Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Jillian D. (jillybean7682) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
The Barefoot Princess (Lost Princesses, Bk 2)
The Barefoot Princess (Lost Princesses, Bk 2)
Author: Christina Dodd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 10/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Girl kidnaps boy. Girl and boy hate each other and yet have this urging pull. Love those kinds of stories!! Love-hate-Love....so romantic! I will not give the story away, but I highly recommend this read!


Catfight: Women and Competition
Catfight: Women and Competition
Author: Leora Tanenbaum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/25/2010


There are many reasons why women fight. I think I was looking for answers for my own situation, and this book just didn't fit the bill. I read this in about an hour. It was an interesting hour.


The Color Book : 11,264 Color Combinations for Your Home
The Color Book : 11,264 Color Combinations for Your Home
Author: Jill Blake, Ben Kendrick
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/31/2010


This didn't have as many colors as I was hoping for. But I like how you can see various colors in the rooms they have. The book is divided into segments and rooms. And each page is divided 3 times (ceiling, room, floor) you can turn each section of the page individually. which is a great feature. i like the better homes and garden magazine better.


Counterfeit Lady
Counterfeit Lady
Author: Dawn MacTavish
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/25/2010


Fast moving story! Clever dialogue! Not a typical adventure, but very funny and enjoyable in its own right! Adding it to my collection :)


A Dangerous Love (Border Chronicles, Bk 1)
A Dangerous Love (Border Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Bertrice Small
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 2/24/2010


I understand the need for a back story. Why did it take over 200 pages to meet the hero? Adair fell in love with her second husband, who would have been a terrific hero. If the story is about Conal Bruce and Adiar then don't waste your time with 200+ pages of Adair growing up, marrying, widowed, marrying again, widowed AGAIN! Don't even get me started on the "honey love" I understand this author must have had something to be published. I've been reading romances for YEARS and years...I just feel like I wasted my $$. Conal Bruce is not attractive to me. I was more attracted to her dead husband, Andrew.

I give it 3 stars because I love the cover picture. I was interested for a while, trying my best...I quit this book after 240 pages. On to a Karen Marie Moning book -- now there's a story teller!


Descriptionary (Facts on File: Writer's Library)
Descriptionary (Facts on File: Writer's Library)
Author: Marc McCutcheon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/31/2010


I love the quality of the descriptions!! Not to mention the quantity of the words!! I waited so long for this book! It's amazing! I read it just for fun, too....you can learn a whole lot!


Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Author: Vicki Myron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 547
Review Date: 10/19/2011


It wasn't a fast read for me, but I felt like I needed to take my time with this book. It felt special from the start. I was right. I fell in love (again) with my own cat, Olivia, while reading this book - plus Dewey. I wish I could have met this cat...his story is very simple, love knows no bounds. Simply by being himself, Dewey managed to touch the lives of thousands upon thousands. Maybe we can do the same. I cried, I laughed.... it wasn't just about Dewey, it was about the people he met and loved during his 19 year life. Totally worth the read!


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 11/24/2010


Ever feel that need to find your happy, your spirit, your heart? This book shows the journey in a very enlightening way! As Liz would say, "Are you tired of waking up in the morning and remembering every single thing you ate the day before?" There are many things we experience in life, sometimes just floating by, doing what is expected and required. There are those moments, when we suddenly realize it isn't who we are suppose to be. But who are we suppose to be?


Liz takes this incredible journey to discover her, well, self. Something she's lost with age and in the bustle of the everyday life. Sometimes people don't even realize they've become something that was empty because it's all they've ever known. "Many people spend their lives together, miserable, but happy not to be apart."


Take this analogy. Things arn't always what they seem. What once was a beautiful ancient city, has over the centuries, crumbled and melted. Somehow, a small part of that place that was once beautiful, still remains. . . broken. Like a "wound." Why wasn't that piece of the city absorbed into the rest? Because change is difficult. "We all want things to stay the same...Ruin is a gift. Ruin is the road to transformation."

Liz takes this journey. Physical and mental. She goes to Italy, India, and Bali. She transforms herself from something broken to a new whole person. I haven't seen the movie, yet, but if it's as good as the book, it will be . . . a spiritual awakening.

What really touched me was the part about forgiveness and regret. Waiting for someone else to forgive you is a waste of time. We need to forgive ourselves to continue with our lives. And usually, the hardest part of life is moving on to find happiness through forgiveness.

Ultimately, this book is a journey from within. You and I don't necessarily need the big, long trip to discover ourselves. We just need to be able to sit and quietly listen. God will be there. For he is watching us, as us.

Take this quote: "Sometimes losing balance for love, is part of living a balanced life."

Be prepared for a long story. Many people have criticized this book for being a book all about Liz. Selfish Liz searching for herself. Well it is! All about Liz! But take her story, and make it yours. Give this book some love because it is so worth it!


The End of the Age: A Novel
The End of the Age: A Novel
Author: Pat Robertson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/14/2011


I read this book in 1995 when I was 15. I could NOT put it down. I have spent years trying to remember the name of this book and author! I was watching this documentary called "Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed" and Pat Robertson's name came up in the dialogue.

"THAT's the guy!" I said!

Sure, he's religious. I've seen his show flipping channels. It's just a great story. From what I remember, the end was a bit strange, like a new Eden?? ....religious survivors getting together to discover God again. Hey, it's FICTION! A page-turner for my 15 yr old self.

I wonder how I would view this book now at nearly 30 years old. It will be interesting to reread this - to see how my opinions and views have changed with adulthood.

I'm thinking if you liked the Left Behind series, you'll like this book. I happened to like the Left Behind books - well, movies - ok most of the movies were cheesy, but it wasn't like Hollywood made them! To be fair, I read only the 1st book of the Left Behind series before I started in on the movies...

Anyway, good book. Try it out. Give it 100 pages at least.


The First Horseman (Harlequin Intrigue, No 208)
The First Horseman (Harlequin Intrigue, No 208)
Author: Elizabeth Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/25/2010


I couldn't get over the fact it was written in the 90s. The culture I suppose is just too different for me to enjoy.


Heaven
Heaven
Author: William Criswell, Paige Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/25/2010


I didn't believe a word.


Love's Enduring Promise (Love Comes Softly, Bk 2)
Love's Enduring Promise (Love Comes Softly, Bk 2)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 12/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


As the second installment in the Love Comes Softly series, this book continues to follow the lives of Clark and Marty Davis. Both placed in a marriage of convenience and slowly developing a deep love and bond. They take in two girls from another family after their father sells them for $10 a piece.

The book spans more than a decade, and the birth of more children by Marty! Like the first, this one is separated by titled chapters. Each chapter header gives a very clear description of the contents.

There are many very engaging secondary characters. It's very easy to get caught up in their joys and sorrows. There are touches of faith and the Lord, but it isn't overdone. The story leaves the reader with hope for a third book! I recommend this book as much as the first!

I've seen the first 3 movies, and still, the book moved me! I recommend, however, always reading the book before you watch the movie.


The Model Bride (Harlequin Superromance, No 548)
The Model Bride (Harlequin Superromance, No 548)
Author: Pamela Bauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/25/2010


I think I have this problem. I cannot seem to enjoy contemporary romances from the early 90s. I needed something more modern.


Motherhood: The Guilt That Keeps on Giving
Motherhood: The Guilt That Keeps on Giving
Author: Julie Ann Barnhill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/20/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I couldn't get into it....I don't feel guilty for being a mom, for staying home, for nursing, for feeding my kid mcdonalds.....I love every second!


Nasty People: How to Stop Being Hurt By Them Without Becoming One of Them
Review Date: 10/28/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book is about what he calls, invalidation. It's when a person tries to hurt another, whether consciously or not. Something as simple as a rolling of the eyes constitutes an invalidation. This book isn't about physical aggression, it's about an attack on self-esteem. And many times, those kinds of pains are far deeper than any physical hurt.

In the introduction, Carter also says to own your feelings. That when reading this book, you may become angry or sad. He says to accept those feelings and to be true to who you are. If reading this book brings out anger, get angry. If it brings out a sadness, cry.

Not only does Carter discuss people who invalidate you, he talks about when you can unknowingly become an invalidator. Sometimes certain situations or people bring out this negativity in us. Most people do not wake up and live their days hurting people.

While I found the book interesting, I found it lacking. It just kept describing invalidators. Page after page of describing the type of person who hurts. Honestly, Carter never once described the situation I am familiar with. Where the invalidator simply ignores you when you speak to them. Someone who makes it a point to physically turn their back on you in front of the group. How do you deal with that situation?

Also, he did not give enough solutions. Granted, he pointed it out that it's up to US to find our solution, but more guidance would have been helpful.

All in all, this book was worth my time. If simply opening my eyes to the types of people I need to be aware of and not becoming a hurtful person myself.


Notes From The Underbelly
Notes From The Underbelly
Author: Risa Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/10/2010


All I can say is Lara Stone is such a complainer! I couldn't stand her. I didn't even finish the book.


To Cut a Long Story Short
To Cut a Long Story Short
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 10/25/2010


This one bored me. I put it down after 20 minutes. Sorry Jeffrey Archer.


To Romance a Charming Rogue (Courtship Wars, Bk 4)
To Romance a Charming Rogue (Courtship Wars, Bk 4)
Author: Nicole Jordan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 11/2/2010


I started this book with great hopes of jumping into a historical romance and being taken into an unforgetable fantasy. I kept reading a page at a time, getting bored, and putting it down. I suffered a week through 90 pages of this book! I can read a good noven in about 2 days. I was waiting for the story to pick up. And around page 70/80 the story jumped, and the plot didn't make sense. I was so disappointed! If I can say one thing about this book, it helped me fall asleep at night.


The Viking's Captive Princess (Harlequin Historical, No 974)
The Viking's Captive Princess (Harlequin Historical, No 974)
Author: Michelle Styles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 11/10/2010


The story was ok. It had a promising premise. Woman is the daughter of a king. Hides her identity from birth. Warrior comes to her village and takes her with him. I didn't much like the "manly man" of the warrior. He didn't seem respectful of her at all, and he was suppose to be doing things for her own good. She wasn't treated well by him. He has major trust issues and resents the princess, thinking she is trying to manipulate him. when in fact she is just inexperienced and being honest.

I didn't finish it because I wanted to punch the hero. Maybe that's the way he was suppose to be. Also, everyone talks so stiffly. Like they don't even know english. It was almost laughable. I felt like an American Indian was going to come out of a classic 1950's movie and say "How." Even though it took place with the Viken.

I just didn't feel the depth of emotion behind the characters. It could have have been so much better. I give it 2 stars because it held my attention for over 100 pages.


Watermelon
Watermelon
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 458
Review Date: 11/24/2010
Helpful Score: 1


What do you do with a sad, lonely woman and her baby, whose husband left on the day of their daughter's birth? Why, you plop her and her baby in Ireland, with a group of witty, unique, and supportive people!

Her emotional wounds slowly heal, as she discovers the strength to continue with life. She has found love in the unlikeliest of places, with an unexpected bunch. The author uses dark humor, clever dialogue, and intriguing situations to tell Claire's story. To anyone who's ever felt abandoned, lost, and alone I recommend this read.


1 to 20 of 20
Want fewer ads?