Facebook

Kim - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 5/23/2012
Helpful Score: 2


The point-of-view from which this novel is written threw me off so much that it was distracting for the entire book. It comes off as sounding very simplistic, as if it were written for someone just learning English or for very young adults. The main characters were flat, without genuine personalities or any quirks to keep me interested. I kept thinking about comic books or those old crime movies where the dialogue is unnatural and stilted. Even though the back cover says "At Risk is filled with all the chilling suspense, rich characters, and trademark forensics ..." I can't remember any "chilling suspense" or "forensics" in this story! HOWEVER ... Nana, the main character Winston Garano's hoodoo-practicing grandmother, stood out in full color! Even though she has only a few small scenes, what a delight she is with her tarot cards, windchimes, and pennies for Hecate. Only because of her will I keep watch for other novels in this series and I will be skimming the pages just to find her scenes.


The Atheist's Prayer
The Atheist's Prayer
Author: Amy R. Biddle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/6/2014


I got this book solely because I liked the title. No idea what it might be about. Then I read the back cover and the "what people are saying about" section, and wondered how well I would like a book about a druggie stripper and an alcoholic Santa in a "fiendishly funny" novel (not much, I guessed). Then I began reading ... and couldn't put it down! Extremely likeable and realistic characters (not once did I roll my eyes), a completely believeable plot that somehow kept me interested even though the main action described on the back doesn't really get underway until halfway through, and a certain warmth/hope that made me look past the drugs and alcohol. Do atheists pray? Not in the theistic way. They pray with friendship, love, and concern as evidenced in these characters. Thought this would be a read-and-recycle book, but nope, I'm keeping it to read over and over. Can't wait to see what else Amy R. Biddle writes!


The Blood Spilt (Rebecka Martinsson, Bk 2)
The Blood Spilt (Rebecka Martinsson, Bk 2)
Author: Asa Larsson, Marlaine Delargy (Translator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/19/2012


If you read the first book, Sun Storm, and didn't like the thing that happened to the dog, you will -not- want to read this one. There is quite a bit more needless description of a variety of animals being abused or killed and a certain point of Swedish law presented in the course of these descriptions will only serve to further enrage animal lovers. Of course, if you believe that animals are just animals and find the human murders and abuses more upsetting, I think you may be disappointed too. This time, I felt almost nothing for the murder which is the focus of the story. None of the potential murderers was, I felt, in-depth enough to care about, and there were so many that I quickly lost track of who was who. In addition, the murdered women herself raised no sympathy in me or most of the characters around her. The issues of misogyny and patriarchal predominance in the Church as well as the conflict between hunters' rights and the need for ecological conservation are prominent and hold the most emotional charge. A rather unimportant, needless, and cliched side story (which also gets entangled in the animal cruelty issues) brings in the sexual relationship between two women, one of whom is perceived to be a man-hater in a loveless, sexless marriage with a man, and the other who is your standard negatively-drawn lesbian-in-development who doesn't dress like a typical woman, whose hair is cut like a man's, and who was sexually abused as a child by a male family member (which of course we realize is the basis of her current lesbian longings). These two women are presented as somewhat emotionally unstable as one uses sex to get the other to do something for her politically and the other, upon losing her lover, takes it out on her animals and then takes it out on herself. What I -did- take away from this book is that Swedish culture is not any more enlightened than American culture despite significant differences in access to healthcare, education, labor rights, unemployment insurance, public spending, and parental (maternity) leave which most Americans, if told, would think is simply a gross exaggeration meant to make them look foolish. The more things change the more they stay the same, so the saying goes. I will not be reading more by this author mainly due to the frequent focus on and references to animal abuse and killing.


Bollywood Confidential (Avon Books)
Bollywood Confidential (Avon Books)
Author: Sonia Singh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/30/2009


I'm a big fan of Bollywood and all things India, so I wasn't too surprised when I discovered that I really enjoyed this book. I was surprised, however, to often find myself laughing out loud and really caring about (or despising) each character. I found myself wanting to know more about Uncle Heeru, Nandini, Nanda, and Sachi. I found myself hoping that they might show up in Ms. Singh's other books. I found myself wishing that the ending wouldn't have come so soon - there really could have been more there and the abruptness of it was it's only downfall. I loved this book so much that I have to go out and purchase it to read over and over again, along with Ms. Singh's other books. She's my new favorite author.


Borderline Personality Disorder For Dummies (For Dummies (Health & Fitness))
Review Date: 11/4/2010
Helpful Score: 2


In general, I love the "Dummies" books but this one I found confusing and perhaps a bit disturbing. The book doesn't seem to take into consideration BPD from the sufferer's point of view very much. Rather, it focuses quite a bit on the people around the person with BPD and how they suffer (including therapists). While saying that people with BPD don't intentionally set out to hurt others with their words and behaviors, the authors also point out, at length, all the words (or lack thereof) and behaviors (or lack thereof) that make BPD people exquisite abusers. Sometimes just the wording of a sentence made me cringe, for example, "You know you're a good person and everything, but when a new friend starts slinging out flattery like slop to a pig, you may have a problem," in reference to someone who has unwittingly befriended a BPD person and is now being set up for abuse. And of course the "Dummies" books have those little one-page cartoons dispersed throughout, but in this case, given the nature of the topic, I felt as if they were intended to make fun of the disorder and the turmoil it causes for the sufferer.


The Botticelli Secret
The Botticelli Secret
Author: Marina Fiorato
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 12/30/2009
Helpful Score: 9


I received an advance copy of this book thru Early Reviewers. I'm sorry to say I really disliked it. The first page or two held my attention as it was written in the first person and strongly conveyed that the narrator was intelligent, educated, cultured, and possibly wealthy. This impression came from the flawless English, complex sentences, and lack of slang or dialect. Imagine my surprise when I found out the narrator was the prostitute, supposedly very young, uneducated, and low class. And then came the torrent of vulgarities and constant references to lewd acts performed by said prostitute. I'm no prude, but found myself disgusted by far too much of this and by page 11 I was ready to toss it in the trash. Based on this alone, I would not recommend this book to a friend or family member out of sheer embarrassment. This is one of those books that a 13-yr-old boy would sneak out of his mother's bookcase to read the good parts under the covers.

Forcing myself to continue a bit further, since I did choose it for an Early Reviewer read, I then found myself much annoyed by the narrator's constant recital of her "3 facts" which she had for some person or some place or thing introduced into the story. Once or twice I wouldn't have minded, but every few pages of this had me wishing the narrator were real so I could slap her silly. Between this and the vulgarity, I gave up reading by chapter 8 and just lightly skimmed the rest of the novel.

The vulgarity so strongly presented in the beginning did seem to ease up quite a bit after chapter 8 but I noted that just when I thought perhaps it had stopped completely, something would be said out of the blue in a moment where it was not really necessary. It all seemed immature and gratuitious to me and while realistically I would expect this sort of language and behavior from a low class, 15th century Italian prostitute, it seemed far more annoying, offensive, and out of place due to the aforementioned perfect English. Had such vulgarities been written in some sort of dialect to indicate and match with the prostitute's station in life, I would have been far less annoyed and more convinced it was the prostitute speaking instead of the author writing. Usually dialect is distracting and difficult for me, but I would have welcomed it in this case. I kept thinking perhaps the prostitute was telling the tale in hindsight after she was reformed and educated or else that she wasn't really a prostitute but was working as one as part of the "secret". Very confusing.

As far as plot I have to say there wasn't really anything new here. It is very much in the Dan Brown vein. It's a mystery novel with a strong historical bent to it. Been there, done that. I also wasn't surprised at all by the ending - I could see that coming by page 11.

So, all-in-all, my "3 facts" about this book are: it's vulgar, it's annoying, and it's nothing remarkable. I would like to do with this book what the prostitute did with the monk's pamphlet when they first met. :)


Cunt: A Declaration of Independence (Expanded and Updated Second Edition)
Review Date: 3/28/2016


Read the original version shortly after it was released and remember loving it so much. Traded that version in when this expanded/upgraded version came out and re-read it, again loving it. Somewhere between then and now, my views changed. As I re-read it now, I find myself cringing. Yes, it's still relevant because not much has changed (and is getting even worse than when it was written), but I much prefer a more academic study than this, which is highly personal and mostly opinion based on personal experiences (none of which I have experienced). The author seems to contradict herself often which makes me question her p.o.v. on just about everything (which I didn't pick up on the first few readings). I'm pro-choice, but 3 abortions with the same boyfriend because you are afraid of taking pills (while wishing only the worst on men who don't respect you by wearing condoms) is plain ignorance and irresponsibility. Identifying as a lesbian since age early grade school but, given the above and the desire to sleep with other men, maybe "queer" or "bi" would make the p.o.v. clearer. If the power of thought could cause an abortion, why couldn't it prevent a pregnancy? If you hate rape scenes in movies, refuse to watch, and advocate staging walk-outs, why in the world would you read books and watch movies with brutal rape scenes (written by a man) and then encourage a friend to watch the movie without a warning about the rape scenes (which apparently you knew would be a trigger)? Lastly, the statement, "We all have cunts, and it does not matter if they are biological, surgical or metaphorical" made me pause, especially in hindsight, because the vast majority of the topics deal with biological cunts with little-to-no mention of surgical ones and absolutely no mention of metaphorical.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4434
Review Date: 11/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Page 1 - disgusted
Page 8 - bored
Page 16 - tossed in the "must go" pile


Dark Desire (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 2)
Dark Desire (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 2)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 3/29/2012


This was the first Feehand book I read, the first Carpathians book I read. I was hooked from the very beginning and read it thru non-stop. This remains my very favorite in the series, tied for 1st place with "Dark Legend". Never thought I'd say that about these kinds of books which, before this one, I had never read and never wanted to. Good stuff!


Dark Legend (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 7)
Dark Legend (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 7)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 576
Review Date: 3/29/2012


Tied with "Dark Desire" for my favorite Carpathians book. This one I couldn't put down and was surprised at how much I cared about the main characters and even cried! Never thought I'd say that about a "romance" novel.


Dark Melody (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 10)
Dark Melody (Carpathians (Dark), Bk 10)
Author: Christine Feehan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 625
Review Date: 10/4/2011


Didn't care for this one due to the pregnancy-porn mix.


Friends of Mine: Thirty Years in the Life of a Duran Duran Fan
Friends of Mine: Thirty Years in the Life of a Duran Duran Fan
Author: Elisa Lorello
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/20/2014


I had such a big grin on my face thru most of this because it reminded me so much of myself back in the 80's. I even shed a few tears. I swear my heart was thumping in my chest and my face turned red along with the author's as she waited in line for the book signing at the end. I'm still "Duran Duranged" at 48, apparently. A must-read for all of us former "Mrs. John Taylor"'s out there. :) I was compelled to dig out all my old albums and put some of their more recent ones on my wish list. I also had to dig out my Duran Duran T-shirt (the same one pictured in the book). I have kept it, unworn, all these years. Again, I'm grinning ear-to-ear as I write this.


Headhunters on My Doorstep: A True Treasure Island Ghost Story
Headhunters on My Doorstep: A True Treasure Island Ghost Story
Author: J. Maarten Troost
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/13/2015


Stopped reading at the end of page 35. A real downer compared to his previous books. Guess that's what alcoholism and AA does to you, though. I will still be on the lookout for any future books of his, however, as I have never enjoyed any books as much as "Sex Lives of Cannibals" and "Getting Stoned with Savages" and recommend them frequently.


I Don't Care About Your Band: What I Learned from Indie Rockers, Hippies, Pornographers, Self-Loathing Hipsters, and Other Guys I've Dated
Review Date: 7/22/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Absorbing. I couldn't put it down. I guess it was my morbid fascination with the fact that Ms. Klausner and I have, apparently, dated the same guys. While I wouldn't say she is "vulgar" in the way she describes her encounters, she does use explicit language. But it's honest language, and I appreciated that. 4-stars.


I'd Know You Anywhere
I'd Know You Anywhere
Author: Laura Lippman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 1/12/2012
Helpful Score: 3


Like most of the reviewers here, I was disappointed. The outline of the story sounded like a good suspenseful thriller. While I was riveted, eagerly anticipating when the story would really take off, and read it in a few hours, in the end it was surprisingly dull. Nothing happens when all is said and done. There are no big secrets revealed, no lies uncovered, no threats to overcome, no surprising turn of events, no meaningful change in the life of the lead character, and, most disappointing of all, the story ends up pretty much where it began.


In the Body of the World
In the Body of the World
Author: Eve Ensler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/17/2013


When this book arrived, I was surprised it was so small. Then I looked at the list of chapters & was even more surprised by how short they were - 2 pages, 6 pages. Then I began to read & was moved to tears by page 5. This little book packs a big punch. It feels much like a diary, sometimes a dream, with short but powerful images that leave you haunted. Ensler's disbelief, fear, pain & gratitude are palpable. You are right there with her. Her honest feelings & thoughts about the mother that wasn't there for her moved me as I could relate. The connection between the Earth & women's bodies & how we are similarly destroyed, suffering together, is strong. It is not a happy book, yet there are small bright spots that offer hope & joy - faithful friends, selfless volunteers, compassionate doctors & nurses, survivors who reach out to others. (based on advance copy)


The Last Werewolf
The Last Werewolf
Author: Glen Duncan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/20/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Color me shocked: Based on all the reviews I read about this novel, I expected to love it. I put it on all my Wishlists and waited impatiently to borrow a copy from a far-off library. I expected to be frightened, disgusted, haunted, thrilled ... I was utterly bored. I didn't find any character interesting in the least, for either good or bad. I found the main character's dilemna and goal(s) didn't touch me at all. I found nothing interesting, lovable, or even hateful in him - I felt nothing except boredom. He was dull. I didn't find any of the graphic scenes of violence and/or sex to be, well, graphic at all. They were uninteresting and almost non-existent. I'm currently reading a lightweight romance novel that has more violence, gore and sex in it, far more shocking and intense, than this novel. Given the nature of the story, this book should have been exciting and riveting, action-packed, suspenseful, a nail-biter, one of those books you can't put down. It wasn't. I feel like I must have read a completely different version that everyone else read.


The Last Werewolf
The Last Werewolf
Author: Glen Duncan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/20/2011


Color me shocked: Based on all the reviews I read about this novel, I expected to love it. I put it on all my Wishlists and waited impatiently to borrow a copy from a far-off library. I expected to be frightened, disgusted, haunted, thrilled ... I was utterly bored. I didn't find any character interesting in the least, for either good or bad. I found the main character's dilemna and goal(s) didn't touch me at all. I found nothing interesting, lovable, or even hateful in him - I felt nothing except boredom. He was dull. I didn't find any of the graphic scenes of violence and/or sex to be, well, graphic at all. They were uninteresting and almost non-existent. I'm currently reading a lightweight romance novel that has more violence, gore and sex in it, far more shocking and intense, than this novel. Given the nature of the story, this book should have been exciting and riveting, action-packed, suspenseful, a nail-biter, one of those books you can't put down. It wasn't. I feel like I must have read a completely different version that everyone else read.


The Last Werewolf
The Last Werewolf
Author: Glen Duncan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/20/2011


Color me shocked: Based on all the reviews I read about this novel, I expected to love it. I put it on all my Wishlists and waited impatiently to borrow a copy from a far-off library. I expected to be frightened, disgusted, haunted, thrilled ... I was utterly bored. I didn't find any character interesting in the least, for either good or bad. I found the main character's dilemna and goal(s) didn't touch me at all. I found nothing interesting, lovable, or even hateful in him - I felt nothing except boredom. He was dull. I didn't find any of the graphic scenes of violence and/or sex to be, well, graphic at all. They were uninteresting and almost non-existent. I'm currently reading a lightweight romance novel that has more violence, gore and sex in it, far more shocking and intense, than this novel. Given the nature of the story, this book should have been exciting and riveting, action-packed, suspenseful, a nail-biter, one of those books you can't put down. It wasn't. I feel like I must have read a completely different version that everyone else read.


Love in a Headscarf
Love in a Headscarf
Author: Shelina Janmohamed
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I fully expected to enjoy this book quite a bit. I had had it on my wishlist and was, therefore, overjoyed when it was chosen for me from the LibraryThing Early Reviewers list. But I just couldn't seem to engage very deeply once I started reading. Being familiar with both Islam and Indian culture, I didn't learn anything new regarding either. That was okay by me. I expected to resonate at least a little bit with the search for The One and the perils and pitfalls of sorting thru the Wrong Ones, but that didn't happen either. I found nothing humorous enough or poignant enough to keep my interest. While I think the subject matter is in dire need of public expression in the West, I know that those who need this info the most aren't going to get it. If you know nothing or very, very little about women and Islam, and are already OPEN to learning more and learning the truth, then you will enjoy this book. If you are a Muslima thinking about or embarking upon your own journey to find The One, then you will love this book. I also think this book would be an excellent choice for women's reading groups, women + religion study courses, and young adult and adult cultural awareness discussion groups at public libraries.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: