Nicole N. (sunshaula) - , - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 1)
Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 1)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 10/21/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I found this book to be an enjoyable read! (However I should admit I am a sucker for books that include recipes!) I love that Hannah is a totally normal and relatable character. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.


French Lessons: Adventures with Knife, Fork, and Corkscrew
French Lessons: Adventures with Knife, Fork, and Corkscrew
Author: Peter Mayle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 10/20/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Pair the pages of this book with a nice glass of wine (or a sampling of cheese) and you will feel like you are experiencing the words as you read.


Review Date: 4/7/2011
Helpful Score: 1


So I have not cooked from this cookbook yet - but it is such a great read! Surrounding each recipe is a plethora of poems, quotes, prayers and songs that speak to the monastic life. I have only had the book a day and I am having a great time looking through it and reading. There are several recipes that I have marked to try. For the most part they are simple and don't seem fussy. The book is mostly vegetarian with recipes for fish as well.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3371
Review Date: 9/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. I will say that we read it in book club and several of the members where not able to finish because they felt it got a bit long and boring in the middle. Howevereveryone who read the ending loved it. I encourage anyone who reads the book to stick with it to the end I think you will be pleasantly surprised.


The Long Quiche Good-bye (Cheese Shop, Bk 1)
The Long Quiche Good-bye (Cheese Shop, Bk 1)
Author: Avery Aames
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 2/8/2011
Helpful Score: 4


I really enjoyed this book. It started a little slow for me but once I stared to get to know the characters it took off. I also liked how the police chief in this book is a good and competent guy. I feel like I read a lot of cozies where that is not the case and it was refreshing. The author describes some really delicious food in this book but it only has a few recipes in the back. Maybe she has a website that has more. All in all it is a good start to a series and I look forward to reading the next one.


The Power of One
The Power of One
Author: Bryce Courtenay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/20/2008


This is one of my all time favorite books. I honestly cant remember why I picked it up the first time but thank goodness I did! I re-read this book every few years and love it more each time. From the first chapter I was hooked and had to follow the life of Peekay! FYI : The movie (although good) strays quite far from the book so please dont judge the book by the movie!


Sophie's World : A Novel About the History of Philosophy
Sophie's World : A Novel About the History of Philosophy
Author: Jostein Gaarder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/11/2008


I really enjoyed this book but would not recommend it to everyone. It is more like an "into to philosophy" class disguised as a novel. If you have any kind of interest or curiosity about the world of philosophy I think you would enjoy the read.


A Time to Kill (Jake Brigance, Bk 1)
A Time to Kill (Jake Brigance, Bk 1)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1251
Review Date: 9/11/2008


This was the first John Grisham novel I ever read and after I was totally hooked! Great story that brings forth many emotions.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5276
Review Date: 10/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it. Loved it. Loved it. I will admit that in the beginning I had to keep going back to previous chapters to get the time line straight but once I got the feel for the book it all fell into place. I highly recommend it.


1 to 9 of 9