Facebook

Priscilla A. (Priss) - , - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Animal Dreams
Animal Dreams
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 6/2/2006


Great book. Has a lot to say about how we treat our world.


The Brain That Changes Itself: Stories of Personal Triumph from the Frontiers of Brain Science
Review Date: 10/18/2011


The most fascinating book I've read in a long time. Through an overview of work done in the field of brain plasticity in many areas it gives hope to people suffering from brain injury or cognitive impairment. Well worth reading.


Death in Holy Orders (Adam Dalgliesh, Bk 11) (Large Print)
Death in Holy Orders (Adam Dalgliesh, Bk 11) (Large Print)
Author: P. D. James
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/31/2008


This edition is large print


The Florence King Reader
The Florence King Reader
Author: Florence King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/23/2006


Outrageously funny.


The Handmaid's Tale
The Handmaid's Tale
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 692
Review Date: 9/14/2007
Helpful Score: 7


This is a great book and one that should be read by more people, not only women. There are some scary parallels in the novel to things that have happened in the last few years. The dominionists in this country who'd like to see America become a theocracy are not that far away from the ruling party in this book. I can't recommend it highly enough.


Holy Cow : An Indian Adventure
Holy Cow : An Indian Adventure
Author: Sarah Macdonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 9/14/2007


Really funny and very interesting.


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1589
Review Date: 6/6/2006


I know a lot of people love this book but I really disliked it and so did my daughter, who read it separately. If you're into historical romance it's probably something you'd enjoy but it held no charms for me.


Piano Lessons : Music, Love, and True Adventures
Piano Lessons : Music, Love, and True Adventures
Author: Noah Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/16/2012


I read this book with my iPhone handy and was able to find videos of many of the pianists he speaks of or to listen to the music he was learning. I would have loved the book anyway, but that made it even more pleasurable. I'm an adult beginner myself and his experiences were fascinating to me. It's a well-written, light-hearted book that anyone with a hankering to learn music in adulthood can relate to.

Editing in 2014 to add that after learning about Sonata Piano Camp in the book, I signed up to go last year. It's marvelous. Thanks to Noah Adams for writing this book since now I will be going every year :)


A separate battle: Women and the Civil War (Young readers' history of the Civil War)
Review Date: 5/25/2006


Wonderful Civil War photographs plus very interesting history.


1 to 9 of 9