Facebook

Joan S. (Yoni) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 309 - Page:
Anonymous Rex: A Detective Story
Anonymous Rex: A Detective Story
Author: Eric Garcia
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/20/2005


Very clever, lots of fun to read. Who would've thought dinosaurs would be sexy? Enjoyed this immensely!


Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Author: Nick Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/30/2007


An amazing memoir. Sad, funny at times, very poignant. Nick Flynn writes beautifully about a harrowing subject, and never feels sorry for himself in spite of his heartaches.


Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 355
Review Date: 8/6/2010
Helpful Score: 4


Chelsea Handler is always a good time. I laughed my way through this quick and easy read. A fun summer book!


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1013
Review Date: 12/4/2011


As funny as it is sad. Quite simply one of the most beautiful books I have ever read.


As Hot as It Was You Ought to Thank Me
As Hot as It Was You Ought to Thank Me
Author: Nanci Kincaid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 10/12/2006


I love this book!


As She Climbed Across the Table (Vintage Contemporaries)
As She Climbed Across the Table (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Jonathan Lethem
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/20/2012


Jonathan Lethem is one of my favorite writers. All of his books are so completely different it's as if they were written by different authors. This book is original and funny with a heartbroken protagonist throwin in. Definitely worth a read.


Asylum
Asylum
Author: Patrick McGrath
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/12/2010


A dark read with a Gothic feel to it. Mcgrath's writing is so controlled that he makes horrible scenarios sound lovely. A story of madness, obsessive love, and flaws of the human soul. Drew me in and didn't let go till the very end.


Atypical: Life with Asperger's in 20 1/3 Chapters
Atypical: Life with Asperger's in 20 1/3 Chapters
Author: Jesse A. Saperstein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/7/2012


Very insightful book about a young man with Asperger's Syndrome. I have two Aspies in my life. This book helped me to understand them better. Funny, hopeful and sad. A very enjoyable book. If you have someone in your life with Autism spectrum, or if you don't, please read this courageous book.


Autobiography of a Geisha
Autobiography of a Geisha
Author: Sayo Masuda
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting, and quite different from "Memoirs of a Geisha". No happy endings here. The story of a geisha who was dirt poor and not in the glamorous life of the aforementioned novel. This is a true autobiography. Gritty, informative, sad.


Await Your Reply
Await Your Reply
Author: Dan Chaon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 5/6/2015


Great book with 3 separate stories that you know will be tied together somehow. I enjoy books with a twist, and I didn't see this one coming. Well written and held my attention.


Banishing Verona
Banishing Verona
Author: Margot Livesey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/17/2009


What a sweet and charming book. Finally, a book with likable characters!


Bar Flower: My Decadently Destructive Days and Nights as a Tokyo Nightclub Hostess
Review Date: 11/17/2011


Very interesting look at a slice of life that I otherwise wouldn't know about!


The Beach
The Beach
Author: Alex Garland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 5/5/2006


I loved this book. The story line intrigued me, and I was not disappointed!


Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 11/26/2005


Sad and cerebral. I liked it.


Being Written (P.S.)
Being Written (P.S.)
Author: William Conescu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/21/2009


A fun and original read that keeps you guessing all the way through. Very intriguing premise.


Best Friends Forever
Best Friends Forever
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 12/4/2010


Fun predictable chic lit from Jennifer Weiner.


Between a Rock and a Hard Place
Between a Rock and a Hard Place
Author: Aron Ralston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 12/2/2006


Although a bit too long, this book is excellent. I could almost feel what Aron was feeling...the lonlieness and desperation, but also the hope and positive attitude that saved his life. What a guy. This book inspired me.


Billy and Girl: A Novel (British Literature Series)
Billy and Girl: A Novel (British Literature Series)
Author: Deborah Levy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/5/2008


I didn't really like this book all that much. Books of this type--twisted and all about dysfunctional families---are usually my type of book. However, this is one I would not recommend. Not horrible, just not one of my favorites.


The Bird Artist (Canadian Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Bird Artist (Canadian Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Howard Norman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 4/25/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A beautiful and haunting story, written in sparse prose; reads like old fashioned literature. I liked this book very much. Takes place in Nova Scotia around turn-of-the-century (last one that is!) and gives you a real flavor of small town island life. A joy and refreshingly different.


The Book of Illusions
The Book of Illusions
Author: Paul Auster
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/9/2015


I liked this book, didn't love it, liked. I do enjoy Paul Auster and while this book was interesting, it just moved a bit slowly for me. Don't rule it out, you may like it more than I did.


21 to 40 of 309 - Page: