wins. 10 minutes to bedtime is a must read for all ages it's just so darn cute.


Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, Bk 1)
Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 11/9/2014


This book was so stinking amazing. One of my favorites by Gena by far and now one of my favorite books ever. Can't wait to read the rest of this series.


Am I the Princess or the Frog? (Dear Dumb Diary, Bk 3)
Am I the Princess or the Frog? (Dear Dumb Diary, Bk 3)
Author: Jim Benton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/14/2013


So I picked up this book at a thrift store yesterday on my way back home. I've been curious about these books since I stumbled across it here on the site and even had most of them marked on my Reminders List, but removed them. So when I came across this one I caved in and paid the 25 cents for it. It was the best 25 cents I've ever spent on a book. I might be 26 but I enjoyed it immensely and could not stop laughing at Jamie Kelly. I think younger kids will enjoy this as it's an easy read with tons of laughs to go around. I plan on reading more of the Dear Dumb Diary books in the future.


Amity
Amity
Author: Micol Ostow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/8/2015


This book was terrifying! If you have any plans to sleep, or use the bathroom in the middle of the night, I would only read Amity during the day.

Told from different perspectives Amity follows the life of two teenagers who just moved into the old house with their families due to strange circumstances that followed the teenagers at their previous homes. From one perspective, you get Connor, whose family lived in Amity ten years before Gwen and her family move in, and in the other you get Gwen whose perspective is told in current days. In one perspective, you get to see the possession of one of our characters as it happens. In the other you watch as one of their loved ones become the possessed. Both sets of views are equally terrifying.


Bad Girls Don't Die
Bad Girls Don't Die
Author: Katie Alender
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/29/2011


Loved this book. Very spooky.


Bet Me (Large Print)
Bet Me (Large Print)
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 6/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Ah who can resist a bet? This book was good, lots of laughs as always is the case with Jennifer Crusie. Read this in a day since it was too hard to actually put down and go to sleep. two thumbs wayyyy up.


Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 420
Review Date: 6/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I just loved this! I think this was better then the first. Mob boss, psychic, cops. What more do you need... besides really hot sex and vampires. If you liked the first one you'll definetly love this one.


Bite Me If You Can (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 6)
Bite Me If You Can (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 6)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 739
Review Date: 6/25/2009
Helpful Score: 7


Love love love this book. This is the first book in the series that I have came across so I'll need to go back and start from the beginning. I'm became an instant fan of Lynsay Sands with this. I have also fallen in love with yet another fictional character, god help us all, lol. Lucian and Leigh are great. Ignore the ones saying this book was bad... if there are any, because this book was a great read, lots of laughs, hot steamy vampire sex, wich is all we ever really want. Read it. Love it. Come on you know you want to. :)


Black Ties and Lullabies
Black Ties and Lullabies
Author: Jane Graves
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 7/31/2011


Horrible. The heroine was a complete bi%ch to just about everyone she came into contact with and just had a bad attitude. I felt bad for the hero, who wasn't nearly as bad as the heroine made him out to be. If you want a light hearted romance to make you all warm and tingly inside while the hero and heroine fall into love this is no the book to do it. But if you want something to throw across the room? Works real good.

I give it 1 1/2 stars because I like the cover and I liked the hero. Anything higher than that would just be crazy because I really don't feel it deserves even that. :(


Blonde with a Wand (Babes on Brooms, Bk 1)
Blonde with a Wand (Babes on Brooms, Bk 1)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 2/12/2010
Helpful Score: 12


This was fantastic! From beginning to end I was laughing, because it really was a cute funny read. The characters were great and the chemistry amazing. I will definitley be reading more from Vicki Lewis Thompson. Blonde With A Wand is about Anica Revere, a sexy responsible witch, who in a moment of anger does something not only completely out of character but breaks one of the biggest rules of witchcraft. She turns her boyfriend Jasper Danes, a lying womanizing jackass, into a cat. In doing so Anica accidently zaps her magic and can't fix what she did. In a moment of sheer desperation Anica calls upon her sister Lily, who takes great pleasure in seeing her older sister, the model of perfection, ask for help. Then things get worse. They can't find a reversal spell, come to find out there isn't one. The only way Jasper can become six feet of divine man candy again is if he undoes the hex himself. Which of course is easier said then done. Now it's up to Jasper to decide just how pi$$ed off he is at Anica for getting him into this mess, even if he did deserve it. Is revenge really better then getting back his human form? Can he ignore the strong sexual chemistry between him and the witch long enough to seek his revenge? But more importantly, could he really fall in love with someone who turned him into a cat? You know, I can so understand why she zapped his a$$ into a cat. Had I been her I would've turned him into a frog and tossed him in front of the first vehicle I'd seen... not too kill him of course but to scare the sh!t out of him. But after a while I felt so bad for the guy, LOL, though it was hilarious. One second he's this sex god and the next he's a cat? His anxiety over things like using the litter box, Anica's orange tabby cat, Orion, set on kicking his a$$ for being on his turf, and Anica's crazy neighbor lady set on getting his balls chopped off were all very understandable. I was actually scared for him when the neighbor lady came around, if I had balls they would've shriveled up and vanished until she was gone from the scene. And I have to say though I really do like Anica I cannot wait to read the next book in this series "Chick With A Charm" because I really love Lily's character. She came up with this one spell at one of her attempts to put Jasper back into his human form that went something like this: Mangy tomcat, full of grime, tiny dick your only crime... LOL!! Now that is funny. This book is a must read!


The Bodyguard: Temptation on Ice / Temptation in Shadows / Hunting Temptation
Review Date: 8/21/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I really liked this one, the last two stories make it worth the credit or money spent if you plan on getting this. :)

-------

"Temptation On Ice" by Cherry Adair :

When paranormal operative Sebastian Tremayne heads to the Artic Circle to keep an eye on red-hot pyhsicist Michaela Giese, the polar ice cap isn't the only thing in danger of melting. This beautiful brainy woman could spark a nuclear disaster he cannot stop -- even with magic -- and ignite a fiery passion he cannot resist...

My Thoughts :

This was a bit too James Bond-y for me. Don't get me wrong I like James Bond. The characters were interesting to a point but I think the plot lacked a bit of.... something to keep me fully glued to the pages. I didn't ever find myself saying "man I just have to know what happens! What happens!?" Instead I was more like "yeah yeah * snaps fingers twice * lets keep the ball rolling and get this over with, save the day, have sex, and live happily ever after before I grow gray hairs." And somehow the ball just stopped and so did I. My interest vanished almost as quickly as it started.


"Temptation in Shadows" by Gena Showalter :

Tall, lean, muscular -- and definitely rough around the edges -- Sean Walker is not your typical nightclub bodyguard. Ge's a controller of shadows, able to wield darkness at will. But when a mysterious woman at the club turns out to have powers greater than his own, he has no choice by seduction....


My Thoughts :


The blurb made up for this is a bit deceiving. It leads you to believe the hero unintentionally comes across the heroine, but here's a secret. Their meeting is anything but coincidental, he works for an agency and she is his mission, he's just shadowing, no pun intended, as a bodyguard... well, more of a bouncer really. But either way. Now, I'm going to be completely honest here, I read this story last. With anthologies I tend to jump around stories, make it interesting, lol. Anyways I loved this story! I loved the characters, the whole presentation was executed perfectly. My favorite story in this book and I seriously hope this is part of a series, new or old it doesn't matter, I just want more of it.


"Hunting Temptation" by Lorie O' Clare :

A manhunter by trade, Seth is on the trail of his most dangerous prey yet : a living, breathing, man-eating werewolf. But the last thing he expects to catch in his trap is a beautiful, beguiling woman -- with some wild animal urges of her own....


My Thoughts :

Okay, another deceiving blurb. This guy is a bounty hunter not a manhunter. I don't know about you but when I hear the term manhunter I think of someone like the incest babies from the movie The Wrong Turn, someone who hunts others for sport and keeps various body parts strewn about as trophies. And there was no trap, sorry if that's considering spoiling I just want you to go in reading this with the facts not false information the creator of that blurb gives you. But, though the blurb does give you misleading information on what to expect with this story it is still a pretty kick-a$$ addition to this anthology and if read in the correct order a great way to end this book.


Bound By Moonlight (Moonlight, Bk 4)
Bound By Moonlight (Moonlight, Bk 4)
Author: Nancy Gideon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/27/2011


This is the fourth in the series and has the same hero and heroine as the previous and following books to be published ( if there are any ). There was too many up and down moments for me with this book, meaning one minute its really great and I couldn't wait to see what happened next and then the next moment it's boring and I can't wait to be finished. Although this is published to be able to read as a stand alone I think it would've helped a lot to have read the previous books before this one.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 6/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Okay I love this book, however I hate that she ended the series because I was left wanting more. But isn't what they tell you to do'always leave them wanting more. It's still good though, just didn't end at the right time to me the book ends where another one begins but there isn't another book so we are left to imagine the outcome ourself.


Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse?
Can You Survive the Zombie Apocalypse?
Author: Max Brallier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/27/2011
Helpful Score: 4


This has got to be one of the coolest books ever. It is aimed more for boys, but really anyone can read it. I have to admit though that my review for this isn't supposed to be up on my blog until February 10th so I won't get too detailed with it here, ( ot atleast try not too. ),I just had to tell someone about this book until then and what better place or people than PBS. :)

I have to say that I am terrified of zombies, it is sad how scared I am of them when they don't even exist. lol. And I only wanted to read this, and don't laugh, because I thought it would give me tips on how to survive if an outbreak ever occured. lol. ( Yeah, yeah ) . But this isn't that type of book. This is an interactive book, meaning you read the story and at the end of the "chapters" there is a series of options to choose from, your survival is in YOUR hands. And when I found this out I played the scardy chicken that I am and asked if anyone else wanted to read this book with me. Well, I'd read but they'd listen and help make a decision. My brother James jumped on board with this.

According to the back of the book there are 100 paths and 50 endings to choose from. Literally hours and hours of fun to be had.

"You have choices to make.
Moral Dilemas.
Weapons. Vehicles.
Will you be a hero?
Or will you save your own ass at all costs?
Can you withstand the coming hours, days, weeks, and months?
Or Will you die amidst the chaos and violence of a zombie uprising?

Or, worst of all, will you become one of them?"


I'm not joking when I say my brother really got into this book, even though I was reading he was anxious to hear what happens next. One downfall is that the author does make a few decisions for you that you don't get to have a say in on if you really want to do it or not. Like shouting for the zombies to cause a distraction while others make a break for it... after they WILLINGLY went out to walk amungst the zombies trying to mimic that movie "Shaun of The Dead." And me and my brother was like "screw that, if you think you can just "blend in" with zombies you're stupid enough to get killed. Later. But of course we didn't get that option and died. Bastards.

Anyways, I'm getting long winded. lol. We've "played" this book ( because it is like a game, just not ) 4 times so far. And died twice. Though the first time doesn't count. I would have have covered my own backside and let the idiots get maimed since THEY were the ones who wanted to go out and walk with the zombies.

... I am not a sore loser, I just have common since. Anyways, definetly a book to get the guys. Young, old, doesn't matter I'm sure it will hold their interests. Oh! Plus you could make it a family game night type of thing. Let the family take votes on what decisions are made.

Worth the money or credit spent.


Charm School (Calhoun Chronicles, Bk 1)
Charm School (Calhoun Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 7/11/2009


Oh my gosh I loooooooove this book so much. One of my favorite books ever. I read it over and over again until sadly I had to give it back to my sister-in-law so now I have this on my Reminders List so I can go back to reading it multiple times. If you haven't read it you must, I mean there's no other option for you but to read this book, I refuse to let you not read this book. I will find you and force you if I have to.


Cloudburst
Cloudburst
Author: V.C. Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/14/2011


Possible Spoiler arlert:

If you've read the first book in the March Family series than you'll remember how Sasha started out as a girl everyone could like and appreciate but then towards the ending she had taken a big dose of stupid. Well in this book she switches place with Kiera, the villan from book one, and has basically became Kiera's twin. The two are all BFF and buddy buddy even after she was the reason her mom died and Sasha had been raped. So when Kiera turns on her in this story its supposed to be this big huge shocker but really just makes the heroine seem even stupider than before for even believing any thing good could come from a relationship with Kiera.

This book was really hard to stay interested in. Overall it was just too boring with a predictable plot. Not worth reading unless you're one of those who enjoy this new V.C. Andrews writing style.


Corduroy
Corduroy
Author: Don Freeman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 6/4/2009


All time favorite childrens book. I mean how could you not love this book?


The Cougar Club
The Cougar Club
Author: Susan McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/10/2010
Helpful Score: 3


"The Cougar Club" is about 3 friends, Kat,Carla & Elise, who are reunited after several years apart due to poor Kat not only loosing her very cushy job at a high-powered advertising company but catches her live-in lover jerking his gherkin to internet porn. So with her life in a sudden mess of "What the hell do I do now" blues Kat returns to St. Louis to try and pick up what parts or her life she can and reconnects with her childhood best friends Carla and Elise. But turns out Kat isn't the only one with problems brewing.

Carla, a very popular and beloved news anchorwoman discovers her ex-hubby and boss is trying to replace her with some young babe with knockers the size of watermelons. Now Carla must protect what's hers. While kanoodling it up with her super hunky boy toy and reconnecting with her best friends of course. :)

The one member in the club I felt had the worst draw of cards is Elise who after 20 years of marriage discovers her marriage isn't as picture perfect as she and others thought. But at least she has her two best friends and a yummy hockey player to help her through the sudden mess her life has turned out to be.

They are three women over forty who are hellbent in showing life and the rest of the world that just because your over forty it doesn't mean all of the best things in life, love, sex and success, has to go to the young bitches. You will laugh and may even cry but the whole time you're reading this book you'll be thinking "Fuck yeah I'm over forty so what!" Susan McBride gets my first born for this awesomeness.


The Countess (Madison Sisters, Bk 1)
The Countess (Madison Sisters, Bk 1)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 1/30/2011
Helpful Score: 4


I just flew through this book, it is just stinking hilarious! It was so hard not to laugh so loud because it was always in the early AM when I read this but... it could't be helped. It truly is laugh out loud funny.

The whole moving around of George's body, priceless! This will defenitely be one of those books I'll read again and again and again. A must read for any Historical Romance lover.


Dark Descendant (Descendant, Bk 1)
Dark Descendant (Descendant, Bk 1)
Author: Jenna Black
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 5/13/2011


This book was awesome. Simply put.


1 to 20 of 110 - Page: