Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Gene C. (ORION9) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 57 - Page:
The 47th Samurai (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 4)
The 47th Samurai (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 4)
Author: Stephen Hunter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 11/4/2010


Mr. Hunter is second to none in any story with firearms as a major component. He takes his favorite character, Bob Lee Swagger, through a sword story this time and the story is quite entertaining. He touches on the mystical things normally attached to the Japanese Samurai sword which is, after all, just a piece of steel and wood. Undoubtedly a fine piece of steel and in the hands of a skilled swordsman a fearsome weapon for killing in close quarters, but mystical? The mystique, if any, lies in the hands of the operator. Very good story.


61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 2/28/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Jack Reacher, the man with no address, no luggage, new clothes every few days, no vehicle, and apparently no direction. He manages to find trouble wherever he goes and always solves any problems he encounters. This particular book leads you to believe he may have met his end this time. Find out? Buy the next book.


Absolute Power
Absolute Power
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/2/2010


I suspect this is David Baldacci's first novel, but I haven't flipped through his other stories and compared publication dates.
The story is an absolutely fascinating tale (in a horrid way) about the potential crimes that can be done and then covered up by absolute power and totally misplaced loyalty. One of the main characters is a relatively successful jewel thief who witnesses a murder and is conflicted by his own surprisingly good morals and fear of tremendous power.
There is a movie by the same name starring Clint Eastwood so if you intend to view both, read the book first.


Almost Adam
Almost Adam
Author: Petru Popescu
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This story was a refreshing departure from what I normally read. It is fiction presented as a mini study in paleoanthropology set in the Rift Valley of Africa. The premise for the story is a portion of the Rift Valley
that has gone undisturbed and unchanged for more than three million years and is presented as a transition in the evolution of our species. It contains all the bad guys you could possibly want plus the good guys, greed, corruption, political chicanery, and academic arrogance. All in all a good heavy read considering the subject.


Arctic Drift (Dirk Pitt, Bk 20)
Arctic Drift (Dirk Pitt, Bk 20)
Author: Clive Cussler, Dirk Cussler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 4/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This Dirk Pitt story, while it is entertaining, does not have the same zing as when Clive Cussler wrote by himself. Clive is slowing down or Dirk Cussler (son) is diluting the action. Dirk Pitt and Clive Cussler ARE aging (aren't we all) and maybe that is what I notice. The general tone of the story relating to "global warming" tends to be a little preachy with a highly imaginative "solution" that is put forth. All in all, this one has the good guys and the bad guys and a good story line. Just no excitement.


The Associate
The Associate
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 5/27/2010


This story is a bit different than John Grisham's usual legal thriller. Mr. Grisham points out the extreme action that extreme amounts of money and military technology can produce. I would not say that this is his best story, but it is certainly an entertaining one. A good read.


Bannerman's Ghosts
Bannerman's Ghosts
Author: John R. Maxim
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/2/2010


This story is probably the middle of a series that is in the tradition of many spy/thriller authors such as Robert Ludlum, Lee Child, and Vince Flynn. While all of those authors have their own style, John R. Maxim redefines the genre.
There is a group of intelligence operatives from many nations that have banded together in Westport, Connecticut (real town) for their own protection and an effort to lead normal lives. They are as blood thirsty a group as you are likely meet and also very personable. Their adventures can be violent and very entertaining because they are the good guys and girls. The story is replete with every degree of bad guy that you can imagine. All in all, a very entertaining story. Well done.


The Berkut
The Berkut
Author: Joseph Heywood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/26/2011


I became disenchanted with World War II Hitler stories many years ago. It was same old, same old, and it seemed altogether too many authors took a swing at the subject in both fiction and in historical books. Granted, it was a particularly evil period of history and filled with many evil people and deeds.

Against my better judgement, I picked up a copy of The Berkut by Joseph Heywood and started reading it. I did not read the synopsis on the dust jacket first. By one third of the way through the book I was totally engrossed. I was hooked.

I won't give much of the story away because it is a very good read filled with gritty and believable characters and I do not wish to detract from your read if you read it. It is an epic story that could have happened. (we will never know with absolute certainty) The ending of the story is so poetic as to assume the mantle of perfect justice and is, because of that, a very good read. Well done.


Beyond This Horizon
Beyond This Horizon
Author: Robert A. Heinlein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/11/2010


This is one of Heinlein's best stories, in my opinion. Against the current background of almost daily DNA discoveries and esoteric financial schemes, the story is all the more amazing considering it was originally published in 1942. The main character is the product of thirty generations of selective breeding and is, for all intents and purposes, a "super" man. His first problem is that he can see no reason that this breeding program should go on with his assistance any longer. The story only gets better from that point. Mr. Heinlein puts forth, among other things, a global economic scheme that makes quite a bit of good sense. I enjoyed this story immensely when I first read it forty years ago. I revisited the story just recently and have not changed my opinion. It is a thought provoking and entertaining read.


Blood Double (Carroll Monks, Bk 2)
Blood Double (Carroll Monks, Bk 2)
Author: Neil McMahon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/12/2011


I usually end up comparing Robin Cook to any other author who writes medical thrillers. Robin Cook is very sedate compared to Neil McMahon and 'Blood Double'.
The story: Carrol Monks, M.D. is the fictional doctor for this story about the human genome and the good that would come from computer manipulation. Unfortunately, (depending on your point of view) it points up the many truly horrific things that COULD happen with such manipulation also.
Mr. McMahon has crafted a relatively short, but very intense story here and I have requested several more of his books. Very entertaining. Good job.


The Book of Poisonous Quotes
The Book of Poisonous Quotes
Author: Colin Jarman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/1/2010


This one is absolutely hilarious. In small doses only; Otherwise your sense of humor will shut itself off from overload. In many ways it reminds me of The Portable Curmudgeon
by Jon Winocur, if you can find a copy of that. The book is a wonderful collection of subtle and not so subtle put downs. (disses in the current vernacular?) Some quotes are attributed, usually to famous (notorious?) people and some are anonymous, but all truly are poisonous.


Brother Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 3)
Brother Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 3)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 382
Review Date: 8/2/2010


Odd Thomas is as likeable a character as you are ever likely to meet in an unlikely story. Fortunately, my last English teacher will never read that sentence!
Odd Thomas is a pleasant young fry cook, of all things, and has occult tendencies that lead him into unlikely places such as a monastery high in the Sierra Nevada mountains. The story is filled with shadowy beings and occupants of a vague in between world.
All in all, a good, different, entertaining yarn.


Christine
Christine
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 3/31/2010


This is a car story with the element of horror thrown in for good measure as only Stephen King seems to do. Two guys and two girls, but one of the girls happens to be a 1958 Plymouth which turns out to be an evil thing all by itself. I have driven cars that I thought were evil in a mechanical sense. I have also driven cars that I have designed and built which were the essence of sweetness. They did exactly what I designed them to do and then some. With these things in mind, Christine is ALMOST believable. If you are a car guy or girl you will undoubtedly find this book entertaining as a somewhat off-beat car story.


The Conquest (Saucer, Bk 2)
The Conquest (Saucer, Bk 2)
Author: Stephen Coonts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 2/2/2011


I hesitate to call this a sequel of Saucer. It is more of a continuation of the story. As it turns out, there is another saucer at the infamous Area 51 in the Nevada desert. Keeping this thing out of the hands of the bad guys is truly an adventure. There are the same set of good guys as in Saucer, but a whole new batch of bad guys to keep things interesting. Good read. It has been a long time since I've had as much fun reading two books.


Consent to Kill (Mitch Rapp, Bk 8)
Consent to Kill (Mitch Rapp, Bk 8)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 12/18/2010


Vince Flynn writes an excellent CIA / spy / assassin story and this one is very similar to his other work with a significant difference right at the end. He hints and leads you from mid-story to that ending. The main character is a very nasty guy named Mitch Rapp who is an over-the-top, butt kicking, one man disaster, assassin. This is one of those stand up and cheer stories that also moves briskly along. In the end, Mitch Rapp is a romantic and I will leave that discovery for you to find.


Crusader's Cross (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 14)
Crusader's Cross (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 14)
Author: James Lee Burke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 4/14/2011


In southern Louisiana, the land of Cajun, Creole, coonass, and the eternal bayou, you will find Sheriff's Detective Dave Robicheaux and P.I. Clete Purcell casually busy finding trouble at every turn.
James Lee Burke writes a very entertaining yarn about the seamier underside of life in geography that squishes just about any place you put your foot. This story has it's full complement of good guys, bad guys, and ladies to keep you entertained and engaged all the way through. He accurately describes both the environment and the people of the area in a State that has no counties. This one has a very satisfying ending. Good Read.


Cujo
Cujo
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 3/31/2010


Stephen King can find evil in almost anything, even a two hundred pound puppy. Well, maybe not a puppy but a huge Saint Bernard. The main character is NOT the dog. He has a cameo role at best but is an essential part of the story. The human characters are very vivid, which is vintage Stephen King as a very good story teller. A relatively short read, but a very entertaining one.


Cynic's Dictionary
Cynic's Dictionary
Author: Rick Bayan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/31/2010


Maximally funny! (In small doses) There is no safe sacred cow, concept, institution, organization, group of people, individuals, or "mainstream" idea that is safe from this author. His skewer is exceptionally sharp. I would like to see him tackle the print and electronic media language. (my pet peeve) If he doesn't do a book on that specific subject, humor will not be as rich as it could be. The term "cynic" seems so inadequate.


The Day Before Midnight
The Day Before Midnight
Author: Stephen Hunter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/7/2011


This is not the sort of Stephen Hunter story that I have grown accustomed to. My first introduction to the author was through his persistent main character, Bob Lee Swagger of Marine sniper fame. (Viet Nam)
This story is very early Stephen Hunter from the years of the very real possibility of world wide nuclear destruction initiated by the USA and the USSR. The first three-quarters of the book was a very detailed buildup for the last quarter, which was a cascade of cliff-hangers. Although not as polished as his later works, it is none the less entertaining because of it's (mostly) technical accuracy.
All in all, a very entertaining and satisfying read.


Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 7)
Dead Zero (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 7)
Author: Stephen Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/9/2011


Mr. Hunter's best novel yet! Here we have an aging (aren't we all) Bob Lee Swagger and a great cast of characters replete with some very good guys and some very evil S.O.B.s set in current history involving the war in Afganistan as background and the USA as a stage. The story has most of the popular elements: romance, humor, intrigue, mindless violence, purposeful violence,
an intricate plot, and several characters that are LOL funny. It also has a most deserved suprise ending. All in all a very good read. Good job!


1 to 20 of 57 - Page:
Want fewer ads?