Facebook

Bridget A. - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Heir to the Throne
Heir to the Throne
Author: Kasey Michaels, Carolyn Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/15/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I expected something more from this book since it was the end of a multi-book series. It was a good idea to put the ending story and the prequel together, but it seemed as though Kasey Michaels wasn't enthused about the storyline. It was a very ho-hum ending compared to the "Princess trilogy"; even the "Covert Duke St. John" book had more energy.
The Prequel was much better and had an interesting story line.


How to Beguile a Beauty (Daughtry, Bk 3)
How to Beguile a Beauty (Daughtry, Bk 3)
Author: Kasey Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 8/24/2012


"How to Beguile a Beauty" is the third book in the Daughtry series. Unlike the other stories, this one's "back story" had been running through the previous two books - "How to Tempt a Duke" and "How to Tame a Lady". Lydia, the twin to Nicole of Book 2, has always been the shy one, and her ideas taken from books. The man she thinks she loves is killed in the Napoleanic wars.
This book takes longer to achieve an interesting storyline than the others. I found it less satisfying than the first two, and with a confusing subplot.


How To Tempt A Duke (Daughtry, Bk 1)
How To Tempt A Duke (Daughtry, Bk 1)
Author: Kasey Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 8/13/2012


When I started reading "How to Tame a Lady", I didn't know it was book 2 of the Daughtry series. I had so many "questions" from that book that I ordered "How to Tempt a Duke".
Of the series, "How to Tempt a Duke" has the best story line and fewer branches off the main ideas. I found it entertaining; although the revelations about the two male cousins were a bit more graphic than I'd expected.
The Daughtry's are not the "normal" aristocratic family found in most romances, but probably closer to real-life from that era.


Once upon a Time (Zebra Regency Romance Anthology)
Review Date: 8/27/2019


The stories overall were a cute "re-mix" of the original Grimm fairy tales, although I found the Rapunzel one a bit long and some of the drama surrounding her "prince" a bit over the top. It was a quick, easy Summer read.


Scandalous Weddings: In the Light of Day / Love Match / A Weddin' or a Hangin' / Beauty and the Brute
Review Date: 4/1/2012


I purchased the book for the last entry "Beauty and the Brute" which was the end of a trilogy, of sorts. Since they were novellas, I didn't get the in-depth characterizations of the original books, but it satisfied my curiosity of how the storyline ended. They were all good stories, just not as developed.


School for Scandal:  How to Kiss a Hero
School for Scandal: How to Kiss a Hero
Author: Sandy Hingston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/22/2010


This book has everything: suspense, envy, teenage angst and melodrama and that's just the first chapter!
This historical romance was supposed to be the beginning of a series, but I've yet to find another 'Bastion Club" listing. The heroine, Nicola Hainsworth, is believable even when she's fencing with gentlemen, the intrigue surrounding the ladies who run "Mrs. Treadwell's Academy" a boarding school for young ladies is a nice twist, and the hero, Lord Brian Boru, really does come to the rescue (as all good heroes should).


Sexy, Single and Searching / Eager, Eligible and Alaskan (Harlequin Duets, No 79)
Review Date: 9/26/2012


These were books 2 and 3 of the Bachelors of Bear Creek series that started in the Harlequin Blaze imprint. Book 1 got me hooked on the "Bachelors"; books 2 and 3 were a letdown. Trying to make two separate books in the length of a "normal romance" took out most of the characters' development and the storylines were pretty silly. "Sexy, Single and Searching" was the better effort in this duet.
Lori Wilde is usually a good author, so can only surmise that the "Duets" premise was the problem with these two stories.


Silent In The Grave (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 1)
Silent In The Grave (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 1)
Author: Deanna Raybourn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 9/23/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Like I usually do, I came into this series in the middle. I read "Silent in the Sanctuary" first, then wanted to know how Lady Grey became a widow. The book filled in all the questions from the second, and made me want to continue with the series. Lady Grey is a lady who evolves over the books, even though she can come across as a bit overbearing.
I will be reading the entire series because I enjoy Lady Grey and want to know how she evolves.


Silent In The Sanctuary (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 2)
Silent In The Sanctuary (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 2)
Author: Deanna Raybourn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 4/25/2012


Lady Julia Grey, once she was widowed, found out that her life had been a mere shadow. She had had an adventure with a mysterious "private enquiry agent", Nicholas Brisbane, in Silent in the Grave, but thought she'd never see him again. This is where Silent in the Sanctuary begins.
Lady Grey has a large, extended family, who are introduced in various degrees - some as sub-plots and others as "red herrings" to pop up again in other books.
The murder(s) themselves are less the story line than the thread to pull one further into the story. This particular rendition was confusing because of the myriad of subplots and odd encounters.
Ms. Raybourn understands English society and spins an interesting, if not convoluted, tale. However, the twists to the story detracts from the romantic interplay between Lady Julia and Brisbane.


Silent on the Moor (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 3)
Silent on the Moor (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 3)
Author: Deanna Raybourn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 4/26/2012


I had had mixed emotions about the first two books of this series, so had no preconceived ideas on how Silent on the Moor would be. I basically got the book to see if Lady Julia Grey and Nicholas Brisbane finally declared their "affection" for one another for I've grown fond of the characters, even if Lady Julia's inner dialogues aggravate me at times.
Ms. Raybourn has a habit of bringing in a character's personal background in one story, but not clarifying it until later. This is the basis for Silent on the Moor because one learns of Brisbane's history, and how it affects others in this tale.
Ms. Raybourn's "mysteries" have a macabre tendency which were very evident in this book. I think if she kept to a more "conventional" style (i.e., Dame Agatha Christie) I would like her books more.


Special Agent Nanny (Colorado Confidential) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 725)
Review Date: 6/7/2009


I began the series with this book, and got hooked. So now I'm reading the ones previous to this to understand the Colorado Confidential "group" better. It's entertaining and funny in parts.


Wild Masquerade (Wild Pedigrue, Bk 3)
Wild Masquerade (Wild Pedigrue, Bk 3)
Author: Lisa Bingham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/16/2012


"Wild Masquerade" is the last book in a trilogy about the Pedigrue sisters. They lived in virtual servitude to their father because of their mother's supposed "ungodliness". Upon his death, all three daughters must spend a year "working" at various professions to receive a yearly stipend and be able to stay in their house in Boston.
"Wild Masquerade" is a great finish to the series. Constance Pedigree goes to New York to work as a seamstress at a Broadway theatre. However, she misreads the street numbers and ends up at a burlesque house where her cat inadvertently causes $2500 worth of damage to the building's new mirror. Her remarkable likeness to the hero's deceased wife starts off a chain reaction adventure that puts both into mortal danger, but also incredible joy. The villain hides in plain sight, but isn't revealed until the last few pages.
How the mother outwits her husband's final attempts to control his daughters brings the story full circle for a happy conclusion.


Wild Serenade (Wild Pedigrue, Bk 2)
Wild Serenade (Wild Pedigrue, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Bingham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/16/2012


"Wild Serenade" is the second book in the Pedigrue sisters trilogy. This book has a faster pace than the inital "Wild Escapade".
Patience, as the middle sister, wanted to become independent enough to control her own destiny. To that end, she is hired as the governess of Captain Garrick Dalton's sister Emaline. That should be easy enough, even though she's never been a governess before. However, no one told Patience that Emaline spent years shipwrecked, and her parents and two brothers died.
Even though the books are supposedly a romance, mystery abounds, and Patience finds herself trying to help Emaline stay alive while not succumbing to her employer's charms.


Worth Any Price (Bow Street Runners, Bk 3)
Worth Any Price (Bow Street Runners, Bk 3)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 478
Review Date: 6/16/2014


I was really anticipating reading Book 3 of the Bow Street Runners series. The previous two had good story lines, although somewhat convoluted, and the two main characters had "chemistry".
Unfortunately, "Worth Any Price" had the most convoluted story line (a carryover from Book 2)and the "chemistry" amounted to numerous sex scenes (some of which seemed to be added on a whim and didn't advance the story a bit).
I am disappointed by this author because she has done much better.


1 to 14 of 14