Facebook

Karen S. (MKSbooklady) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 520 - Page:
11/22/63 (Large Print)
11/22/63 (Large Print)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/21/2016


I haven't read a Stephen King book in quite a while. I had pretty much given up, as it were. They were getting too, I'm not sure what. But this one is FABULOUS. Don't be put off by the over 800 pages-it goes by quickly. I was amazed at how much I liked this book. Who wouldn't want to go back in time and right a wrong? But what happens then? So well done. The Kennedy assassination has always interested me. Did Oswald really act alone? Was he a Lone Gunman? King's theories are fascinating-I haven't see the miniseries, but might just to see how they handled it. Great book-give it a read!


50 Fun and Easy Brain-Based Activities for Young Learners
50 Fun and Easy Brain-Based Activities for Young Learners
Author: Ellen Booth Church
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/21/2011


Going to use this in my preschool class.


52 Programs for Preschoolers: The Librarian's Year-Round Planner
52 Programs for Preschoolers: The Librarian's Year-Round Planner
Author: Diane Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/8/2010


lots of good ideas.


Afterimage: A Novel
Afterimage: A Novel
Author: Helen Humphreys
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/28/2012


Different-interesting, reads quick.


The Alice Network
The Alice Network
Author: Kate Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 12/13/2018


Not bad, good female characters.


All the Devils Are Here (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 16)
All the Devils Are Here (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 16)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/18/2020


A little different from the other 'Three Pines' books. this one finds our hero Gamache, in Paris, but still investigating a mystery, with Jean Guy by his side, actually, his whole family is there. Enjoyable as always but I did find some so many characters to be confusing. Still an enjoyable read, and since we're stuck 'at home' for who knows how long , it's good that books are still safe to read.


All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 8/17/2015


The stories of two children in Europe during WWII-one a young blind girl, and the other a German boy-told separately, but they do eventually come together. Haunting is the best word I can come up with.


All the Names
All the Names
Author: Jose Saramago, Margaret Jull Costa (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 2/3/2010


Had a very hard time reading this, the style was difficult for me to follow. Other reviewers loved this book, I can't say that I did.


The Amber Keeper
The Amber Keeper
Author: Freda Lightfoot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/12/2016


Too much of a 'Romance Novel' feel to this book for me. While the plot is interesting, I found much of the dialogue forced, the ending was not that much of a surprise.


And the Mountains Echoed
And the Mountains Echoed
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 5/23/2019


So many characters in this book, so many stories. I love they way they all wind together. Took me awhile to figure out what was what and who was who, but it is truly beautiful when it all comes together. Just like the two previous books, this is a gem.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3676
Review Date: 7/23/2008


A 'prequel' to the DaVanci Code- a little over the top, but an interesting read, I read it on the beach. I think a movie is being made based on the book, maybe with Tom Hanks?


The Angel's Game (Cemetery of Forgotten Books, Bk 2)
Review Date: 6/4/2013


Another fascinating book by Mr. Zafon-a great story told by a great story teller.


Anthropology of an American Girl: A Novel
Anthropology of an American Girl: A Novel
Author: Hilary Thayer Hamann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/23/2020


I almost made it to the end of this book, but then I realized that I didn't care what happened, too depressing to read during self quarantine.


Anxious People
Anxious People
Author: Fredrik Backman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/1/2020


The author tries to be funny, but sometimes tries too hard.


The Apple: Crimson Petal Stories
The Apple: Crimson Petal Stories
Author: Michel Faber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/2/2012


Not bad for short stories.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 287
Review Date: 10/27/2015


For the first time in a long time, I actually got a little misty eyed at the end of this book. I liked that the dog is the narrator-he is probably the most likable character in the book. This was a quick read-and even though I cried a little at the end, I enjoyed it.


As Husbands Go
As Husbands Go
Author: Susan Isaacs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/25/2012


Enjoyed it-what happens when you you find out not only is your husband dead, but he's been found murdered in a call girls apartment??? Not sure if I would have gone to all the trouble that Susie Gersten does to find her husband's killer (considering where he was found)-but it moved quickly and kept my interest.


Astray
Astray
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/30/2014


Interesting, different. Not my favorite of Emma Donoghue's.


At Risk (Liz Carlyle, Bk 1)
At Risk (Liz Carlyle, Bk 1)
Author: Stella Rimington
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/26/2011


Well written, fast paced story-loved the heroine. Looking forward to reading the next in the series. Ms. Rimington knows what she writes about.


Await Your Reply
Await Your Reply
Author: Dan Chaon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 11/1/2014


Started off better than it ended up. Interesting, though how the stories work out.


1 to 20 of 520 - Page: