Kathy B. (nialla) - - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Beware a Scot's Revenge (School for Heiresses, Bk 3)
Beware a Scot's Revenge (School for Heiresses, Bk 3)
Author: Sabrina Jeffries
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 5/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Sabrina Jeffries has just been added to my list of favorite historical romance authors! I immensely enjoyed reading this story in which the plot was built on actions that grew out of the characters' personalities -- the actual process of falling in love drove the story! I loved it.


Deadly Intent (I-Team, Bk 8)
Deadly Intent (I-Team, Bk 8)
Author: Pamela Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/22/2018


I was quite excited to see that Pamela Clare got around to writing about photographer Joaquin Ramirez in this romantic suspense that takes place around the employees at a Denver newspaper. It didn't disappoint! Although Joaquin and Mia are reluctantly attracted to each other, Mia's a person of interest in the most recent shooting that Joaquin is covering. I loved watching their relationship build and really liked where the story took me.


Fire and Ice (Ice, Bk 5)
Fire and Ice (Ice, Bk 5)
Author: Anne Stuart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 3/12/2014


Once I emerge from finishing an Anne Stuart book, I feel like I've just woken from a dream. This is my most favorite of Anne Stuart's books yet. I've probably read 10 of them.

The hero, Reno, is about as hot as a bad boy can get. Anne Stuart's heroes are so flawed that I don't think I could stand them if I ever met them. But Reno would have to be an exception. His flame-red Punk hair and snake-eye contact lenses on a lanky build makes a strong visual in my mind.


First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Charley Davidson is a fascinating, quirky and funny character. Her ADD moments become quite humorous as they barrel her through life and she's lucky she has an uncanny ability to heal well. The story was fast-paced and fantastic and the narrator was supreme.


Guardian of Darkness (Darkness Series) (Volume 7)
Guardian of Darkness (Darkness Series) (Volume 7)
Author: Katie Reus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/16/2018


I had not read a Katie Reus book before I picked up Guardian of Darkness. I developed quite a tenderspot for Gabriel and found another new favorite author! I was drawn in and loved every minute of this stand alone book and will definitely read more in this series in the future.


Mortal Sins (World of the Lupi, Bk 5)
Mortal Sins (World of the Lupi, Bk 5)
Author: Eileen Wilks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 4/19/2015


This book was good as an urban fantasy. However, the romance between Lily and Rule seems to have been replaced by FBI cases. I am feeling disappointed that what began as a great series appears to be changing its core genre. I don't know if I will continue the series.


Private Demon (Darkyn, Bk 2)
Private Demon (Darkyn, Bk 2)
Author: Lynn Viehl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 9/30/2017


3.5 stars. The plot of the story was great. I loved Thierry and really felt for him. I was on his side after witnessing his conflicting needs and heartache. His entire life had been broken apart by his wife's betrayal.
All the Darkyn characters were easy to connect with. It was great to see the relationship between Cyprien and Allexandra from book 1 develop alongside Thierry and Gema's.
Gema Shaw needed more fleshing out for me. I didn't understand her motivations or responses in much of the story. Was she a wimp? Too many of her reactions felt unbelievable. Her living situation seemed unquestioned for most of the book, living with an unloving mother and a resident doctor that had lost his license for being unethical.. If my mother was that awful to live with I would be out that door the second I hit 18 - & Gema is 29!
Nevertheless I really enjoyed reading this book and will continue on with the series.


The Rede of the Wiccae
The Rede of the Wiccae
Author: Robert Mathiesen, Theitic
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/8/2009


This is a fantastic book that explores the Wiccan Rede's origins. The authors' have high credentials who evaluate the rede one line at a time investigating whether it was created by Lady Gwen Thompson in the 50's or 60's or is it a living "mantra" that was passed down by Lady Gwen Thompson's ancestors.

I have the hardcover version and found it quite informative and written with a writing style that presented what could be dry facts in an intriguing way.


Rosehaven (Medieval Song, Bk 5)
Rosehaven (Medieval Song, Bk 5)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 6/18/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I found this book to be revolting. The heroine is told over and over again that it is her behavior that causes her husband, Severn, to be abusive. He rapes her and blames her for the state of their relationship, and the servants in the castle agree! When Sewvern leaves to tour the other holdings (which he's gotten through marrying her), he beds a girl younger than his new 18-year-old wife and -- after having sex with her 3 times -- feels a little guilty.

I understand that this story may be closer to historically accurate than others set in this time period (13th century), but that is not the reason I read this genre of book. There is always a suspension of disbelief when reading a story, and sometimes the rules of those worlds are greater than others. However, as long as the "rules" the story goes by are held to and not violated, it can become an enjoyable read. This book was far from that.


Trioedd Ynys Prydein: The Triads of the Island of Britain
Trioedd Ynys Prydein: The Triads of the Island of Britain
Author: Rachel Bromwich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/30/2009


Trioedd Ynys Prydein provides the text of oldest written Welsh literature and translates it into English with footnotes that provide important input on what the more obscure passages are about. The Welsh triads probably originated as mneumonics devices used to accurately pass down oral tradition by the druids. As the name implies, these stansas are written in groups of three. You can find some of the earliest literature on King Arthur in these as well as recounting historic events and how places came by their name.

I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in the oral traditions of Wales and the "Isle of Britain."


The Witching Herbs: 13 Essential Plants and Herbs for Your Magical Garden
Review Date: 6/12/2018


This is one of the best magical herbalism books out there. Where Scott Cunningham gives us a remarkable magical attribution reference in Cunningham's Encyclopedia of Magical Herbs, Harold Roth has written one of the best books in showing application of herbal magic with knowledge and common sense.


1 to 11 of 11