Karen S. (MKSbooklady) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 473 - Page:
The Baker's Daughter
The Baker's Daughter
Author: Sarah McCoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/2/2015


In some ways, two different stories. I enjoyed the Germany parts more, but still a good read.


A Banquet of Consequences (Inspector Lynley, Bk 19)
A Banquet of Consequences (Inspector Lynley, Bk 19)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/19/2016


I found this book to be the best of hers I've read since 'What Came Before He Shot Her'. Lots of characters, as usual, several twists and turns, as usual. I always like the back and forth between Lynley and Havers. I will say the ending caught me a little by surprise. It's nice to have Elizabeth George back.


Bastard Out of Carolina
Bastard Out of Carolina
Author: Dorothy Allison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 360
Review Date: 9/2/2016


Very sad story of a young girl, pretty much left to her own devices by her Mother, and an unbelievably cruel step father. The only thing she has going for her is her extended family.


The Bathroom Rock 'n Roll Book
The Bathroom Rock 'n Roll Book
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/4/2011


Great trivia about rock and roll-from the early 50's through the Beatles, Mamas and the Papas, Elvis, you name it, they're in here. Great for a long car trip, conversation starters, or, as the title states, in the bathroom.


Battle of Wits: The Complete Story of Codebreaking in World War II
Review Date: 3/16/2010


Got this for my brother! He is into WWII history, and this is right up his alley.


Beach Town
Beach Town
Author: Mary Kay Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 4/7/2016


Typical MKA formula-but still enjoyable enough. Fairly predictable outcome, if you're at the beach and need something to read, this could be it. Not my favorite of hers.


Bear Hugs for Saying Goodbye: Positive Activities That Ease Separation Anxiety (Bear Hugs)
Review Date: 8/4/2010


Was looking for a book to help in the separation itself-there are many good ideas once you get the parent child separated . Was hoping for more ideas on how to get the separation accomplished in the first place. Probably need a book on how to get the parents out.


The Beautiful Mystery (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 8)
The Beautiful Mystery (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 8)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/2/2016


Not the usual Three Pines mystery-but a mystery none the less. More of the personal relationship between Gamache and Beauvoir, answering some questions, and posing others.-takes place in a remote monastery, so there are none of the usual characters..


Beauty Before Comfort
Beauty Before Comfort
Author: Allison Glock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/24/2014


Sometimes hard for me to follow, but still an interesting look at the author's grandmother's life.


Before I go to Sleep
Before I go to Sleep
Author: S j Watson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/15/2013


Once I started this book, I could not put it down. Fascinating and compelling, the plot keeps right on moving from the get go. I couldn't wait to see the ending. It keeps you guessing the whole time.


Behind Closed Doors
Behind Closed Doors
Author: B. A. Paris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 2/11/2018


Creepy story about a creepy guy. Okay.


Behind Her Eyes
Behind Her Eyes
Author: Sarah Pinborough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/10/2018


If anyone can explain to me what happened at the end of this book,please do. 2/3 of it were pretty good, really. A love triangle of sorts, with a little psychotic craziness to make it interesting. But man, the last 1/3, I got so lost at the end, it's too bad, because the first part was good. Not only confusing, but a little too 'fantasy world' for me.


Believing the Lie (Inspector Lynley, Bk 17)
Believing the Lie (Inspector Lynley, Bk 17)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 11/4/2012


This book has gotten mixed reviews, so I wasn't sure what to expect when I started it. Elizabeth George's more recent books have been long, and this one is no exception, at over 600 pages. So with that in mind, I was a little ambivalent at first. As usual, there are a lot of characters, and lots of different stories going on. But this one was just as good as the others (except for 'What Came Before He Shot Her'-which I DID NOT like) The characters are complex and well thought out. And while there a re several story lines, they are not that complex that you can't follow them. I especially like DS Barbara Havers-Lynley's partner. She has evolved so much from the beginning. If you are a Elizabeth George fan, you won't be disappointed with this one.


Bergdorf Blondes
Bergdorf Blondes
Author: Plum Sykes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 8/26/2011


A little trite for my taste-good for a summer beach/pool read. Leaves you feeling like you just watched one of those reality shows about spoiled girls.


Best Friends Forever
Best Friends Forever
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 326
Review Date: 11/28/2011


A quick and enjoyable read-This is one reason why you should not go to your High School Reunion, or maybe you should.


The Best of Everything
The Best of Everything
Author: Rona Jaffe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/10/2018


Interesting, quick paced.


Big Little Lies
Big Little Lies
Author: Liane Moriarty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 5/14/2016


So many stories in here-so many secrets-if I mentioned any of them, it would be a spoiler. It did sort of take me back to the days when my kids were in elementary school, and the cliques that were formed by the parents-very well written-every married woman, or any woman in a relationship should read this, I think there is a little of all of us in this book.


The Birth House
The Birth House
Author: Ami McKay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/1/2018


Well written, fascinating look at women's lives during WWI, Childbirth was very different, sometimes out of the mother's control. Good history lesson, as well .


The Birthday Present
The Birthday Present
Author: Barbara Vine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/19/2012


Very different, very interesting, the plot is fun to follow. Man, it just goes to show you what can happen when you start foolin' around.


The Black Cat (Richard Jury, Bk 22)
The Black Cat (Richard Jury, Bk 22)
Author: Martha Grimes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 2/19/2011


Enjoyed this until the last 30-40 pages. All of the explanations of who did what and when got a little tedious. I actually didn't mind the cat and dog 'dialogue'-interesting for the most part.


21 to 40 of 473 - Page: